We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Esther's Cottage perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Richmond Barracks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Richmond Barracks
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Esther's Cottage perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed for five nights and used Richmond as our base for various day trips in the region. Esther's Cottage was very comfortable, the owners Liz and Martin have taken great pride in the cleanliness and presentation of their property. The gardens are lovely and there are tables and benches in front of each cottage. A block to the main street of Richmond which is a lovely town with good shops and interesting attractions. We thoroughly recommend this property to other travelers. By the way, if you like antiques visit the Sorell Antiques Centre (Sorell is a 15-20 minute drive), it is a lovely old building and has rooms of antiques to peruse.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welovenewhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmondbarracks, Owner at Richmond Barracks, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your very positive review on the Barracks and your stay in Richmond - it was a pleasure to have you stay for the 5 nights. Love to see you back again, all the best Liz and Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
71
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St Helens
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

First stay with The Richmond Barracks and we were very impressed, the tariff was quite modest and we didn't have overly high expectations however the reality was superb. Nicely refurbished motel-style room, small kitchenette, modern bathroom, air-con etc, extremely clean, little extras ie:- plunger coffe,a cannister of sugar in room instead of those annoying little packets. decent complimentary continental breakfast (inc. fresh fruit, juice, yoghurt, cereal, toast etc) delivered to your room after you have chosen your preferred cereals. The receptionist was friendly and helpful advising us of where we could dine that evening. Overall this property is well maintained andf comfortable, the rooms aren't huge however are certainly adequate and very clean. Would be very happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: We booked a room called "The Cellar", parking right outside door, easy access, no problems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralphie012StHelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmondbarracks, Owner at Richmond Barracks, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you so much for your excellent review. So happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, also that you enjoyed your meal at Ashmore's on Bridge - really great to hear. Hope to see you both again the next time you are down this way. Bruno sends his love. All the best Liz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights in The Retreat at the end of our Tasmanian holiday. We wanted to visit the Tasman peninsula but also had a very early flight to catch on our last morning and the Richmond Barracks is perfectly situated to do both, with the airport being only 20 mins away. It was also well situated for exploring all Richmond has to offer. The accommodation itself was very comfortable and well equipped for self catering, as well as being clean and quiet. Liz, the manager, was very helpful and friendly. The garden and surroundings were also pleasant. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmondbarracks, Owner at Richmond Barracks, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, as it is our pleasure to make you very welcome - look forward to your next visit. All the best Liz and Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Richmond is a very small town, so it is easy to drive to Richmond Barracks and explore from there. It is just 10 minutes walk to the south to the Richmond Gaol and the infamous Richmond Bakery with scallop pies. It is also a close 5 minutes walk on the right towards the infamous Richmond Bridge. Since there is 3 of us, we can only book the largest Lady Esther Cottage.

Pros:-
1. Value for money. Lady Esther Cottage comes equipped with a kitchen and comfortable master bedroom on the ground floor and 2 single beds on the upper landing. There are 2 toilets (top and bottom floor) and shower at the bottom floor.
2. Free Wifi Coverage is quite good. It drops sometimes but overall is usable.
3. Recently renovated so everything is clean and new with great decor for a cosy and homey feeling. Even shampoo & liquid shower gels are provided in the shower and toilet.
4. Breakfast is included and is a delicious spread of breads, jams, yogurt, banana, cereals provided in a basket daily by the managers.
5. Picnic table right outside the cottage for drinks and for stargazing at night

Cons:-
1. Beds on the upper floor can be a bit stiff and hard, to complement the "barracks" experience

Overall this was a wonderful place to stay in, would choose this again next time in Richmond.

Room Tip: Get the Lady Esther Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Screw_Loose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmondbarracks, Owner at Richmond Barracks, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you Clarence for your excellent review, so glad that we could accommodate you and your friends. The beds upstairs are new king size firm ensembles, they probably don't get used as much as the other bed so they may be just a little firm for you, glad that you managed to have a long leisurely sleep in the bed downstairs on your second night. Look forward to your next visit.
Liz and Martin .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

This place was excellent - thoroughly recommend it.
Everything about the accommodation, delightful gardens, breakfast basket and Liz the owner entices you to return. You can see that no expense has been spared given the high quality tv, audio system and bathroom amenities. Also there was free wi fi - which didn't exist in more expensive places I stayed while in Tasmania. Liz the owner was the hostess with the mostest! So helpful and ever so friendly. The pride, passion, love and care she has for her place and guests certainly shine through! What a bonus she is for tourism in Tasmania and for her guests.

Room Tip: All cottages were excellent -I had a look. Ours was the 2 bedroom 2 storey Lady Esther Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmondbarracks, Owner at Richmond Barracks, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you so much Chris for your excellent review of your stay at The Barracks, we were so happy that we could accommodate you and that you enjoyed being here. Love to see you back sometime in the future. All the best Liz and Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vista, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed here with another couple at the Esther cottage for several nights. The unit was spotless, beds comfortable and everything you need to make your stay was available. Liz was helpful and friendly and we enjoyed meeting her. You can walk all over Richmond and see the sights and only 20 minutes away from the airport and short drive into Hobart. I would recommend staying here instead of staying in Hobart. The Animal parks, Port Arthur and Hobart just a short drive away. I wish we could of stayed longer!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmondbarracks, Owner at Richmond Barracks, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you so much Judy, it was our pleasure to have you, Bill, Ann & Charlie to stay for 5 nights. You are right Richmond is very near to Hobart and the Airport, so a great place to base yourself. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Australia and safe trip back to California. Liz and Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed for 2 nights with 2 friends and the Lady Esther cottage was perfect for us. We spent our days exploring Richmond. Liz welcomed us warmly and the breakfast provisions were great and tailored to our liking. The cottage had everything we wanted and more!! I would definitely stay again and recommend it to anyone. Next time I would consider staying here instead of Hobart, because it is so peaceful and so close to Hobart and centrally located so that day trips to many places are possible.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marylin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmondbarracks, Owner at Richmond Barracks, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are so glad that all of you enjoyed your stay with us, plus the weather was fantastic so sitting outside with your cheese, wine and biscuits was a must. Love to see you all again on your next reunion. All the best Liz and Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
Hatcher's Manor
Hatcher's Manor
#1 of 1 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mulberry Cottage Unique B&B Accommodation
0.9 mi away
Daisy Bank Cottages
Daisy Bank Cottages
#4 of 11 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cottage on Gunning
Cottage on Gunning
#6 of 11 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Richmond Coachmans Rest
Richmond Coachmans Rest
#7 of 11 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taras Richmond Farmstay
Taras Richmond Farmstay
#2 of 11 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Barracks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Barracks

Property: Richmond Barracks
Address: 16 Franklin St, Richmond, Clarence, Tasmania 7025, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Barracks 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond Barracks is centrally located in a quiet, peaceful pocket of the beautiful Georgian town of Richmond. An easy walk to the famous Richmond Bridge and Richmond's main street, filled with excellent dining options, antique stores and Tasmanian craft shops. Relax and enjoy the spacious sun filled gardens that surround the beautiful cottages on our property. The Colonial officers who originally lived at the Barracks certainly did not enjoy the superb comforts you'll find here today. Built in 1830, using local convict bricks, this charming National Trust Registered property is a restful haven for the discerning traveller. Choose between any of these three purpose built accommodations: Lady Esther Cottage: two storey, self contained family accommodation, sleeps four comfortably. The Retreat: bedroom, lounge, kitchenette, bathroom, sleeps two/three comfortably. The Cellar: studio with kitchenette and bathroom sleeps two only. You'll be comfortable and warm with electric blankets and heaters in all bathrooms, and efficient reverse cycle air conditioning/heating in all cottages. Free WiFi is provided throughout the property. A hearty, continental breakfast is available at an additional charge. Off street parking is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Richmond Barracks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Barracks Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing