We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrived as strangers, left as friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mompos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2013

After a long, hot journey from Cartagena we arrived at beautiful Hotel Bioma and were warmly met by Don Geraldo (the owner) with a tall, cold glass of juice. This wonderful welcome was a great start to what would prove to be one of our favourite stays during my family's 2-week journey through Colombia.

Over the course of the next few days we enjoyed exploring Mompos and taking in some of the pre-Easter festivities including a beautiful religious procession through the streets. After our daily explorations, it was always nice to return to Hotel Bioma and cool down in our room or in one of the 2 pools (the rooftop has a small plunge pool).

While the hotel was clean, quiet and secure, the best part of our stay was how Geraldo and his wife Rosalba made us feel so welcome. It was very important to me to take in the many pre-Easter festivities in the town (Mompos is well-known throughout the country for celebrating Semana Santa), and Geraldo was always sure to inform me the time and place of various festivities. In fact, even before our trip, he was extremely patient with answering my many (and I had a ton) questions regarding when certain religious celebrations would occur in town.

As for Rosalba, she suggested it would be interesting for us to view the interior of a typical Mompos home and took us one evening to meet several of her friends who kindly allowed us to tour their lovely homes. On another occasion, I had mentioned that I wanted to purchase a copy of the Semana Santa poster that I had seen around town. Rosalba inquired and when she discovered that there were none to be had, she kindly packaged up her copy and presented it to me as a gift. I was really touched by this gesture. I also have to note that Rosalba does magic in the kitchen. Together with her cook, she prepared some unforgettable meals for us. In fact, we so enjoyed our meals, we never felt the need to eat anywhere else in town. Both my children said that the arepas at breakfast were the best they had on their trip; my 17 year old daughter still talks about the steaks she had (all 3 nights)!

The rest of the staff at Bioma, from the front desk clerk (I'm sorry I've forgotten her name), to the gentleman who helped around the grounds, to the kitchen staff were always friendly and courteous.

Thank you Don Geraldo and Dona Rosalba and the rest of the staff at Hotel Bioma for making our stay in Mompos truly memorable. We arrived as strangers and felt that we left as friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013

Visited the beautiful town of Mompox and stayed again in Bioma.
not only the town is a fantastic place to visit and be absorbed by its atmosphere but also the
hotel with its great location and breakfast including the delicious arepa de huevo or huevos pericos , service and friendly staff as well as owners.
Gerardo and Rosalba owners and souls of the hotel are so nice, friendly and ready to help in organizing tours or visits around the town or enjoy the local dances and food offered after
a day trip in the sourroundings.
Worth visiting again and again

Room Tip: all rooms are good but better to be in the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vladmoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Mompox is well worth the lengthy journey to get there, a step back into the past, sleepy, friendly, with a fascinating history. What you need to make the most of it is a cool, comfortable hotel and a well-informed tour guide. So many thanks to Geraldo and Rosalba for the former, in the shape of their beautifully designed and maintained Bioma Boutique Hotel (with excellent food, the best in town by far). And to Geraldo for the latter, as he took time from his busy schedule to show us the town and explain its history. Thank you both (and your team) for such a memorable visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Villabloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We were thankful that the first hotel we contacted [casa amarillo] was fully booked and we stayed here instead. Better location ,nicer hotel [no rucksacks on the reception floor ] and good food-prepared to order .The owner and his wife couldnt have been more sociable . Indeed, in a 3 week trip traveling around Columbia this was our favorite-and it wasnt close. A true complement to the atmosphere of Mompox itself; warm and charming .

Room Tip: Candelaria ;large and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aston41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

A jewel within the forgotten jewel that Mompox is. Great place, very comfortable and nicely decorated rooms; spacious bathrooms, wonderful roof terrace with jacuzzi overlooking the city.
Service provided by the owners and its crew is sincere, subtle and very useful.
Breakfasts were wonderful, especially the arepa de huevo! We had lunch only once, great local fish and beef.
It's definitely worth taking the long trip to Mompox to discover this small town and be pleasantly surprised by this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aldume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed at the Bioma Hotel for three nights. It is a true oasis within the charming UNESCO heritage site of Mompox, and to escape back to the swimming pool after a hot day's sightseeing! And it was hot in Mompox! Geraldo and his wife Rosabla are the most charming hosts, and their staff are all delightful. We were looked after beautifully. The room which we had overlooking the pool (La Candellaria) was well furnished, airy and bright. The breakfasts are excellent (especially the arepa con huevos), and the BBQ which Gerardo and Rosalba provided on the roof terrace was delicious. I cannot recommend this hotel more highly.

Room Tip: go for La Candellaria
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My husband and I travel extensively but have never had an experience like we had at the Biome Boutique hotel. It seems trite to say that we were made to feel part of the family but this is how the owners, genteel and gentle Gerardo and his wife Rosalba (sorry if the spelling is incorrect), treated us. We are early risers on vacation, but there was Gerardo quietly and attentively ready to provide us with guidance, for instance telling us to quickly go to the market to catch the boats bringing the produce from across the river. When Rosalba found out that we would like to visit villages along the Magdalena, and it was late afternoon of our last day, she immediately got on the phone trying deperately to make it happen for us and even sending one of her valued staff members to accompany us down to the docks as our Spanish is very poor. It really felt as if we were treasured house guests and she was doing everything to give us a good time. And then there was her cooking! It was an absolute delight. She used little oil, local ingredients, and it was by far the best food we had in Columbia. Although the hotel was so small, any time when needed drinks or food, it was immediately available with the only proviso that we choose our menu items for dinner a couple of hours in advance so that it could be freshly cooked.
The hotel is newly renovated and everything was beautiful and spotless. The shower was more attractive than the shower at the Santa Clara (Sofitel) in Cartagena where we had just spent 4 days. There was loads of counter space and the bathroom was spacious. (We were in one of the larger room on the first floor).

One final note, although guidebooks warn one about the difficulty reaching Mompox, Gerardo organized transport for us from Cartagena and back, and he kept checking on us all the way. it was all seamless and so much easier than expected. A driver picked us up and it took about 4 hours to reach Magangue (an interesting drive). We were met by someone who took our luggage, organized a Chalupa (boat ticket) and saw us onto the boat for a 20 minute crossing. Across the river someone else met us and carried our luggage to another taxi for a final ride to Mompox. All of this had been arranged by Gerardo and he kept calling these contacts on their cellphones to check that it all was going smoothly.
We cannot rave more about this hotel and our delightful hosts. Thank you Gerardo and Rosalba!

Room Tip: First floor rooms are quieter than the ground floor rooms around the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naturelover_777983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mompos hotels
0.3 mi away
Portal de la Marquesa
Portal de la Marquesa
#2 of 2 in Mompos
89 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostel La Casa Del Viajero
0.5 mi away
La Casa Amarilla
La Casa Amarilla
#1 of 15 in Mompos
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Hotel Villa de Mompox
0.1 mi away
Hostal Dona Manuela
Hostal Dona Manuela
#2 of 13 in Mompos
6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#8 of 13 in Mompos
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox

Address: Calle Real Del Medio # 18 - 59 Mompos, Colombia, Mompos 132560, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Mompos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mompos
Price Range: £51 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bioma is a boutique hotel born from the meticulous restoration and expansion of a Colonial house strategically located in the heart of Mompos historical center offering its guests a unique escape from their everyday life by immersing them into the magical settings of a beautiful colonial UNESCO World Heritage Site. Bioma opened in April 2011; it delivers all the modern comfort and amenities expected by today's discerning traveler offering rooms equipped with comfortable beds, elegant bathrooms, air conditioner & ceiling fan, high definition TV with local and international channels, WiFi, in-room safe and iPod docking station. Bioma amenities include gardens, restaurant, swimming pool, terrace with 360 degree views of the city, jacuzzi and lounge; our full time staff is there to care for our guests ensuring they have an impeccable stay in Mompos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing