We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place I stayed in south America after 5 months traveling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa de Nelly
Ranked #1 of 27 San Agustin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Everything about this place is simply delightful. We arrived at the hostel quite late and with a few problems (caused by our taxi driver). The friendly and helpful manager Harry welcomed us and translated for us allowing the problem to be resolved.

We were then invited to join nelly and some other guests for dinner which was a nice touch to say the least.

The garden, surroundings and views are excellent, they have pet turtles and macors (pardon the spelling). As well as all the hotel basics- tv, games etc.

The dorms were clean, the beds wide and no bunkbeds- what a bonus! I was shown a private room and it was one of the best I've seen while on my trip. The staff were all friendly and the manager Harry advised as the best way to get to our onward destination (You may find in Columbia you get told multiple different things from different people).

Overall one of the best places I've stayed in S.A.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sotiri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We travel from Miami to Colombia first time in Latin America and I have to say that arriving in San Agustin was so beautiful. Casa Nelly makes me feel like home. I love the garden, the talking parrots are hilarious, the food made by Gustavo is very good. I am in love to him.
Harry the manager is always there to helping people; he and Nelly (the owner) understand the needs for those who arrives at any time from all parts of the world.
Its well known that Casa Nelly is the best!!!!
The atmosphere is fun. Cool people, interesting conversation.
I have a great time. I am still missing to be there.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Magaly66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

10-15 minutes walk from San Agustin, Casa de Nelly is tucked away to the side of the town. Beautiful gardens with outside patios and a cosy common area inside the main house. Lots of pets: cats, dogs and parrots to make it feel more homely.

The staff are excellent at helping arrange activities or making your stay comfortable.

We extended our stay a few days and we stayed in a few different rooms. All were clean and very comfortable.

Dinner was excellent, so much so that we ate at the hostel every night. Alison's birthday occurred during our stay and the staff made a special desert for everyone.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twohermitcrabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I stayed a few nights at Casa de Nelly and really enjoyed it. The place has a beautiful garden, friendly animals and lovely hosts. I stayed in a cabana and it was great. It reminded me of an eco lodge, lots of wooden furniture and very spacious with a hot shower. I tried breakfast and dinner and both were good, but definitely on the pricey side - the owners are upfront about the costs and acknowledge you can eat more cheaply in town. There is filtered water available for free which is a nice touch. I walked to the archeological park, which took about 30 minutes. The place attracts a diverse crowd of people of all ages and I had some interesting conversations whilse there. Harry is just lovely and really hilarious, he helped me make arrangements for my onward travel and gave me some good tips. I would certainly recommend this place is you are after somewhere friendly and chilled to relax.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy_hol_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Sweet, tucked away but acessable on foot to town. Lovely people, even more lovely setting. House pets make it an at home feeling. Great characters coming and going, I would return in a heartbeat. Clean rooms, laundry service, friendly atmosphere. Helps to know spanish. St. Agustin has alot to offer.

Room Tip: Choice of dorms or private room.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The place is quite far away from the center of San Augustin. Breakfast and Dinner are available but cost far too much. You don´t get what you pay for, prices should definetely be lower.

The rooms are quite nice and the common areas are good.

This is not a place for young people (age 18 - 35) but rather a meeting point of elderly people or families.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nils K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We could not have asked for more from our visit. The place is beautifully landscaped, our double room was spacious and comfortable, we got into playing chess on the outside table, the two dogs were Great fun. Harry and Michel were excellent hosts.

Room Tip: for a quieter room, ask to be on the upper floors away from communal kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hagop e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Agustin hotels
0.8 mi away
Hostal Alto de los Andaquies
Hostal Alto de los Andaquies
#2 of 2 in San Agustin
45 reviews
1.8 mi away
Finca El Cielo
Finca El Cielo
#1 of 2 in San Agustin
43 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel Bambu
Hostel Bambu
#3 of 27 in San Agustin
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hostal Huaka-Yo
Hostal Huaka-Yo
#2 of 27 in San Agustin
152 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Casa de Francois
La Casa de Francois
#5 of 27 in San Agustin
169 reviews
0.6 mi away
Raices Hotel
Raices Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Agustin
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa de Nelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa de Nelly

Address: Vereda la Estrella, San Agustin 057, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Huila Department > San Agustin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in San Agustin
Price Range: £11 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa de Nelly is one of the original countryside backpacker hostels in town. We can assure you that in the CASA de NELLY you will find a perfect balance between nature, comfort, relaxation and history. The house is a 10min walk from the town of San Agustin and a pleasant 20min walk from the biggest Archeological park in SA. La Casa de Nelly is offering beautiful views of the surroundings, lovely social areas, comfortable lounge indoor and outdoor areas with hammocks for reading and relaxation. As well you can stroll around the colorful garden, observe hummingbirds and other animals. The restaurant is open every day and offers tasty typical dishes from the region as well as a choice of international dishes, using fresh, organic and homemade ingredients. We serve 100% organic coffee. Come and visit us...You won't regret it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Casa de Nelly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing