We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Family Vacation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troncones
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Viva Troncones
Ranked #4 of 15 Troncones B&B and Inns
san miguel de allende
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Perfect Family Vacation”
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We spent Christmas and New Years at Casa Viva with our seven grandhildren (agess 2-11) and their parents..We were spoiled beyond belief..it was a perfect vacation for all of us..We started each day with a wonderful breakfast and quickly decided to have dinner prepared each night by Elvira. The meals were perfect after our hard day of building sand castles, swimming in the pool, swimming in the ocean, breaking pinatas, hunting for shells and lizards etc.... Everyone relaxed and so enjoyed every minute..Thank you

Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank heidilevasseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
23
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Casa Viva, the little sister of Playa Viva, is an incredibly precious place. It is environmentally sustainable in every possible way, but you don't miss any of the "comforts" of home. The bungalows are open to the ocean's breezes as is the communal dining and living "rooms." The pool is breathtaking and you will not want to go anywhere else but soak there for most of the day.

If you have kids, Casa Viva can arrange any activity you want to do and have the guide pick you up right from the hotel. But my guess is kids will love hanging out in the pool, at the beach, and in the garden, so you won't need to leave.

If you're going to Ixtapa, think again about the experience you want to have. You will be glad that you chose Casa Viva!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annapolicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We had a fabulous time here, food was fantastic and setting idyllic! We enjoyed walks on the beach, the beautiful pool, sleeping semi outdoors and listening to the waves. We explored the town and found adventure at every turn. Nice folks and pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 32999Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2010

The only tough decision is should one sit cradled in the chair sling overlooking the ocean, go in the pool or walk on the rocky, dramatic beach. This place is understated, comfortable and designed around the environment.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordonAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2010

It is a beautiful, safe and relaxing lowkey place with private as well as community gathering spots. We spent a lot of time at the big wooden table talking and enjoying the home-cooked Mexican food with plenty of fruit and fresh fish and watching the sunsets. There are many lovely places, including the "barcalounger" swings by the pool to read, reflect, enjoy the ocean view, chat, whatever. The grounds are lovely with much attention to a natural footprint--recycled water, berms to direct the water for maximum use, fruit trees, even bags to pick up shore litter on beach walks, The half hour walk to the nearby small town is fun, with a few rest stops for cold drinks along the way.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heatherbastow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

If you are looking for a place to relax and get out of the "all inclusive hotels", this is the place to be!

One of the most unique things about Casa Viva is that the construction is very well integrated with the environment, the design of the house flows naturally and it blends with the nature around; you feel part of the surrounding nature. I really liked this is an authentic project that cares about environment by using organic products; All the raw materials were found in the area and that were re utilized to make them part of the construction. All the care and philosophy used to build Casa Viva gives a very unique and different experience anyone could get from a big mass hotel; there's even an edible garden! It is great to see how this is an original proposal that steps out of the box and brings an organic and original experience into your holidays.

The staff is amazing, Benito is very friendly and will make everything possible to make your stay pleasant, and Elvira is great in the kitchen, she will cook real Mexican food with a great , if you feel like having a special dinner both will do their best to make it happen. We asked Benito to get some lobster for us and he did a great job bringing the catch of the day to us!

I really recommend it if you want to go for a romantic getaway or a gathering with friends and family, im sure in anyway it will bring everyone closer. The house is equipped with everything you need without compromising your enjoyment of nature and relaxation. I will definitely go back!

Adriana Ortega
Shanghai, China
September 7th 2010

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ad2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2010

When you see my ratings you may think that I am exaggerating - which my husband tells me that I am prone to doing. Casa Viva was one of the best holidays we have ever had. The telephones did not have great reception, the tv was not hanging on the wall, the internet was there if you were really needing it, but we never used or missed any of them. The kids went from the beach to the pool, back to the beach to the pool. Mum's if you are looking for a holiday where you don't need to cook or even think about where to eat this is your dream. Elvira cooks all meals and her standards of quality and variety amazed us daily. Casa Viva is a wonderful find and the 5 stars speak for themselves.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieFit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 7 in Troncones
188 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Ki
Casa Ki
#7 of 7 in Troncones
37 reviews
12.4 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 22 in Ixtapa
665 reviews
0.5 mi away
Troncones Point Hostel
Troncones Point Hostel
#1 of 10 in Troncones
132 reviews
1.0 mi away
Present Moment Retreat
Present Moment Retreat
#2 of 7 in Troncones
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Viva Troncones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Viva Troncones

Property: Casa Viva Troncones
Address: Costera, Troncones, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Troncones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Viva is simple elegance and natural luxury. The spacious casitas (suites) and common area with pool and jacuzzi are spread across 80 meters of beachfront on your private cove between Troncones and Manzanillo. Private and reserved, meals can be arranged with cook so you never leave the premise. Sleeps up to 16-20 comfortably, rent the entire property or just one Casita. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing