We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fits the bill perfectly”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Mar Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Mar Azul
Ranked #2 of 12 Paracas B&B and Inns
Huaraz
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fits the bill perfectly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Myself and a buddy were looking for somewhere to crash after attending a wedding in one of the more swanky establishments in paracas, and seeming as we would get to bed at 2am and had to be up at 8am to head back to Lima it didn't seem worthwhile spanking cash in one of the more famous hotels.
The room was clean, the shower SUPER HOT. French windows to a small balcony for 2 people.
Quiet at night. At least a 60second walk to the pier and the boat outings to the island ballestas.
A tour to the islands 30 soles.
We paid 80soles on the room and another 6 each for brekkie.
All in all a perfect crash spot, but don't bring your lady here for the honeymoon or a long dirty weekend.
And the breakfast terrace is a good spot to see the comings and goings of the tours and read a book. Although the beach is just as good for chilling.
We had no problem with security, but didn't,the leave much of value in the room.

Room Tip: Think 306 is the only one with proper sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HuarazMountainLodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    48
    31
    11
    6
See reviews for
21
32
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The staff were not very attentive or helpful, compared to other places we stayed in Peru.

The building looked nice, and had a lovely rooftop deck/cafe. Well located.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed her in december 2011. A nice and clean hostal with a great breakfast space overlooking the sea. A pity that they only use it for breakfast. We had a good sleep, clean bathroom and the price (we payed 110 soles per night breakfast included).

Room Tip: There are rooms with balconys. We had the room on the streetside, which was okay. There are no rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nijs0358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinleyville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

I am writing this review as I am sitting in the room. Rooms are clean although not large. I like to stay in places that provide the minimum very well and this hotel fits the bill. No AC but the "patio" door opens and provides all the ventilation that is needed. The boat to the bird watching is a block and a half away, plenty of decent eating establishments are in walking distance as are some artisan markets. If you want a REAL resort/hotel it is a little south and is $250 a day min. (Lunch there was $350 for 7) the Hotel Paracas.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

I am a single parent traveller who backpacked through Peru with my daughter (age 10) this past summer. We stay in hostals to keep our budget in check, and were very pleased to stay here for one night as we visited Islas Ballestas for the penguins, sealions and bird reserve.

We had very little time here - only one night. We arrived by bus (Cruz Del Sur) mid day, and we could have literally walked from the bus station to this accomodation if we had of known how close it was. The taxi was super cheap though, so that was fine too!

The hostal was more of a 2.5 - 3 star hotel to me compared to many of the "hostals" we stayed in in Peru. What made the difference? There were about 3-4 floors of hotel style rooms. I booked a private double. The beds were the most comfortable in our whole trip. I almost wish we had stayed an extra night for the sleep, but really there is nothing to do in this town except the boat tour...we would have been bored! It had a full bathroom with full bathtub. The water was always hot! There was a TV mounted on the wall, and there was a small patio/veranda to sit out on if we wished. The room also had blackout blinds like a hotel. There was still a small amount of outside noise at night (dogs barking), but all in all, it was a great room and a great stay!!

Very clean!!

Although I don't eat fish, this town is famous for it's cereviche as it is a small fishing village, and there is a small row of specialty ceriviche restaurants just off the beach if you are interested.

breakfast was included, but it was the same as most of Peru - buns, jam and coffee or tea with some juice. not much, and the poor girl was the only one who appeared to be working when everyone showed up on the lovely rooftop patio to eat breakfast before the morning boat tours, so service was a little on the slow side, but the beach is only about 100 feet away, so we were all able to scurry for our early boat trips, no problem.

And so, the beach...like I said, it is very close, and it consists of a row of restaurants and some crafter vendors. It is quaint and heave with the smell of the sea, the fish, and fuel from all of the docked fishing boats. The sand was soft in our toes, but full of sandflies, so be prepared for that if walking and looking for shells on the beach! And I would not say that it is swimable as there was a thick blanket of seagrass that was infested with sandflies that was about 3 feet wide - you would have to wade through that to even enter the water to put your toes in..so that was disapointing. Plus the water was heavy with fuel swills...really too bad, because it could be a pretty swimming cove if they moved the boats to the area further down on the other side of the pier.

Anyway, I would definitely recommend this accomodation as the best, most comfortable spot in this sleepy little town. My only recommendation would be that they have someone with a little english onsite to help with even the little things like asking for a wake up call, etc. the ladies at the desk were so friendly and fantastic, but it was a more tough game of charades than other parts of Peru due to the absolutely no english staff on premesis...we made it through okay though!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coraclara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paracas hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gran Palma
Hotel Gran Palma
#6 of 11 in Paracas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.0 mi away
San Agustin Paracas
San Agustin Paracas
#4 of 11 in Paracas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Hacienda Bahia Paracas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brisas de la Bahia Hostal
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Paracas
0.0 mi away
Hotel Paracas, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Mar Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mar Azul

Property: Hostal Mar Azul
Address: Urb. Alan Garcia B-20, Paracas 01, Peru
Region: Peru > Ica Region > Paracas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Paracas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Mar Azul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Mar Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing