We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hotel in Mompos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mompos
Certificate of Excellence
Barranquilla, Colombia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Superb hotel in Mompos”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The Bioma Boutique Hotel is a first class facility conveniently located in the Mompos. Gerardo, the owner, is extremely helpful and does everything to make your stay perfect.

Romantic setting, perfect for couples. Jacuzzi on the roof, together BBQ area and area for sun bathing. Rooms are first class, well appointed and very clean and tidy. Good wifi and tv service.

Hotel is close to several beautiful churches and only one block from the river.

Best part of visiting Mompos is being able to do absolutely nothing and the Bioma hotel makes this activity particularly fulfilling.

I recommend this hotel 100%!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ptilston69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo A, Propietario at Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Peter, thanks for your review. it is very good to find persons like you that find delightfull to be able to "do nothing". in our days to be able to find places like Mompos is very difficult.
your review has a hidden message that reads: " I´ll return".

Best regards; Gerardo Alferez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    21
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
45
94
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This year was my second time in Mompós, a town that feels like it was forgotten in time. It´s hard to say just what exactly makes this remote town so attractive to me, yet it is. Maybe it´s because it´s so laid-back, maybe it´s the gorgeous colonial architecture, maybe the incredible friendliness of the momposinos, probably a mixture of everything and more. It just feels like out ouf a novel by García Márquez.

Last year I stayed at the Casa Amarilla, the town´s most popular hostal / hostel and I would gladly have returned but this year I was traveling with my parents and because of the oppressive heat in Mompós I thought that a pool might be a good idea. So we contacted the Bioma Boutique Hotel after visiting their website and seeing their pictures. It just looked too good to be true, but honestly, it´s even nicer in real life!

The still quite new Bioma Boutique hotel (and it is very aptly called a boutique hotel!) is situated right in the center of the town, on its main drag, the Calle Real del Medio, a block away from the old Customs building and even less from the Parque Bolívar, the main town square.

It occupies a historic (ie colonial) building and sports a gorgeous pool in the middle of a beautiful courtyard. Upon entering you find yourself in a very tastefully arranged oasis of tranquility (even for a laid-back place like Mompós!). Flowers frame the pool, hummingbirds zoom in and out - and you can see it all from the breakfast area. Every detail is just right. The rooms are incredible - in tone with the historic austerity of the colonial architecture, yet exquisitely furnished, cozy, yet VERY stylish. And as if that weren´t enought already, the Bioma also offers a huge rooftop terrace with sunbeds, jacuzzi and bbq-area! I can say that I´ve never seen anything like it!

But the goodies don´t end here: The owners Gerardo and his wife Rosalba are absolutely fantastic hosts and make everybody feel at home right from the beginning. You´re not "just" a guest, you almost instantly become part of the family. They are also a terrific source of information on Mompós and the area. And the staff, Wilmar in particular, are just incredible.

If you let Gerardo and Rosalba know a few hours in advance you can eat your lunch or dinner at the Bioma as well. And it´s by far the best food I´ve had in Mompós and one of the best "restaurants" (a la carte) I´ve been to yet! Don´t miss out on this treat!!! Well, to be honest, the whole stay is a treat...

So, if you can afford to pay a little more, you will certainly not regret it! We only regretted not staying much longer.

PS: And try the Corozo juice!!!

Room Tip: The rooms are all nice and tastefully furnished - you can´t go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliverE77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2012

A real gem Hotel Boutique! From the moment we arrived, I knew our enjoyment of stay in Mompox. It is important to the hotel owners to make you feel at home. Our room, like the rest of the hotel, was fitted out to a high standard, it was quiet and very clean.The staff were excellent, polite and attentive, yet not too intrusive.
The meals are well done prvoviding a great place to plan the day ahead and exchange ideas with the other guests, and the owners.
The location of the hotel is perfect, especially if you feel the need to drop by to freshen up after a days sightseeing before heading out for supper.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantiagoG65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

After a long and difficult trip from Cartagena, that included a three hour wait for the ferry in Magangue and an hour's drive over unpaved and bumpy roads, we arrived at this beautiful hotel. The owner was there to welcome us and he made us feel at home. We had a room at the back of the first floor that was air conditioned, very ample, clean and comfortable. The bathroom is big, with a wonderful shower and readily available hot water. The hotel is in a converted colonial house and has every modern convenience, it has the feel of a very expensive spa resort in the US or Europe , not what you expect to find in a remote, but beautiful place like Mompox.
There is a well appointed rooftop terrace with comfortable sitting and a hot tub to relax and watch the tropical sunset. We decided to order our diner at the hotel and were not disappointed, we enjoyed a delicious diner, freshly made, with natural local ingredients, food is prepared from scratch after you order, so you need to give the Chef time to work his magic
The next morning we had breakfast in the patio, again freshly made to order and delicious. The owner came over and suggested a great itinerary to visit the 17th century center of Mompox. We only stayed a night, but honestly wished we could have stayed longer. Perhaps next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

"Mompox does not exist, it's a dream", so wrote Gabriel Garcia Marquez. True so! Well, in this dream, there also is a dream Hotel: Bioma!
After we had travelled more than 3 weeks in Colombia, also visiting out of the way places like Punta Gallinas in La Guajira, our last out of the way destination was Mompos.
Not easy to get to. Early start at the busstation from either Cartagena or Barranquilla, hours (4!) waiting at the ferry landing spot near Maganque - the ferry schedules are notoriously unsure - and then a very bumpy road trip on 1 hour to Mompos. And I am not sure the bus - chalupa -taxi alternative is better.
This lengthy introduction serves to show that we had quite enough of the bus and were languishing for our nice room in Bioma.
We were not disappointed, No Sir!
After a warm welcome by owners Gerardo and Ofelia we were shown our very nice room at the back on the first floor, and the air-con was on. The cushions were decked out on the roof-terrace, above and a nice sunset was under way. Heaven.
The room was the best we had in Colombia. Ample, best beds, quiet air-con, lovely bathroom, dream-shower etc.
We had opted for a meal in the hotel. Better to order in advance as cooks Leonardo (what a talent) and Ofelia (a life talent!) do not do any warming up, but prepare any meal from scratch. Fresh that is. The fish was wonderful - best in Colombia. From the Cienaga nearby, not bocachica but better. Yummy wine at exact temperature. And not expensive. And on to bed for a deserved sleep. Rain in the night.
Next morning was fine, after a hearty fruit plus eggs and bread breakfast (best Huevos Pericos in Colombia, sorry!), we walked into town. Indeed, a 17 th century dream, almost no cars, lots of light motorcycles though. Can't blame the inhabitants for that. Lovely dreamy place.
And there were, on the market, the two guys from Bogata we met the day before on the ferry, who were doing a 'vuelta' on motorcycle. Who immediately invited us to come on a boat trip in the afternoon. Nice river trip, lots of kingfishers and other birds, up a side canal, swimming in the lake, swilling aguardiente with the locals etc.
But where is is story going? Hang on!
Going back to town the sun disappeared and the horizon got threatening. A little. We were back at the promised 18:00h, made a dinner rendez vous at the hotel, and we tried out the Jacuzzi on the roof of the Hotel. Which was super refreshing. Then, lightning started in the near distance. So better go down stairs. Then, 5 minutes later, a tremendous storm blew up, blowing the roof top terrace cushions into the neighbours' roofs, pushed some potted plant on the patio meters away, scary. It became very dark, and we wanted a beer. Ofelia (Gerardo was out) told us that this weather happens now and then (well, it is even described in "The General in his Labyrinth", on Bolivar's first night) and that there might a a blackout. OK, got our head-torches from the room, the two guests - the guys from Bogota walked in after a 800 feet fight with the wind, and we had another beer.
Then the lights went out. No problem for the dinner, which we ordered, after a fine platter with cheese, olives and peppers and lovely red wine. The generator came on, for the reception and the lobby, and the wifi. Als as a safety measure.
Where upon the most magnificent deluge started started I have witnessed in a long time, and I am a child of the tropics (Indonesia) It would have been scary, had we not been sitting and having our aperitif in all comfort in Hotel Bioma! I felt never felt more at home, away from home, and my childhood memories in Indonesia came back, where I always enjoyed this kind of weather.
We had a great candlelight dinner later (see picture), and our friend had to walk back to their place, alas, in the rain. The whole evening Ofelia was comforting us, cooking, serving wines etc. Home!
For the night the room was still cool, and the black-out lasted some longer. but the next evening, we could sleep in air-con comfort again, gracias a dios. After some beers out at San Fransico Chuch. And fine dinner at the hotel; where else?
After 3 nights in all, we had to leave at 04:00h in the morning, the normal bus schedule. Ofelia was waiting with coffee, had called a taxi and waved us goodbye. We saw Mompos disappearing in the dark, as in a dream....
More photo's: google Sander van Hulsenbeek Photography.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanderva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This boutique hotel is as honest a place can get. The entire premises are impeccable, simple and spartan furnishings but with an immaculate attention to detail. I have only stayed in one room (I go there on business once a month): La Rinconada. This tiny room in the attic has two tiny triangular windows and a downward-sloping wooden ceiling that makes the ambiance incredibly cozy. The bathroom is also a treat with warm lighting, a wooden ceiling and a phenomenal shower. There is always a fully-stocked minibar with the essentials: water and Colombias finest beer, Club Colombia. Hands down, though, what makes this place truly special is Gerardo and Rosalba. The hosts are incredibly kind, attentive, and accomodating to all of your needs. Both of them have travelled the world and will enlighten any meal with their colorful anecdotes. Last but not least, the food. Rosalba is a star-studded cook who will blow you away with her fine cuisine. I live in Bogota and the finest restaurants in the city are no match to her culinary abilities. All in all, the world could use a couple more places like these.

Room Tip: La Rinconada is an attic-room with two tiny windows and a downward sloping wooden ceiling that is as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philippe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

I had stayed 3 nights , I was in Mompox for work with a workmate we shared a nice and a well neat room ( stunning bath-includes hot water for overseas pple! and comfortable matresses) this hotel was suggested by the architect who've designed it , luckily I had payed attention booking this hotel! after a long trip from my home city Medellin which included plane-car-boat-taxi and long waits in all stops in that heat! I deserved what I'd experienced in this hotel , warm welcoming by the owner with a cold beer, the simple but the delicacy meals cooked by owner's wife, the cool history conversations about this town with both of them ( even though they from Bogota) ,the sophisticated pool and the top roof terrace with its astonishing views over the colonial town! Priceless !

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndresFelipeEstrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo A, Propietario at Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thanks very much for your comments, it is our reward to receive comments like yours which shows that Mompos is a place worth visiting.

best regards; Gerardo Alferez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mompos
0.3 mi away
Portal de la Marquesa
Portal de la Marquesa
#2 of 2 in Mompos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
105.5 mi away
Punta Faro
Punta Faro
#1 of 2 in Isla Mucura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostal La Casa Del Viajero Mompox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Casa Amarilla
La Casa Amarilla
#1 of 9 in Mompos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#5 of 9 in Mompos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Hotel Villa de Mompox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox

Property: Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox
Address: Calle Real Del Medio # 18 - 59 Mompos, Colombia, Mompos 132560, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Mompos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mompos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bioma is a boutique hotel born from the meticulous restoration and expansion of a Colonial house strategically located in the heart of Mompos historical center offering its guests a unique escape from their everyday life by immersing them into the magical settings of a beautiful colonial UNESCO World Heritage Site. Bioma opened in April 2011; it delivers all the modern comfort and amenities expected by today's discerning traveler offering rooms equipped with comfortable beds, elegant bathrooms, air conditioner & ceiling fan, high definition TV with local and international channels, WiFi, in-room safe and iPod docking station. Bioma amenities include gardens, restaurant, swimming pool, terrace with 360 degree views of the city, jacuzzi and lounge; our full time staff is there to care for our guests ensuring they have an impeccable stay in Mompos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing