We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better Than We Even Imagined!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa de La Sirena

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troncones
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa de La Sirena
California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Better Than We Even Imagined!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

Best place to stay in Troncones! Each unit has an ocean view and amazing attention to every detail. The Owners Mike and Debbie, and the staff, were so nice and made us feel at home. The pool is excellent and like the whole compound it is very clean. The location is perfect, you can walk into "town" and lots of great restaurants. Manzanillo Bay had great snorkeling (stay to the left side of the bay by the rocks and head out to the point, better on a flat day with less surfers). Nearby surf breaks were so much fun! (We recommend renting a car if you plan to surf.)
Everything you could want out of a romantic and relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teamlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
64
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rock Springs WI
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

My wife and I stayed at Casa de la Sirena 10/29/09 - 11/3/09. We stayed in the third floor unit of the mini villas. What can I say that the other reviewers haven't already said: CdlS was simply spectacular. The buildings and grounds are beautiful. The view of the ocean from the third floor (and second floor too) was awesome. The pool is also awesome, right on the beach. Next time we plan to use the kitchen in our unit to take advantage of the fresh shrimp and fish that the local merchants bring by for sale each day. We purchased a dozen huge shrimp which Ana, the on-site cook grillied for us. She also prepared several meals for us which were delicious. Humberto, the on site caretaker was very friendly and helpful. He even went out to the oyster fisherman working beyond the surf and got us one dozen fresh oysters (harvested within an hour of eating) which we then shucked at the pool and ate with the limes and sauce he brought from town. CdlS is located close to the beach restaurants and bars, any easy walk, even in the dark. Debbie, the owner, was also very helpful through the booking and trip planning process. From what I saw of other places, CdlS is the class of Troncones. If you are staying in Troncones, stay at Casa de la Sirena!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobnamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtland, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2008

My husband and I took my 92 year old mother and her 91 year friend for a week long vacation at Casa de la Sirena. We were overwhelmed by the lovely accomodations, the service and the food. They made sure that our two elderly guests were on the bottom floor, with a fantastic view of the beautiful pool and the ocean. Eventhough it was rather warm and humid, the air conditioners kept us cool when we were sleeping. The grounds are gorgeous, very well manicured, with beautiful flowers and swaying palm trees. We hired their cook to prepare our meals, a light breakfast, usually fresh fruit, coffee and different egg dishes and dinner, which was a variety of Mexican cuisine. They sure know how to cook. The local restaurants are very close and were excellent as well. They tried their very best to accomodate our requests in food and sight seeing. We were able to arrange a private tour of Zihautanejo and some very beautiful homes. It was a great trip! One my mother and her friend will never forget. Thank you to the gracious owners and all their staff. Gracias!!

  • Liked — Our room with a fabulous view!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CLBCourtland_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2008

I arrived at 9pm at the airport in Zihuatenejo, nervous about finding the right taxi to get to Troncones. I turned a corner and here's a guy asking my destination. I said Casa de la Sirena and he said, "Mike and Debbie (owners), right? " and pointed me to where to pay a fixed price at a booth and on to a row of taxis where he picked out a guy who knew the way in the dark. Our 2 story bungalow was ready, with a meal waiting in the refrigerator, prepared by Rena the cook for a very reasonable fee. The sun came up to show us a spectacular beach, with huge waves pounding in and thousands of sea birds in a Pacific 'symphony" that I can remember and feel as I write. You see few people on the beach. It is a service intensive experience with daily thorough maid service...important to keep things clean to avoid bugs in this climate and we were bug free. The facility is essentially new stucco, classic Mexican design and it is lovely. They put effort into making it really nice...warm smooth masonry under foot and hand as you move about the compound. We felt lucky to have stumbled onto the site on the internet. Indeed, we met folks up the beach who lamented being unable to secure reservations at Casa de la Sirena....felt luckier still. Humberto, the owner's right hand man is always available, willing and gets things done re beverages, food, local travel, anything. All the locals were warm and friendly. We felt safe day and night walking the dirt road behind the compound to any of several great restaurants. We shopped locally for alcohol and basics (redundant, I guess). We had several meals prepared for our group of four by Rena, from lobsters to chicken enchiladas and the meals were really good...always with fresh guacamole and salsa with leftovers for lunch the next day. The owners happened to be there during our 7 day stay and we were glad of it....extremely nice and helpful. The grounds are a garden with a nice, clean pool we spent more time in than I would have predicted. The ocean was truly too rough for swimming last February. A hike or cheap van ride north up the shore brings you to a safe cove for swimming. Some folks swam in front on our beach. We just played it a bit safer. We took the local bus into Zihua for $1.50 and looked around, but Troncones was certainly closer to what i hoped for and got. As our taxi driver said on the way to the airport, "Troncones es mas tranquilo." Tranquil? Absolutely. Quiet, but not without local color that enriched my experience. It is rural on the other side of the street behind. A rooster in the distance, burros, pigs, turkeys, iguanas all seen on the short walk into town...and the local kids off to school, workers off to work in the minivans that shuttled up and down the Troncones strip every 20 minutes or so. Ice cream, bottled gas, vegetables, fresh fish, all offered from locals that pass by on the road at predictable intervals...Humberto knows. I had a fantastic time, enjoyed the other guests, and feel it was really worth the money...a great deal. I can't wait to get back and do it again.

  • Liked — The atmosphere/setting/people
  • Disliked — no real drawbacks worth mentioning
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank vanagone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queretaro
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2008

My family has been visiting Troncones for the past few years and we always drove by Casa de la Sirena and looked in at the grounds with a longing to stay there. This past July, our wish came through when we rented the whole property for a week to enjoy a high school reunion with friends and family. To say that the experience was wonderful would not do it justice...this property is a true gem located in a lush tropical paradise. Not only are the installations first class and extremely well maintained, but the staff was so very accomodating and always willing to go the extra step. Even with a large group, there is plenty of space to find somewhere to get away and relax. The rooms are beautifully decorated and each has it's own charm. There was plenty of kitchen space for those nights when we whipped up some fresh lobster, red snapper and shrimp. The only bad thing about it was...having to leave! My family is already looking forward to the next time we can get back and escape to this paradise!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MexRazor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2008

A large group of friends and I stayed at Casa De La Sirena for week in May. We rented the whole complex. Once you walk thru the back gate into the compound you feel like you are part of the rich and famous. Words cannot explain how nice the complex is. We hired a cook for a 2 nights to come in and cook dinner. The best shrimp and guacamole I ever had. We had a great time, exploring the other beaches and got lost in the coconut groves. A few of us took off for a day trip to Patzcuaro(3 /12 hour drive) and Santa Clara Del Cobre. We bought copper sinks and Mexican Art. A long drive but worth the trip. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation with the beach at your door, this is the place. The restuarants are great and the people are nice. You will have a great time.

  • Liked — We were right on the beach and they had 2 swimming pools.
  • Disliked — nothing, it was exactly what we were looking for.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank runnergirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2008

I have been meaning to write this post for almost a year. We had the most beautiful wedding ceremony and reception at Casa de la Sirena last October. Everything was absolute perfection.

The seaside ceremony included formal seating for 73 of our friends and family members, a mariachi band greeted us upon "I DO" and that was followed with a fabulaous dinner and dancing until way after midnight to a small band the owners had brought in from Ixtapa.

The accomodations here are absolutely 5 star, the grounds simply amazing and we loved the en suite spa service available every day. We hired a cook for the week and it was a great way to go. The place is so perfect that once you are ensconced behind those walls, you just don't want to leave the compound.

We stayed an additional week for our honeymoon in the top floor mini villa. Total seclusion.

The whole resort makes you feel like you are staying in someone's very special home and the attention to detail is amazing.

We hope to return at least every other year to Sirena.

  • Liked — 5 star quality
  • Disliked — nothing at all
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkNoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 7 in Troncones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Ki
Casa Ki
#7 of 7 in Troncones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#11 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 23 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
22.0 mi away
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
#13 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
11.6 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de La Sirena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de La Sirena

Property: Casa de La Sirena
Address: Playa Troncones (airport code ZIH) | Guerrero, Troncones, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Troncones
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very private, upscale beachfront compound. Choose from a private 3 bedroom villa with private pool, three 1 bedroom mini villas or two 2 story bungalows, all with beachfront pool, open air kitchens/living rooms overlooking pool & ocean, a/c option. Perfect compound for weddings,yoga retreats, family re-unions, or romantic honeymoon.Perfect for groups but designed with the utmost in privacy, for 2 - 22!Your own Mexican Beachfront Compound Awaits You!Very private. Very upscale. Very romantic. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing