We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rock star accomodations!”
Review of Casa de La Sirena

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troncones
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa de La Sirena
Torrance, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Rock star accomodations!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I discovered the Troncones area in 2000 and have been coming 1-2 times a year ever since. About 4-5 years ago, a buddy invited me and some fellow surfers to stay with him at the Casa De la Sirena which we drove by for years. It quickly became our #1 preference for good reason. Oh my God, this place is beautiful! Ocean front views, private gated community, swimming pools, Yoga platform, Deck BBQ, even a sunken bar in the pool. As we are there to surf, fish, relax, and keep a low profile, one of the coolest services is being able to pre-arrange for one of the local chefs to come over and serve us ocean front dinner each evening, poolside. As each villa has their own refrigerator and kitchen, we enjoyed cooking our breakfasts most mornings when returning from our first surf session

CDLS is also right up the street from Roberto's, the happening Argentinian steak house that quality wise, really seems to belong in Beverly Hills, not Troncones. All the locals and their guests show up here on Saturday night. The salsa dancing is fun, You'll likely get a chance to release sea turtles, and the Vacia Steak may be the best steak you'll ever eat anywhere. We even found a great Yoga place next door to Casa de La Sirena with a terrific 2 for 1 happy hour!

Don't let the travel advisories scare you! For some unknown reason, it seems TA, the state dept and the LA Times ("Mexico under siege") like to make this area sound far more dangerous than it really is. All the trouble down there seems to have been confined to the southern, Acapulco region and very northern Guerrero border, not in this area. If you are not a rival drug dealer, a member of law enforcement, or frolicking at 2;00am in cartel owned discos, there is really nothing to worry about but getting a sunburn. I'm going back in October and cannot wait!

Room Tip: every room is excellent. I personally loved the Big three story villa and have stayed on the 1st and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank DrWireless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
66
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Bch, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This was probably my 10th time down there for an extended stay. Although I miss my Wife and kids when I go on these surf trips, I really never want to leave. What a great escape from the hustle and bustle of Los Angeles. The stars shine brightly and the only noise you hear at night is the light breeze tickling the palm trees and the sound of crashing waves.

The property itself is always immaculate with beautiful plants and flowers everywhere. My favorite place to stay is in the 2nd story room of the mini villas. The view is breathtaking, overlooking the pool and the Pacific Ocean. A gentle breeze sweeps through the open air portion of the unit to keep things nice and cool. If it is hot there's alway AC available inside the suites.

The surf and fishing was great, as usual, and the water was a balmy, El Nino influenced 86 degrees.

If you're looking to get away from it all but don't want to skimp on luxury, this is you place. Nestled in the sleepy fishing village of Troncones it's like a land that time forgot.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swellmagnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This was my first time staying at Case De La Sirena. Honestly, the place was incredible. The property, rooms and privacy were first class. The beach front access, views and sounds of the crashing waves 24/7 were simply phenomenal! It's was like our own private house right there on a private beach.

From first arriving, the property is secluded from street view by a large gate. Behind these gates is where we were able to park our rental car, thus making loading and loading much easier. The gardens are kept immaculate throughout its entire property and had zero signs of crawling bugs for a tropical area (impressive). They even have a beautiful large yoga platform for daily practice if that's your thing.

The rooms were extremely clean and very comfortable with A/C, if needed, and the Villa patio areas were extremely spacious and comfortable. Another great perk was free WiFi access throughout the property, which worked great and had a very strong signal for keeping in touch with the real world via pool side.

The pool was always super clean with comfortable lounge chairs and fresh water shower at your disposal. We didn't take advantage of the outdoor cooking area, which looked awesome, but I understand there is a local woman that can come in and cook meals right there at a very reasonable price. Next time, we'll will make sure to take advantage of that opportunity for sure.

Beach access is right there on the other side of the pool. Every afternoon we took to the beach and walked to our favorite restaurants for fantastic meals, drinks and sunsets.

As for the staff, they were always on site, but rarely seen (which was nice). They were great if any assistance was required, which was only a few times.

All in all, I'f you are planning a trip anywhere near the Troncones area I'd highly recommend staying in Troncones and at Debbie's place at Casa De La Sirena...you won't regret it.

We stayed for 7 days and wish it was for longer!

Cheers!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Segundo, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Amazing location! Gated complex on the beach – pools (2) are top notch. All Villas have kitchen, living room, and rooms with AC and internet. Walking distance to surf, stores, and restaurants. Uncrowded point breaks within driving distance. All my stays (3) at Casa De La Sirena have been amazing trips. The staff is friendly and very helpful, Humberto handles all your needs to include home cooked meals, fruit deliveries, and massages; he has also been known to wash your rental car before returning it to the dealer. Highly recommend to surfers, couples and families. We even released baby sea turtles at Roberto’s restaurant down the street! Very nice place to visit! Must stay!!

Room Tip: Highly recommend staying at the Villas ocean front; amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Razza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at Casa De La Sirena June 1-9, 2014. We had a relaxing, quiet, slow paced vacation. The private villa was super clean and perfect in every way. Humberto and Maria were amazing and took great care of us and really went out of their way to do anything we asked of him. It was a gorgeous and breathtaking place.

Room Tip: The private villa was quiet and private and plenty of room for 5 of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Focoguillory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I've traveled to many vacation destinations in Mexico in both Baja and the Mainland and Trancones remains one of my favorite destinations. Enough civilization to get a great meal, and internet service, but off the beaten track enough to experience the warmth and friendliness of local people and avoid the hustle of the states.

On my stays in Trancones I've also stayed other places in town, but Casa de La Sirena is still by far the best accomodations that I've stayed at. The grounds at La Sirena are beautifully landscaped and very well kept by their friendly and helpful staff, the rooms very well decorated and maintained and the common areas are inviting and have everything you could want from the outside freshwater showers to the swim up bar and barbecue it's set up to host your every need. Treat yourself and check La Sirena out.

I've always come to surf and in the Spring the surf starts firing and doesn't slow down till well into the fall, warm water, great surf and minor to NO crowds always treat us to....The Perfect Getaway!

We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Everything about this place is perfect. Great people, awesome pool, nice variety of accommodations and close proximity to surf. Casa De La Sirena is walking distance to places to eat, yoga studio and everything in Troncones. I wouldn't hesitate to go back. Super romantic and quiet but still close to amenities.

Room Tip: I really liked the Mini Villas! Having our own rooftop kitchen was key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taosmoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 7 in Troncones
188 reviews
10.1 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 22 in Ixtapa
665 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Villas Paraiso
Hotel Villas Paraiso
#20 of 22 in Ixtapa
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
543 reviews
15.4 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#2 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
547 reviews
0.1 mi away
Present Moment Retreat
Present Moment Retreat
#2 of 7 in Troncones
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de La Sirena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de La Sirena

Property: Casa de La Sirena
Address: Playa Troncones (airport code ZIH) | Guerrero, Troncones, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Troncones
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very private, upscale beachfront compound. Choose from a private 3 bedroom villa with private pool, three 1 bedroom mini villas or two 2 story bungalows, all with beachfront pool, open air kitchens/living rooms overlooking pool & ocean, a/c option. Perfect compound for weddings,yoga retreats, family re-unions, or romantic honeymoon.Perfect for groups but designed with the utmost in privacy, for 2 - 22!Your own Mexican Beachfront Compound Awaits You!Very private. Very upscale. Very romantic. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing