We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A WEEK IN PARADISE”
Review of Casa Las Piedras

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troncones
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Las Piedras
Ranked #5 of 15 Troncones B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We really got Lucky with this Live Auction Item. We were not sure what we had actually bid on until we arrived. After getting over the concerns about safety in Mexico (this place is very safe) we made our way to this small fishing village north of Ixtapa. The size of the house was perfect for four couples, (we all love to spend time together anyway). The house and location may not be perfect for everyone, but it was for us. Beautiful surroundings, very unique architecture, and the ocean just out our back door. We had the whole place to ourselves and felt like we could stay for weeks. But the best part was...Anai, and her family (caretakers). They treated us so well, and were so kind, we felt like Family by the time we left. ( I will always have a warm place in my heart for them) We hope to return next year, and possibly for years to come.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DAVIDCSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Casa Las Piedras
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2010

Unfortunately there are many of us who have gotten the word out on how wonderful Casa Las Piedras is. So now we have to compete with all of you for availability! Can't say anything that hasn't already been said. The location is perfect---nice walk to Manzanillo Bay to the north and to Troncones proper to the south. Walk the road or walk the beach. Anai and Jorge are the best. The breakfasts are awesome. Pay them to make you dinner one night. It is really fun to eat in gourmet. No restaurant has a better setting than CLP. The "Tango Suite" upstaris is our personal favorite room in all of Troncones---and we have seen most of the hundreds of them. If you can swing it, go for that room and you will always thank us! If not, get the second largest largest room, which is on the ground floor. It is really nice too. The remaining two small rooms on the ground floor are much more modest than the two larger ones just mentioned, which would surely lessen the experience for us, but the house is still great and all the amazing common areas are shared. On this point, it is important to realize that you are most likely sharing the house with other people, so if complete solitude is your paramount concern, then beware. This might not be for you. Sometimes we have had the whole house to ourselves, and the other times, we have thoroughly enjoyed the other guests. We have never had a bad experience sharing the house with others, but life is always a gamble when people are involved! We enjoy interacting with others who have similar tastes in their vacationing, so we have found it to be a plus. And remember that people are usually out exploring much of the time, so even when the house is sold out, it is rare for most people to be there at the same time. Having said that, the only word of caution is that it might be wise to check with the owner beforehand to see if you are going to be sharing the place with a group of surfers from the surf club, since one review complained about that, and a crew of loud surfers would definitely change the character of the place for us. Again, we have had nothing but PERFECT experiences here in our 6 or so visits, and we are returning again this month! Yay! To repeat, if you can afford the Tango Suite upstairs, you should definitely splurge. It is awesome!!!! And it gives you a very spacious place to go and rest when you want solitude, which very much helps with the 'sharing the house' issue, if that is your concern.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCLmgmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

I must say I am reluctant to recommend Casa las Piedras; reluctant to SHARE this place with the rest of you!! We had a wonderful, relaxing stay. The Casa is nicely appointed, the price quite reasonable, the communication via email smooth, the wonderful variety of breakfasts deliciously done by Anai and her staff, and finally my own stretch of body surfing paradise.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOHNandMickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

It got cold in the central mountains of Mexico. So cold that, on a whim, we decided we needed to get out of town. We had never been to Troncones, the closest beach to San Miguel de Allende.

After conversations with friends who know Troncones, and a serious web search, we found Casa Las Piedras, made a reservation and jumped in the car the next morning.

You know that feeling, when you walk in the front of an establishment and think, "Wow! Are we really staying here?" Thus it was at Casa Las Piedras. Small (one suite and three rooms), luxurious, personal. Home away from home doesn't quite capture the feeling (probably because it is so much better than 90% of actual homes).

Breakfast was excellent and different every morning of our five day stay. Although every room was occupied, we never felt crowded and could always find a quiet lounging area to read or take in the sun. The empty beach was at our doorstep.

It is difficult for me to write this, because I'd like to keep it our little secret. But our hosts in California and the staff in Troncones were so outstanding, I feel obligated.

Gracias por todo!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chipnsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

I am anxiously awaiting the day we can return to Casa de Piedra in Troncones, Mexico! I find myself dreaming of it when i want to get my mind of problems as it is positively one of my favorite memories!!!! My husband and I met with our children to have a family reunion. We rented the whole house! The staff was incredibly friendly, making us banana pancakes or home made tortillas. We had our own slice of beachfront, incredibly private....pool, palapa, outdoor showers, terraces all laden with flowering plants. We can't wait to return and hope to make this a yearly family event!

Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank dmaycotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

In all my travels, I have never found a more tranquil, gorgeous B&B.

My wife and I came here on our honeymoon in January 2009. It is hard to think of anything that could make this place better. Gorgeous architecture in the house with real tree trunks holding up the roof columns, incredible tile and stonework, and a dining/kitchen area that abuts the pool with no wall--the pool is literally in the dining room. Incredible sunsets, and right on a gorgeous beach that rarely has more than another soul or two on it. Incredibly kind, intelligent innkeeper (Anai) who makes delicious breakfasts (fresh fruit, fresh juices, homemade granola, yogurts, great coffee...followed by awesome waffles or french toast or omelettes or huevos rancheros). Anai will make you feel completely welcome and graciously help you with anything and everything---but never hovers and never ever intrudes on all the privacy you could want.

For our first two days we never left the inn--just slept late in the comfortable beds listening to the waves crashing, then showered in the outdoor shower, enjoyed our scrumptious breakfast, lazed by the pool, enjoyed the beach, ate dinner at the inn (Anai will make amazing Mexican meals like fresh grilled fish, or enchiladas, or chile rellenos for an additional charge)...then repeated.

There is great surfing nearby. And sea turtles laying eggs. And awesome food. And secluded beaches. And it's walking distance to two very small, rootsy Mexican villages.

The pictures on the website don't do this place justice.

If you come here, be prepared to fall in love.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GulliverTravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

We’ve recently returned from Casa Las Piedras in Troncones and had a wonderful, peaceful and relaxing time. The house and the grounds are beautiful as is the view of the ocean. The breakfasts were delicious. We caught a fish one day and had Anai cook it for a wonderful dinner. We read, swam, napped, drank beer and ate all week. It was a perfect way to relax and recharge for returning to the rat race. We even arranged for a masseuse to come to the Casa. I highly recommend staying here if that is the type of vacation you would like.

There are some features of Casa Las Piedras for which you should be prepared. It is pretty remote. It is a 780 peso, 45 min. taxi ride from the airport, the last 1.5 miles on a dirt road. It is a 300-400 peso cab ride one way to the nearest ATM in Ixtapa/Zihua, so be sure to bring enough cash with you. We didn’t, but took the local bus to Zihua for 15 pesos, but you have to get to the main road first which is 10 pesos if a colectivo (van) drives by or you’ll need to hitch to the main road. People are friendly; we hitched since we did not encounter a van. There is a cluster of restaurants in the village of Troncones, a 1.5 mile walk on a dirt road away in one direction and more restaurants about a half mile away in Manzanillo Bay in the other direction. Those in Manzanillo Bay are all at small to medium sized hotels. Bring a flashlight for the walk back. This road can be very muddy after it rains. A taxi is 50 pesos to the “T” (Troncones village) and worth it if it’s muddy. A few restaurants will deliver. I suppose all of the above information is unnecessary if you rent a car.

Swimming in the ocean near the Casa is rocky. We went to the area recommended about a 5 minute walk away, and it was less so. One day when swimming in the less rocky area the current pushed us into a rockier part. That was undesirable. We stuck to the swimming pool after that. You might want to go to Manzanillo Bay to swim. It looked like a lot of people were swimming there, but we didn’t try. We used Picaridin, a DEET alternative, for mosquitoes and it worked well. Just remember to use it liberally and daily. There weren’t as many mosquitoes as I had expected from trips to the beaches of Oaxaca and Brazil; that was a good thing. We were there the last week of October.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Casa Las Piedras and will stay there again, but wanted TripAdvisor folks to know what to expect. In a nutshell, if you want to relax and unwind stay here. If you want to do other activities as well, rent a car and stay here. If you’re expecting Spring Break excitement and parasailing, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RicoPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 7 in Troncones
195 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Ki
Casa Ki
#7 of 7 in Troncones
37 reviews
16.4 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#2 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#6 of 22 in Ixtapa
669 reviews
0.5 mi away
Troncones Point Hostel
Troncones Point Hostel
#1 of 10 in Troncones
135 reviews
0.9 mi away
Present Moment Retreat
Present Moment Retreat
#2 of 7 in Troncones
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Las Piedras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Las Piedras

Address: | Playa Troncones, Troncones 12038, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Troncones
Price Range: £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing