We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mompos
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Magical stay”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We arrived at Bioma after a gruelling journey on an overnight bus from Bogota, to perfect calm and fantastically restorative breakfast with the most delicious juices (by far) that we had on our trip. It was the start of a wonderful stay in what proved to be our favourite part of our trip to Colombia.

Another highlight was the food - the most delicious dinners and fantastic breakfasts prepared with uncommon care.

The hotel was impecable, the rooms lovely and the roof terrace wonderful, but it was the warmth and attention of Geraldo and Rosalba that made the experience extraordinary. From helping us organise our journey there to the minute we had to leave, we felt looked after like nowhere else in Colombia.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlustandlost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    22
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
45
96
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

After a long, hot journey from Cartagena we arrived at beautiful Hotel Bioma and were warmly met by Don Geraldo (the owner) with a tall, cold glass of juice. This wonderful welcome was a great start to what would prove to be one of our favourite stays during my family's 2-week journey through Colombia.

Over the course of the next few days we enjoyed exploring Mompos and taking in some of the pre-Easter festivities including a beautiful religious procession through the streets. After our daily explorations, it was always nice to return to Hotel Bioma and cool down in our room or in one of the 2 pools (the rooftop has a small plunge pool).

While the hotel was clean, quiet and secure, the best part of our stay was how Geraldo and his wife Rosalba made us feel so welcome. It was very important to me to take in the many pre-Easter festivities in the town (Mompos is well-known throughout the country for celebrating Semana Santa), and Geraldo was always sure to inform me the time and place of various festivities. In fact, even before our trip, he was extremely patient with answering my many (and I had a ton) questions regarding when certain religious celebrations would occur in town.

As for Rosalba, she suggested it would be interesting for us to view the interior of a typical Mompos home and took us one evening to meet several of her friends who kindly allowed us to tour their lovely homes. On another occasion, I had mentioned that I wanted to purchase a copy of the Semana Santa poster that I had seen around town. Rosalba inquired and when she discovered that there were none to be had, she kindly packaged up her copy and presented it to me as a gift. I was really touched by this gesture. I also have to note that Rosalba does magic in the kitchen. Together with her cook, she prepared some unforgettable meals for us. In fact, we so enjoyed our meals, we never felt the need to eat anywhere else in town. Both my children said that the arepas at breakfast were the best they had on their trip; my 17 year old daughter still talks about the steaks she had (all 3 nights)!

The rest of the staff at Bioma, from the front desk clerk (I'm sorry I've forgotten her name), to the gentleman who helped around the grounds, to the kitchen staff were always friendly and courteous.

Thank you Don Geraldo and Dona Rosalba and the rest of the staff at Hotel Bioma for making our stay in Mompos truly memorable. We arrived as strangers and felt that we left as friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Visited the beautiful town of Mompox and stayed again in Bioma.
not only the town is a fantastic place to visit and be absorbed by its atmosphere but also the
hotel with its great location and breakfast including the delicious arepa de huevo or huevos pericos , service and friendly staff as well as owners.
Gerardo and Rosalba owners and souls of the hotel are so nice, friendly and ready to help in organizing tours or visits around the town or enjoy the local dances and food offered after
a day trip in the sourroundings.
Worth visiting again and again

Room Tip: all rooms are good but better to be in the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vladmoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Mompox is well worth the lengthy journey to get there, a step back into the past, sleepy, friendly, with a fascinating history. What you need to make the most of it is a cool, comfortable hotel and a well-informed tour guide. So many thanks to Geraldo and Rosalba for the former, in the shape of their beautifully designed and maintained Bioma Boutique Hotel (with excellent food, the best in town by far). And to Geraldo for the latter, as he took time from his busy schedule to show us the town and explain its history. Thank you both (and your team) for such a memorable visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Villabloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We were thankful that the first hotel we contacted [casa amarillo] was fully booked and we stayed here instead. Better location ,nicer hotel [no rucksacks on the reception floor ] and good food-prepared to order .The owner and his wife couldnt have been more sociable . Indeed, in a 3 week trip traveling around Columbia this was our favorite-and it wasnt close. A true complement to the atmosphere of Mompox itself; warm and charming .

Room Tip: Candelaria ;large and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aston41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

A jewel within the forgotten jewel that Mompox is. Great place, very comfortable and nicely decorated rooms; spacious bathrooms, wonderful roof terrace with jacuzzi overlooking the city.
Service provided by the owners and its crew is sincere, subtle and very useful.
Breakfasts were wonderful, especially the arepa de huevo! We had lunch only once, great local fish and beef.
It's definitely worth taking the long trip to Mompox to discover this small town and be pleasantly surprised by this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aldume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed at the Bioma Hotel for three nights. It is a true oasis within the charming UNESCO heritage site of Mompox, and to escape back to the swimming pool after a hot day's sightseeing! And it was hot in Mompox! Geraldo and his wife Rosabla are the most charming hosts, and their staff are all delightful. We were looked after beautifully. The room which we had overlooking the pool (La Candellaria) was well furnished, airy and bright. The breakfasts are excellent (especially the arepa con huevos), and the BBQ which Gerardo and Rosalba provided on the roof terrace was delicious. I cannot recommend this hotel more highly.

Room Tip: go for La Candellaria
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mompos hotels
0.3 mi away
Portal de la Marquesa
Portal de la Marquesa
#2 of 2 in Mompos
81 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casa Amarilla
La Casa Amarilla
#1 of 11 in Mompos
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#7 of 11 in Mompos
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Hotel Villa de Mompox
0.3 mi away
Casa Sol de Agua
Casa Sol de Agua
#5 of 11 in Mompos
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jardines Evans
Hotel Jardines Evans
#6 of 11 in Mompos
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox

Property: Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox
Address: Calle Real Del Medio # 18 - 59 Mompos, Colombia, Mompos 132560, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Mompos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mompos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bioma is a boutique hotel born from the meticulous restoration and expansion of a Colonial house strategically located in the heart of Mompos historical center offering its guests a unique escape from their everyday life by immersing them into the magical settings of a beautiful colonial UNESCO World Heritage Site. Bioma opened in April 2011; it delivers all the modern comfort and amenities expected by today's discerning traveler offering rooms equipped with comfortable beds, elegant bathrooms, air conditioner & ceiling fan, high definition TV with local and international channels, WiFi, in-room safe and iPod docking station. Bioma amenities include gardens, restaurant, swimming pool, terrace with 360 degree views of the city, jacuzzi and lounge; our full time staff is there to care for our guests ensuring they have an impeccable stay in Mompos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing