We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mompos
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A piece of heaven”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

After a long and difficult trip from Cartagena, that included a three hour wait for the ferry in Magangue and an hour's drive over unpaved and bumpy roads, we arrived at this beautiful hotel. The owner was there to welcome us and he made us feel at home. We had a room at the back of the first floor that was air conditioned, very ample, clean and comfortable. The bathroom is big, with a wonderful shower and readily available hot water. The hotel is in a converted colonial house and has every modern convenience, it has the feel of a very expensive spa resort in the US or Europe , not what you expect to find in a remote, but beautiful place like Mompox.
There is a well appointed rooftop terrace with comfortable sitting and a hot tub to relax and watch the tropical sunset. We decided to order our diner at the hotel and were not disappointed, we enjoyed a delicious diner, freshly made, with natural local ingredients, food is prepared from scratch after you order, so you need to give the Chef time to work his magic
The next morning we had breakfast in the patio, again freshly made to order and delicious. The owner came over and suggested a great itinerary to visit the 17th century center of Mompox. We only stayed a night, but honestly wished we could have stayed longer. Perhaps next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    23
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
46
98
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

"Mompox does not exist, it's a dream", so wrote Gabriel Garcia Marquez. True so! Well, in this dream, there also is a dream Hotel: Bioma!
After we had travelled more than 3 weeks in Colombia, also visiting out of the way places like Punta Gallinas in La Guajira, our last out of the way destination was Mompos.
Not easy to get to. Early start at the busstation from either Cartagena or Barranquilla, hours (4!) waiting at the ferry landing spot near Maganque - the ferry schedules are notoriously unsure - and then a very bumpy road trip on 1 hour to Mompos. And I am not sure the bus - chalupa -taxi alternative is better.
This lengthy introduction serves to show that we had quite enough of the bus and were languishing for our nice room in Bioma.
We were not disappointed, No Sir!
After a warm welcome by owners Gerardo and Ofelia we were shown our very nice room at the back on the first floor, and the air-con was on. The cushions were decked out on the roof-terrace, above and a nice sunset was under way. Heaven.
The room was the best we had in Colombia. Ample, best beds, quiet air-con, lovely bathroom, dream-shower etc.
We had opted for a meal in the hotel. Better to order in advance as cooks Leonardo (what a talent) and Ofelia (a life talent!) do not do any warming up, but prepare any meal from scratch. Fresh that is. The fish was wonderful - best in Colombia. From the Cienaga nearby, not bocachica but better. Yummy wine at exact temperature. And not expensive. And on to bed for a deserved sleep. Rain in the night.
Next morning was fine, after a hearty fruit plus eggs and bread breakfast (best Huevos Pericos in Colombia, sorry!), we walked into town. Indeed, a 17 th century dream, almost no cars, lots of light motorcycles though. Can't blame the inhabitants for that. Lovely dreamy place.
And there were, on the market, the two guys from Bogata we met the day before on the ferry, who were doing a 'vuelta' on motorcycle. Who immediately invited us to come on a boat trip in the afternoon. Nice river trip, lots of kingfishers and other birds, up a side canal, swimming in the lake, swilling aguardiente with the locals etc.
But where is is story going? Hang on!
Going back to town the sun disappeared and the horizon got threatening. A little. We were back at the promised 18:00h, made a dinner rendez vous at the hotel, and we tried out the Jacuzzi on the roof of the Hotel. Which was super refreshing. Then, lightning started in the near distance. So better go down stairs. Then, 5 minutes later, a tremendous storm blew up, blowing the roof top terrace cushions into the neighbours' roofs, pushed some potted plant on the patio meters away, scary. It became very dark, and we wanted a beer. Ofelia (Gerardo was out) told us that this weather happens now and then (well, it is even described in "The General in his Labyrinth", on Bolivar's first night) and that there might a a blackout. OK, got our head-torches from the room, the two guests - the guys from Bogota walked in after a 800 feet fight with the wind, and we had another beer.
Then the lights went out. No problem for the dinner, which we ordered, after a fine platter with cheese, olives and peppers and lovely red wine. The generator came on, for the reception and the lobby, and the wifi. Als as a safety measure.
Where upon the most magnificent deluge started started I have witnessed in a long time, and I am a child of the tropics (Indonesia) It would have been scary, had we not been sitting and having our aperitif in all comfort in Hotel Bioma! I felt never felt more at home, away from home, and my childhood memories in Indonesia came back, where I always enjoyed this kind of weather.
We had a great candlelight dinner later (see picture), and our friend had to walk back to their place, alas, in the rain. The whole evening Ofelia was comforting us, cooking, serving wines etc. Home!
For the night the room was still cool, and the black-out lasted some longer. but the next evening, we could sleep in air-con comfort again, gracias a dios. After some beers out at San Fransico Chuch. And fine dinner at the hotel; where else?
After 3 nights in all, we had to leave at 04:00h in the morning, the normal bus schedule. Ofelia was waiting with coffee, had called a taxi and waved us goodbye. We saw Mompos disappearing in the dark, as in a dream....
More photo's: google Sander van Hulsenbeek Photography.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanderva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This boutique hotel is as honest a place can get. The entire premises are impeccable, simple and spartan furnishings but with an immaculate attention to detail. I have only stayed in one room (I go there on business once a month): La Rinconada. This tiny room in the attic has two tiny triangular windows and a downward-sloping wooden ceiling that makes the ambiance incredibly cozy. The bathroom is also a treat with warm lighting, a wooden ceiling and a phenomenal shower. There is always a fully-stocked minibar with the essentials: water and Colombias finest beer, Club Colombia. Hands down, though, what makes this place truly special is Gerardo and Rosalba. The hosts are incredibly kind, attentive, and accomodating to all of your needs. Both of them have travelled the world and will enlighten any meal with their colorful anecdotes. Last but not least, the food. Rosalba is a star-studded cook who will blow you away with her fine cuisine. I live in Bogota and the finest restaurants in the city are no match to her culinary abilities. All in all, the world could use a couple more places like these.

Room Tip: La Rinconada is an attic-room with two tiny windows and a downward sloping wooden ceiling that is as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philippe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

I had stayed 3 nights , I was in Mompox for work with a workmate we shared a nice and a well neat room ( stunning bath-includes hot water for overseas pple! and comfortable matresses) this hotel was suggested by the architect who've designed it , luckily I had payed attention booking this hotel! after a long trip from my home city Medellin which included plane-car-boat-taxi and long waits in all stops in that heat! I deserved what I'd experienced in this hotel , warm welcoming by the owner with a cold beer, the simple but the delicacy meals cooked by owner's wife, the cool history conversations about this town with both of them ( even though they from Bogota) ,the sophisticated pool and the top roof terrace with its astonishing views over the colonial town! Priceless !

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndresFelipeEstrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo A, Propietario at Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thanks very much for your comments, it is our reward to receive comments like yours which shows that Mompos is a place worth visiting.

best regards; Gerardo Alferez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel is a meticulously restored and renovated colonial house, run by a lovely couple from Bogota. The courtyard and pool were a beautiful place to spend a hot afternoon, and the rooftop deck would be fantastic with a group of friends. The couple who owns the place were gracious and warm hosts, wonderful cooks, and even knowledgeable tour guides. They showed us places we'd never have found on our own, like the beautiful old primary school, the plaza filled with open air restaurants at night, and the jewelry and craft school where teenagers learn to make filigree jewelry and the ubiquitous Mompox rocking chairs. If I were to go back to Mompox, I'd stay here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo A, Propietario at Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Thanks for the comments which make us more commited to offer confort and relax to Mompos visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartagena, Bolivar, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

While visiting Mompos for Semana Santa, 2 friends and I decided to splurge on dinner for our last night. It was the best meal we'd had in a long time and overall really not that expensive. There was a set menu (appetizer, main course, dessert and drink) and we shared a bottle of wine as well; the total bill for three of us was COP$120,000. The owners were very friendly, speak English as well as Spanish, gave us all sorts of information about the hotel/restaurant, Mompos, as well as Colombia and their lives--it was fascinating. The Semana Santa procession went right by the restaurant also so we had the perfect place to watch. We were given a tour of the hotel also and it looks beautiful with a pool, rooftop deck with jacuzzi, nice breakfast area, and comfortable environment. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiredBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogotá
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Hotel Bioma provides guests a great experience in all respects: first rate service from staff (not only did they care to make the best of our stay; they were available to provide accurate driving directions we required before, during and after our stay), beautiful design in all details that is respectful of local tradition, an excellent location in town, and all the amenities that one may expect from a great hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javier Leonardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mompos hotels
0.3 mi away
Portal de la Marquesa
Portal de la Marquesa
#2 of 2 in Mompos
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#7 of 12 in Mompos
16 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Sol de Agua
Casa Sol de Agua
#5 of 12 in Mompos
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Andres Mompox
Hotel San Andres Mompox
#6 of 12 in Mompos
1 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casa Amarilla
La Casa Amarilla
#1 of 12 in Mompos
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Hotel Villa de Mompox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox

Property: Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox
Address: Calle Real Del Medio # 18 - 59 Mompos, Colombia, Mompos 132560, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Mompos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mompos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bioma is a boutique hotel born from the meticulous restoration and expansion of a Colonial house strategically located in the heart of Mompos historical center offering its guests a unique escape from their everyday life by immersing them into the magical settings of a beautiful colonial UNESCO World Heritage Site. Bioma opened in April 2011; it delivers all the modern comfort and amenities expected by today's discerning traveler offering rooms equipped with comfortable beds, elegant bathrooms, air conditioner & ceiling fan, high definition TV with local and international channels, WiFi, in-room safe and iPod docking station. Bioma amenities include gardens, restaurant, swimming pool, terrace with 360 degree views of the city, jacuzzi and lounge; our full time staff is there to care for our guests ensuring they have an impeccable stay in Mompos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing