We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than before”
Review of Casa Manzanillo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troncones
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Manzanillo
Ranked #7 of 15 Troncones B&B and Inns
encinitas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Even better than before”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed 2 weeks in Jan/Feb at this beautiful B & B. The grounds are gorgeous, the service quiet and laid back but it all gets done well and in a timely manner. The view is the best in Troncones. We saw whales every day and got lobsters for dinner on request. Fantastic!

Room Tip: The room at the top is very romantic and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    5
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Angeles, WA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

This was our second trip to Casa Manzanillo and this time we rented the whole house for a big family trip. It was perfect. Adrian and Irma took excellent care of us. Irma cooked our dinners, and she is a GREAT cook. We boogie-boarded, surfed, visited the nearby caves, and laid around by the pool. Our age group included children as young as 3 and big children as old as 62. It was just what the doctor had ordered!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaxterMcfarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
encinitas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We were really blown away with this one. Very unassuming from the road, and then you enter the property and see that pool and the ocean and you're hooked. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable (we rented 3), the dining area is spectacular, the food is delicious and the staff is frienddly and helpful but not pushy. We couldn;t have been happier. The gentleman who arranges fishing/surfing trips and who usually escorts you is extremely capable and knowledgeable and very nice. We'll go back again and again.

Room Tip: Jungle room for honeymooners. Point or Bay rooms for families, Ocean for a great view for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I love this bed and breakfast! Troncones is away from the hustle and bustle of Ixtapa and Casa Manzanillo is THE place to stay. The rooms are cleaned and well attended daily. Breakfast offers fresh fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate and hot dishes cooked to order. Eggs are offered daily with different offerings of pancakes special french toast or something special. Ir is always good. And the view from the dining room is amazing. Daily you can see fish jumping, whales spouting or dolphins putting on a show: I am not kidding. In the evening guests can buy a beer from the frig and enjoy the sunset.

As a mom with 2 young kids, the swimming pool on the property can't be beat. First the view of the ocean is fantastic. The shallow end of the pool is shaded by a huge palapa with louge chairs allowing moms to sit and watch the kids. The other side is sunny and offers a beach style slope into the water. Bored with the pool? No problem, step off the front of the property 50 feet and there are tide pools to explore and shells to collect. If the tides aren't too ruff there is a natural pool for kids to wade in without worry.

I love this place and can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Check the website room descriptions. Families with kids should choose a room on the lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladycorcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2011

My fiance and I were in Troncones for our wedding. We stayed at Casa Manzanillo for a week! It was just what we were looking for. We were immediately greeted by Adrian. He grabbed our bags, showed us to our room, told us how the surf had been lately, took us on a quick tour of the grounds and then gave us an ice-cold beer. I couldn't have set it up better, myself. The pool was clean, the grounds were well manicured and green. 2 other rooms were occupied when we were staying there, yet it felt like we had the place to ourselves. Except for a few pesky mosquitos, which we killed the first night, the place was bug free. In 7 days I only got 1 mosquito bite! Our first night there, I had the best nights sleep I'd had in months!..I think it was due to the combo of exhaustion, perfect weather and the sound of the ocean putting me to sleep. Seriously, the ocean is STEPS away. In the morning, we walked upstairs to the restaurant (open from around 8-2?). Breakfast is included. I loved the fact that it wasn't a "this is what's for breakfast" type of thing. You order any kind of breakfast off the menu. Get the juevos Mexicana. Oh, the Pan Frances is great, too! The first day, Adrian drove my fiance to some surf spot. He loved it. I walked the beach. Right in front of the property is a great spot to look for shells and sea life. The pool is a great meeting spot to regroup and chill out after a day at the beach. It also has this built in kind of lounge-zone where the water's really shallow so it stays pretty warm. You have a full view of the bay from that one spot! The days after were just as amazing. The whales were migrating and could be seen every dawn and dusk, daily. They even made an appearance at our wedding:) Adrian also took my fiance and all his friends on a boat surfing day trip...finished off with tacos on the beach in Majahua. Adrian will tell you where to find those. "best day ever" was the feedback. Casa Manzanillo is beautiful, tranquil, relaxing, inviting and completely satisfying.

Room Tip: The a/c was an added bonus, but not necessary
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpartypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Angeles, WA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Here's the low-down on Casa Manzanillo. If you are looking for a true getaway, and don't need to be waited on under an umbrella on a beach, and want a beautiful, pristine setting with a fabulous, low-key staff, then this is the place for you. We spent 10 days, went surfing almost every day, had the run of the house and came home well-rested and rejuvenated. This place does require a bit of independence as there is not a true restaurant and is not situated in the middle of town. However, Adrian, the manager, is one of the most delightful people anywhere and will do his best to ensure that you get to surf, kayak, rest, eat, explore caves or whatever. Further, you get a great, cooked-to-order breakfast every day and have access to the kitchen. Jasmine will also cook your lunch if you ask. The ocean here is lovely and as beginning surfers, we loved it, but the experienced surfer can do well too. We have traveled to Zihua for many years, but have become Troncones converts! I think this place would serve perfectly for a family vacation, and that's what we are intending for next year! P.S. We had a fabulous masseuse come to the house three times in one week!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaxterMcfarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We arrived on December 24 (Christmas Eve) and were greeted by David (the owner?) shown to our room, given a quick tour and then abandoned. No restaurant or bar at this establishment as stated on their website. The pool was not running or maintained and there was a dead crab laying on the bottom. There was not a swim up bar. The screens on the doors & windows of our room were torn, allowing mosquitoes and other insects into the room. By the second night noticed insect bites all over our bodies and only got worse on the third night (bed bugs!). Used insecticide and continued to get bites. The building was not well maintained or well run. After 3 nights we packed our bags and asked for a refund as we had prepaid for 6 nights. Met with resistance from David on the refund but upon presenting the bites we received minor compensation.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjmp12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troncones hotels
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 7 in Troncones
187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Troncones Point Hostel
Troncones Point Hostel
#1 of 10 in Troncones
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Roberto's Bistro
Hotel Roberto's Bistro
#13 of 15 in Troncones
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Present Moment Retreat
Present Moment Retreat
#2 of 7 in Troncones
379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Ki
Casa Ki
#7 of 7 in Troncones
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tronco Bay Inn Resort
Tronco Bay Inn Resort
#14 of 15 in Troncones
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Manzanillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Manzanillo

Property: Casa Manzanillo
Address: Camino a la Majahua, Playa Manzanillo, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Troncones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Manzanillo is a luxury bed & breakfast hotel located beach front on the stunning Manzanillo Bay, supports a fun, casual, relaxed atmosphere that will help you relax and put life back in perspective.Troncones Hotel - Casa Manzanillo Offers:Seven luxurious suites with stunning ocean views and private terracesInfinity pool with partial covering and barFriendly, hospitable staff ready to make your stay memorableThe BEST sunset view in the areaComplimentary breakfastsThe perfect activity itinerary for your stayBeach access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing