We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Senior Citizen Center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Casa de Nelly
Ranked #1 of 23 San Agustin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Senior Citizen Center”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The place is quite far away from the center of San Augustin. Breakfast and Dinner are available but cost far too much. You don´t get what you pay for, prices should definetely be lower.

The rooms are quite nice and the common areas are good.

This is not a place for young people (age 18 - 35) but rather a meeting point of elderly people or families.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nils K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    20
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
59
41
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We could not have asked for more from our visit. The place is beautifully landscaped, our double room was spacious and comfortable, we got into playing chess on the outside table, the two dogs were Great fun. Harry and Michel were excellent hosts.

Room Tip: for a quieter room, ask to be on the upper floors away from communal kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hagop e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

While we had a little trouble finding this place originally, when we did, we were not disappointed. It's a lovely place on a nice country side piece of land. There were five of us and we were all able to share a nice big room together. They set up extra beds for us since they didn't have enough available when we arrived. The staff is very friendly and willing to help you with any questions that you might have. They even took us on a hike to a local waterfall one day, which was beautiful. They set up our Jeep tour as well, making it very easy to get around. It was about a ten minute walk to town. We cooked every night and watched the super bowl here! They have beer and coffee for you whenever you need it as well. Very cozy place if you're staying in San Agustin.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Casa de Nelly for 3 nights and it was one of my favorite hostels I stayed at in Colombia! There was a nice, young and social crowd with many people traveling alone when we were there. Harry ad Gustavo who work there are both very helpful and relaxed. Gustavo took us to a waterfall with one of the dogs. The place is very beautiful, wooden furniture and felt like home, dorms and rooms very spacious and comfortable and a very pretty garden. Is a 15 min walk out of town but all good hostels are and you don't need to go into town all the time anyway. Would recommend everyone to stay here!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marjolein V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
166 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

This hostel/hotel is awesome! Super warm vibe, great people stay there and great people work there. Great facilities, amazing garden complete with parrots, pink bananas and 2 cute dogs. Clean, comfy rooms/beds. Nice balconies for each room. Warm strong showers. Highly recommend that you stay here and relax

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Den367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coutras, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I went to La Casa de Nelly on a friend's recommandation and I don't regret it, as it was probably one in my best stay in Colombia. I needed to rest and stayed in a very affordable and beautiful private rooms in the middle of the garden. The garden is beautiful, all the rooms seem to be great and the house have all amenities you might need.
You will feel at home there with a lovely and friendly staff, a beautiful home, TV, Internet, coffee in the morning, diners served by a great cook, a kitchen and laundry service. Harry, Gustavo and Nelly helped me in all the ways they could to get around and because I was feeling a bit sick too. We had some electricity and hot water issues, but it's not common and there were solved quickly.
It's a little bit far out of town, but the walk uphill is nice and it's well worth it to be in the nice gardens.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evertkhorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This hostel is set in a garden setting and has been around for more than 20 years. It has an excellent cook and diners run from 12-18.000 pesos, soda and beers are also available. Staff is very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. There is a kitchen for guest to use. I stayed in room, 4 a privet room with a great view. Wi-Fi is good but not always available.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustin
1.7 mi away
Finca El Cielo
Finca El Cielo
#1 of 2 in San Agustin
35 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal Alto de los Andaquies
Hostal Alto de los Andaquies
#2 of 2 in San Agustin
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Cabrera Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Casa de Francois
La Casa de Francois
#5 of 23 in San Agustin
161 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel Bambu
Hostel Bambu
#3 of 23 in San Agustin
97 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hostal Huaka-Yo
Hostal Huaka-Yo
#2 of 23 in San Agustin
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa de Nelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa de Nelly

Property: Hotel Casa de Nelly
Address: Vereda la Estrella, San Agustin 057, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Huila Department > San Agustin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in San Agustin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa de Nelly is one of the original countryside backpacker hostels in town. We can assure you that in the CASA de NELLY you will find a perfect balance between nature, comfort, relaxation and history. The house is a 10min walk from the town of San Agustin and a pleasant 20min walk from the biggest Archeological park in SA. La Casa de Nelly is offering beautiful views of the surroundings, lovely social areas, comfortable lounge indoor and outdoor areas with hammocks for reading and relaxation. As well you can stroll around the colorful garden, observe hummingbirds and other animals. The restaurant is open every day and offers tasty typical dishes from the region as well as a choice of international dishes, using fresh, organic and homemade ingredients. We serve 100% organic coffee. Come and visit us...You won't regret it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Casa de Nelly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing