We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beach Paradise w/ superb staff and owners”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troncones
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Viva Troncones
Ranked #4 of 16 Troncones B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beach Paradise w/ superb staff and owners”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Casa Viva is done so well that it's hard to imagine any improvements in design or management. Beautifully designed and made open air palapas right on the beach where the hum drowns out your busy thoughts. The fresh water infinity pool looks through coconut palms and is 20 yards from the water. It's built into the shared lounging space made out of incredible wood, bamboo and well crafted thatch that's an art piece in itself, outfitted with large amazing wood dining table, benches, covered kitchen, hammock chairs, hanging swings, couches, fridge, stocked beers, bathroom, internet and a stereo for your own music.
The round casita was super comfortable, spacious and relaxing. Waking up and staring out at the beach is paradise.
The staff of Benito and Elvira are super nice, accommodating and respectful of your needs and privacy. Having Elvira cook in-house fresh fish is a must.
The entire property was a beach jungle paradise and despite the fact that there's sand everywhere on the ground, the place is immaculately clean. The whole place blends into the natural landscape really well.
David and Leigh were exceptional to communicate with, answering all questions promptly and some of the nicest owners/managers we've encountered anywhere.
We're definitely coming back and highly recommend Casa Viva.

Room Tip: Rond casita is closest to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brotherbees .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
23
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This property is beautiful, but be warned….if you are a light sleeper, you will not get a wink of sleep with the sound of the crashing waves…even with earplugs. The casitas are "open air" which means no glass in any of the windows, no complete walls or roof expect for the palapa. Not a lot of privacy (if you're on a romantic vacation…not the place for "sexy time" if you know what I mean). If this doesn't bother you, then you will LOVE this place. We didn't and had to move to another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Anselmo, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We loved our stay at Casa Viva...only wish we had planned to stay longer! Open air casitas, great pool, super food, simple and relaxing. The staff were friendly and accommodating...great cooking with the freshest local ingredients.

Room Tip: Any of the casitas are super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

If you are looking for seclusion in an environment that feels like home, is on the ocean, is run by staff that will feel like family, and is an easy distance to local Troncones fun look no further - you have found your rental! Casa Viva is a hidden gem and will provide exactly what you need and more. The vacation rental is overseen by a local caretaker who knows the terrain inside out and will be excited to share his knowledge with you. Being from Troncones, Benito can also suggest day trips and put you i n touch with many local guides. The chef at Casa Viva is amazing, be sure to try her guacamole! I was lucky enough to call this place home for a couple of weeks this summer and I will cherish the memories created there for the rest of my life. This rental has my highest recommendation. I hope you will find yourself there soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My family and I spend 4 days in Casa Viva. It was our first time in Troncones...What a great surprise!, it was a new experience because the “palapa/casitas” type of rooms, and be so close to the ocean., but everything was so clean, nice and cousy.
Elvira and Benito are great people and give the best service!. Elvira cooks just great! and prices are very fair.
My children enjoy the swimming pool so much!, it’s a beautiful pool and has a nice Jacuzzi.
Great decoration, comfortable installations, everything is made for relaxation!
For sure I will go back there in other opprotunity!...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed there for just 1 night on December 1st for my son's 20th Birthday. They were so kind as to allow us to check in early so we could enjoy the property. We went Surfing (surfboard rentals nearby) and Body Surfing in Troncones, nearby. We lazed around in the pool and in the sun and went shell searching on the beach. This property is meticulously maintained and the grounds and rooms were gorgeous. The sounds of the birds and waves and pool water feature all added to create a relaxing retreat. In the evening we played cards to the dim-lit lighting and candle light and then went in search of turtles laying eggs. The hot tub heated fast and we enjoyed soaking in it while listening to the waves. It was a perfect stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

LOVED our stay! Arrived intending to stay 2 nights and stayed an extra day!What a gorgeous space. We seriously did not want to leave and our 7 hour drive back to Mexico City was not the chirpiest!

The casitas are beautifully designed to blend in with the surroundings and are large and airy and we just loved how everything was open to nature. The communal areas are just perfect for whiling away the hours, reading, playing chess or just watching the waves/birds/turtles in the distance... Equally the beaches either side of Casa Viva are stunning-great for swimming (for confident adult swimmers) and surfing. We loved seeing the turtles laying eggs and baby turtles hatching further down the beach.

Benito and Elvira were such gracious hosts who went out of their way to make our stay a wonderful one. The breakfasts and dinners were simply delicious...not sure tomorrow's bowl of cereal will measure up!

They thankfully provided us with Maglites, but bringing torches would be good advice for stormy nights!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raquelle00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 7 in Troncones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Ki
Casa Ki
#7 of 7 in Troncones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
11.0 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#4 of 22 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
#12 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Troncones Point Hostel
Troncones Point Hostel
#1 of 11 in Troncones
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.0 mi away
Present Moment Retreat
Present Moment Retreat
#2 of 7 in Troncones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Viva Troncones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Viva Troncones

Property: Casa Viva Troncones
Address: Costera, Troncones, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Troncones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Viva is simple elegance and natural luxury. The spacious casitas (suites) and common area with pool and jacuzzi are spread across 80 meters of beachfront on your private cove between Troncones and Manzanillo. Private and reserved, meals can be arranged with cook so you never leave the premise. Sleeps up to 16-20 comfortably, rent the entire property or just one Casita. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing