We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place with extraordinary hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mompos
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful place with extraordinary hosts!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I did write almost 40 reviews on Trip Advisor and it's the first time that I will write this comment: I felt like home. Gerardo and Rose-Alma were so nice that we quickly felt very at ease. They really care about their customer and also about their town. The place is spotless, well located in the heart of Mompox and very charming. The colonial house has been carefully renovated. It's a quiet place, with a nice little pool on the ground floor and a cool Jacuzzi on the rooftop. The breakfast is also very good. We did also eat there twice for dinner and were both times very happy with the food. I specially enjoyed the fish curry, with a different taste to what you usually find in Colombia. I did REALLY recommend that place for a comfortable and relaxing time in Mompox.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliekodak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    22
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
45
96
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

A beautiful hotel. It was great hanging out by the pool or watching the view from the roof-top terrace jaquzzi. The food was also great. Whilst we were there, it was my boyfriend's birthday. I asked them to arrange a special meal for us. We had a candle-lit dinner on the roof terrace. This was the best meal we had in Colombia. The staff were very accommodating of my slightly odd request! Loved it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We spent two relaxing nights at the Bioma. After a longer than expected, hot journey from Cartagena, we were very happy to arrive at the hotel. And Don Geraldo was very gracious, offering us a cold cerveza upon our arrival. Our room was large, clean and comfortable, with a/c that worked great (not easy in the heat) and a nicely appointed bathroom. The hotel is well located for walking around and we felt secure the whole time. Breakfasts were made to order, and although not huge, were very tasty. The rooftop jacuzzi was a fun diversion as well. The wifi access was spotty -- possibly due to a dead router -- but these things happen in backwater (literally) cities. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a stay in Mompox.

Room Tip: Further from the pool is probably a good idea, or even upstairs. You can hear guests at the pool/br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saya_Senang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2013

What a great hotel! although we arrived very late in the evening, Don Geraldo welcomed us with a wonderful pizza and a glass of wine. It was a great beginning to a memorable visit in this charming hotel. Great service, good advice and a warm friendly atmosphere made this our favorite hotel in Colombia. Thanks to Don Geraldo and all his great staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edmary2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

the best stay in Colombia
the best food
the best relaxing atmosphere
the best hospitallity
the best room and comfort
a nice swimmingpool and jacousi
the best price / quality
also Mompos world heritage is worth to visit

Room Tip: choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fons v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed two nights at the Bioma, and it was one of the best hotel experiences of our lives. It IS very, very good value for money. Without question the number one choice to stay in this extraordinary time-warp of a town.

Beautifully designed, wonderfully welcoming, highly practical. Gerardo and Rosalba are two of the most hospitable, international, cultured charming and organised people in the industry. They also speak excellent English, and not bad Dutch!

1. Getting there: we arrived from Cartagena. It is perfectly possible to take public transport to Magangue on the river Magdalena, and then to organise your boat ("chalupa") tickets and find a taxi to take you to Mompos from Bodega on the other side, but if you don't speak Spanish I wouldn't advise it. Call Gerardo and he will organise a driver who will not just pick you up from your hotel but will also organise your boat tickets and also make sure your luggage gets loaded, and Gerardo will also arrange a reliable driver to meet you on arrival in Bodega to take you to Mompos. It's more expensive but still by UK standards not a lot - about C$ 150,000 or £50. The drive takes about 4-5 hours and is absolutely beautiful.
2. The hotel - truly a little diamond - a beautifully resttored Spanish Colonial house with a small but very pleasant little swimming pool set in the middle of a small tropical garden courtyard with hummingbirds and dragonflies buzzing around the flowers.
3. Rooms: Spacious, light, airy, excellent bathrooms, all the Essentials in place, very comfortable bed, efficient A/C and functional wifi
4. Service- simply outstanding in every respect. Nothing is too much trouble, Gerardo arranged a private boat trip up the river and through the marshes which was the high point of our 3-week stay in Colombia - particular compliments to our charming guide Jose. We could also have had a detailed tour of the town but chose to do our own thing. In low season a private tour may be your only option as when we were in Mompos it appears there was only one foreign tourist in the whole town, so we ended up paying around £45 for the 3-hour trip for two of us rather than the individual fare of around £8 if you're with a group, but the trip is absolutely unmissable. Ibis, heron, dozens of kingfishers, vultures, hawks, fish- eagles, cormorants, buzzards - and umpteen more species, as well as iguanas, lizards and small mammals diving into the water.
5. Food. Wonderful. Rosalba is a really exceptional cook, with a creative twist added to classic Colombian dishes. The street food is interesting and adventurous but for the true gastronomic buzz, there doesn't appear to be anywhere else in Mompos. Try the catfish - stunning!
6. Getting away: We had to get to Santa Marta and again Gerardo organised two seats in the scheduled mini-bus which appears to leave twice a day to Santa Marta. As the first to be picked up we had the choice of seats, but then had 2 hours messing around picking up other passengers who often were not where they were supposed to be when they were supposed to be. The whole trip took around 7 hours and was not the high point of the trip, but it seems that most of the alternatives are worse or much more expensive. It was however door to door, and total cost was around £50 for both of us.

Recommendations: if planning to come at Easter or weekends in high season, book well in advance. The junior suite is FABULOUS with windows both ends and a lovely view over the patio. Next best choice would be to ask for a room with a patio view.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlBiz49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gavara, Gerente at Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Hello Ingrid/Allan, thanks very much for your kind comments about Mompos and us.

Taken care of persons like you is really rewarding, because seeing your happy faces when talking about your visit to Colombia and specially to Mompos give us more reasons to stay in, as you said: "time warp town".

We hope that more people from UK and other countries will decide to come to this, hard to reach but nice tow.

Best regards; Rosalba&Gerardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogotá, Cundinamarca, Colombia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Excellence is the aim of this hotel, and what they do deliver!!! Staff and service are outstanding. Other hotels will probabably "wake up" after this call. Yes, Bioma is still learning and many things can still be improved, but certainly they are on the right path.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mompos hotels
0.3 mi away
Portal de la Marquesa
Portal de la Marquesa
#2 of 2 in Mompos
81 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casa Amarilla
La Casa Amarilla
#1 of 11 in Mompos
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#7 of 11 in Mompos
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Hotel Villa de Mompox
0.3 mi away
Casa Sol de Agua
Casa Sol de Agua
#5 of 11 in Mompos
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jardines Evans
Hotel Jardines Evans
#6 of 11 in Mompos
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox

Property: Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox
Address: Calle Real Del Medio # 18 - 59 Mompos, Colombia, Mompos 132560, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Mompos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mompos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bioma is a boutique hotel born from the meticulous restoration and expansion of a Colonial house strategically located in the heart of Mompos historical center offering its guests a unique escape from their everyday life by immersing them into the magical settings of a beautiful colonial UNESCO World Heritage Site. Bioma opened in April 2011; it delivers all the modern comfort and amenities expected by today's discerning traveler offering rooms equipped with comfortable beds, elegant bathrooms, air conditioner & ceiling fan, high definition TV with local and international channels, WiFi, in-room safe and iPod docking station. Bioma amenities include gardens, restaurant, swimming pool, terrace with 360 degree views of the city, jacuzzi and lounge; our full time staff is there to care for our guests ensuring they have an impeccable stay in Mompos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing