We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial gem in downtown Mompox”

Hotel Casa de Espana
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa de Espana
Ranked #7 of 14 Mompos B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed two nights at Casa Espana in Mompox, in Room No. 16 (double room) for 120.000 COP per night. The hotel is nicely renovated and very clean. It is located bang in the middle of the action but nevertheless very quiet. Aircon works fine. A succulent breakfast is included and served promptly. Service is excellent and you can buy sodas, beer and water from the hotel´s fridge at reasonable prices. Our laundry was even done without additional cost. Only downturn: They have no hammocks, however a lot of rocking chairs, very tipical for Mompox. Highly recommended place.

Room Tip: Get a room in the upper floor, there is less staff and guest movement there. Rooms are also a bit sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swolpoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

This restored colonial house was my best decision to stay in the town. Rooms are large and clean. I choose double accommodation and the price was very reasonable. That room had both AC and roof fan.
The staff are very pleasant as they can indicate you how to find good restaurants and regional meals.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The Hotel Casa de España is a recently restored traditional Momposina house. It has a nice patio and garden and rooms that lead off it. As the previous reviewer has noted, it is spotlessly clean. The rooms are large with excellent AC and ceiling fans, both essential in the intense heat and humidity in Mompos. The staff are relaxed and friendly. We paid COL $120,000 for a double room including breakfast. The location is very central with a short walk to the river and main square. The staff can also arrange half day river tours. Right opposite there is a nice place for lunch, restaurante deli bross. If you turn left when leaving the hotel entrance and then first left after that, there are two superb fruit juice stands, and also a friendly lady selling arepa huevo, empanadas, and patacon relleno. All freshly made and very tasty. Hotel Casa de España is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Guidebooks imply that Casa Amarilla is the only reasonably priced hotel in Mompox. I made a reservation there, but when I arrived, the hotel did not have my reservation, and furthermore was full, therefore I was left to roam the streets to find an alternative.
Casa de España seems to be unknown at the moment - not in guides and not available to book through internet booking sites, however it is an excellent hotel that deserves more business.
The hotel is situated on the main north / south street in Mompox, very close to the three plazas. It's an old colonial building with an interior courtyard.
Room rates are very reasonable, and despite the age of the building, for your money you get extreme clean with good quality / new beds, pillows, sheets. New and freezing cold air-conditioning. New and lovely bathroom fittings. New flat screen tv. There is also a communal kitchen with modern / new appliances and bottled water for cooking. The air-con in the rooms, and the fridge in the kitchen are absolute heaven in a town as oppressively hot as Mompox, and the ability to cook your own food is a major advantage to people who don't want to eat the limited choice the town's comedors / restaurants offer: that is meat / things that have been deep fried.
Wifi is available in the courtyard. Staff are lovely. Security is excellent. The vibe is peaceful. In short, this place is an extremely good deal.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
7  Thank AJSardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Dumo1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones de la parte colonial son mas frescas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaseoVallenatoTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pide una habitación en el primer piso y que tenga nevera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Magdalena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mompos hotels
0.1 mi away
Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox
0.2 mi away
Portal de la Marquesa
Portal de la Marquesa
#2 of 2 in Mompos
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legado de la Marquesa
Legado de la Marquesa
#2 of 14 in Mompos
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hostal Dona Manuela
Hostal Dona Manuela
#1 of 14 in Mompos
14 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa Amarilla
La Casa Amarilla
#1 of 16 in Mompos
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Sol de Agua
Casa Sol de Agua
#8 of 16 in Mompos
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa de Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa de Espana

Address: Calle Real del Medio 17A-52, Mompos 132560, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Mompos
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mompos
Price Range: £44 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa de Espana is located in downtown's Mompox. It is near to main places of the "Land of God" that you would pobably like to know. For instance, the well-known Churches of Santa Barbara and San Agustin are close to the hotel. We have 16 confortable rooms equiped with air conditioner, TV, Internet access and a power generator. At the hotel you will have the chance to buy snacks and drinks if you would like to. We also offer you a special area for events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa de Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing