We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Gringo Place”
Review of Naylamp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Naylamp
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Huanchaco
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Gringo Place”
Reviewed 17 October 2010

This hotel is nice and organised. We had a response to a reservation enquiry within minutes. The rooms are bright and nice (bit on the small side), there is a central courtyard with hammocks, hot water most of the time (mornings more reliable but not very powerful), a good breakfast for 8 Soles. Nice views of the sea from the upstairs cafe. Slept very well here due to comfortable beds, sea air and the sound of the waves at night. Clean room that was attended to daily. A bit pricier than what we have been used to paying in South America but good standards.
Only downside was the kitchen is not really convenient for private rooms as it is across the road for the campers. There aren't any locals staying here, there were only Gringos here during our stay, which you may or may not like. It means it is more expensive than a lot of places in town.
Overall, it gave me just the respite I needed.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starzalive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    55
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
19
63
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

There aren't that many hostels in Huanchaco to choose from. This one is a good choice. There are two parts to the hostel which is divided by a narrow street. The rooms close to the front desk are smaller and cheaper than the rooms on the hill. (back part of the hostel) We stayed in the back part and we had an ocean view room. There is a patio there where you can sit and overlook the ocean. There is also camping spots available on the hostel grounds. There is a restaurant in the hostel where you can get pretty good food at a reasonable price. You can also get food delivered to your room which is a nice touch. Because it's located in the very northern part of Huanchaco, it was quiet which was nice. Overall, it was a nice place to stay. If you love horseback riding, do not leave Huanchaco without riding a Peruvian Paso. Give Ricardo or Arturo a call when you're there if it's something you want to do (their brochure is in the hostel) #94 [--]. We went several times (once to Chan Chan ruins) and it was amazing. The horses were beautiful and healthy. One of the nicest horseback riding experiences i've ever had. This is the place we'll stay at next time we're in Huanchaco.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-3-Muchachos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We found the Hostel Naylamp online and took a gamble on it. A reservation email was returned promptly, and didn't require a credit card. Getting there was also easy. We took a day bus (about 8 hours with a stop for lunch) to Trujillo, and a cab from Trujillo to the neighboring beach town of Huanchaco. The cab ride was not expensive, and the driver knew where Naylamp was. It's on the main oceanfront road through town, though well past the pier.

The place is actually on two properties, one is on the ocean block and one the block behind. I would definitely recommend the second row. It's elevated a bit above the first row rooms and has a really nice deck area with patio furniture and space to hang out. The camping area is also on this block. We didn't camp, but spent time over there because that's where the kitchen and covered outdoor eating area were. In retrospect, I'd give camping a try! It was very well equipped with showers and toilets for men and women, and very clean. There were trees for hammocks and nice views of the ocean.

Breakfast was not included, but the hostel's restaurant was the cheapest option on the beach and made amazing pizza. The group kitchen was well equipped and accessible. Our room was great-- double bed, TV, bathroom with hot water, for about 25 soles a night. First floor rooms are cheaper than second floor rooms.

The town is absolutely beautiful. We went down to the beach every day and rented surfboards for the day, with lessons. The price for that was about 40 soles, or around 12 dollars. It was the off-season, so the beach wasn't too crowded. The seafood was plentiful here, and I recommend trying as much as you can. Our best meal was at a unlikely looking restaurant, but it proved a great find. We even stayed an extra day, and Naylamp was very accomodating!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winters CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

My wife, daughter and myseld stayed at Naylamp after a 5 day trek to Machu Pichu. We found the place; clean, affordable and very friendly. There are two sections to the Hotel. The front half has the entry / office and a nice restaurant . The back half is across the alley from the front and sits one flight up from the alley level. They are in the process of adding a second floor to the back half which will increase capactiy by several beds. However the construction did not disturb us as they are very good about limiting work times to 10-5.
The restaurant had good breakfasts and really good juices.
I like the location because it is a little removed from the town center. Only a five to ten minute walk to downtown but the distance makes Naylamp much quiter that other locations.
finally the staff was extemly friendly and helpfull. My spanish is not to strong but i had no problems.
If i were to go back to Huanchaco I would not hesitate to stay at Naylamp!

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sharperWintersCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Went to Naylamp after reading good reviews. Just finished the Inka Trail 4-day hike. Needed respite. Found it. Paid extra money for ocean view, private room with tv. Great Hostal. Laundry, cafeteria, right on the beach. Husband surfed. Huanchaco is a small beach town. A big change from Cuzco. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JojoDavis_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2008

After a trek in Cusco, we decided to hit the seaside for a relaxing few days on the beach to recover. Huanchaco was the perfect choice, a cozy little surfer/fishing village offered all of the necessary ammenities, but with very few people around.

The Naylamp was full most nights, and was quiet throughout. On the first couple of nights there was a rowdy group but they left pretty soon thereafter.

Each room is cleaned daily, and cleaned very well. With the amount of sand that is carried in each day, it's amazing how they keep it so clean. There is no breakfast provided.. but you can by it at the hostel's restaurant for dirt cheap. The rest of the food for dinner/lunch is also quite good and very cheap. I highly recommend their mango smoothies which I had at least 2 times a day.

There was a slight ant problem in the room that would have been better without. Not too big of a deal though and not a mosquito to be found in the whole city.

There is wireless internet if you have a laptop, and and internet room if you don't. They have laundry service as well if you need it.

  • Liked — The restaurant, the cleanliness, and the staff
  • Disliked — The ants, the water pressure/heat
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank losttravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2008

My daughter and I just returned from Peru where we spent a week in Huanchaco. We stayed at Naylamp and were impressed by everything about this place. The rooms and the area were spotless but with tons of character. We stayed one night in a room in the lower level. It was a nice room but I was travelling with my teenage daughter and I wanted a room with a TV to keep her entertained in the evenings. We were moved the next day to the back of the complex, across an alley, up some stairs and into a courtyard surrounded by rooms and a lovely ocean view. The room we moved to had a window looking to the ocean and a tv so we were both satisfied.
This is a well run, clean and friendly hostal in a friendly town with a plethora of restaurants (be very careful with the seafood as I became very ill after eating it in 2 different restaurants).
Naylamp has a small restaurant with simple, cheap and good food (Italian?....most of Peru seems to fascinated with pizza!!).
The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful although only a couple spoke English.
I would highly recommend this hostal to anyone going to this part of Peru.
By the way, we were there in late winter (August) and it was cloudy for about half the time we were there and sunny for the rest so we got lucky in the weather department.

  • Liked — People and set-up
  • Disliked — internet access
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AprilandGilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huanchaco
1.3 mi away
Hotel Caballito de Totora
Hotel Caballito de Totora
#4 of 11 in Huanchaco
38 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mochican Palace Hotel
Mochican Palace Hotel
#6 of 11 in Huanchaco
46 reviews
5.0 mi away
Due
Due
#2 of 37 in Trujillo
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hostal Cesar's Moche
Hostal Cesar's Moche
#26 of 37 in Trujillo
6 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Ejecutivo San Diego
Hotel Ejecutivo San Diego
#27 of 37 in Trujillo
7 reviews
5.6 mi away
El  Escudero Lodge
El Escudero Lodge
#17 of 37 in Trujillo
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naylamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naylamp

Property: Naylamp
Address: Avenida Victor Larco 123 | (Boqueron) Huanchaco, Huanchaco, Peru
Region: Peru > La Libertad Region > Huanchaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Huanchaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Naylamp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, PitchUp and Booking.com so you can book your Naylamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naylamp Hotel Huanchaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing