We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, lovely accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Richmond Barracks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Richmond Barracks
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Me, hubby + 2 children (5+8) stayed here 1 night over Easter in 2 bedroom cottage. A great vibe from the very beginning, cottages are very pretty and well maintained. Light, bright, spotless, very comfortable, quiet, great location a short walk from main street. Children upstairs with their own ensuite. Beds very comfy, cottage lovely and warm, quiet surroundings. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful, breakfast was great. Would definitely recommend this accommodation to anyone visiting Richmond.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 71mjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmondbarracks, Owner at Richmond Barracks, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you so much for your excellent review. It is always a pleasure to hear that guests have had a warm, enjoyable, comfortable stay. Look forward to seeing you again the next time that you are down this way. All the best Liz and Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
69
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

This was our Third stay at Richmond Barracks, were the Hospitality and accommodation was 100% as always. We stayed in the Cellar this time as we were only travelling as a couple and not with the Family. As we have been to Tasmania on 2 other occasions we found our way round really easy and always enjoy coming here. Tasmania is beautiful. Only glitch was on the morning that we were to fly home and the Hire car wouldn't start !!! Martin took us to the Airport (6am) and Liz arranged a recovery truck to return the hire car to the Airport later in the day. Thanks again Martin & Liz for going that extra mile and giving us an enjoyable stay, we feel like one on the Family !!! See you again soon hopefully.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a very high standard, just chose the one most suitable to the number of people you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingbeavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmondbarracks, Owner at Richmond Barracks, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you so much Charlie and Stephanie for your excellent review. It was our pleasure to help you with the car and to get you to the airport on time. This is your 3rd stay with us - we must be doing something right!!!! Always lovely to have repeat guests. Hopefully see you again next year. All the best Liz and Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed in the Cellar which was very small but had everything needed for an overnight stay. Very clean, fresh breakfast basket and handy for both Cambridge aerodrome (recommend the day in the wilderness flight) and Hobart International. The Old Gaol in Richmond has some good advice about the area and a must see is the Granny Rhodes performance which is just across the road from the Barracks.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmondbarracks, Owner at Richmond Barracks, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay in Richmond and that you visited the attractions that we have to offer. Yes we are close to the Airport so ideal for an overnight stay before you fly out. All the best Liz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Wanting to enjoy our tour of Tassie till the last minute we booked Lady Esther's Cottage at the Richmond Barracks, partly due to it's location in the picturesque town of Richmond, but also because of its proximity to the airport (about a 20 minute drive). What a wonderful decision it turned out to be. The cottage was perfect, clean, comfy bed, with everything we needed, we were only sorry we weren't staying longer! Breakfast included was an added bonus & Liz was kind enough to deliver it to us the night before as we had a fairly early flight the next day. The gardens were immaculate with plenty of benches, as well as a table & benches outside the cottage. It was lovely & tranquil to sit outside despite being only a short stroll to the main street.

Room Tip: Lady Esther's Cottage was lovely, with a double bed downstairs and twin beds upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perthgirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmondbarracks, Owner at Richmond Barracks, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you so much for your excellent review, so glad that you enjoyed your time here and everything was to your satisfaction. Hopefully we'll see you back again in the future. All the best Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed for five nights and used Richmond as our base for various day trips in the region. Esther's Cottage was very comfortable, the owners Liz and Martin have taken great pride in the cleanliness and presentation of their property. The gardens are lovely and there are tables and benches in front of each cottage. A block to the main street of Richmond which is a lovely town with good shops and interesting attractions. We thoroughly recommend this property to other travelers. By the way, if you like antiques visit the Sorell Antiques Centre (Sorell is a 15-20 minute drive), it is a lovely old building and has rooms of antiques to peruse.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welovenewhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmondbarracks, Owner at Richmond Barracks, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your very positive review on the Barracks and your stay in Richmond - it was a pleasure to have you stay for the 5 nights. Love to see you back again, all the best Liz and Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

First stay with The Richmond Barracks and we were very impressed, the tariff was quite modest and we didn't have overly high expectations however the reality was superb. Nicely refurbished motel-style room, small kitchenette, modern bathroom, air-con etc, extremely clean, little extras ie:- plunger coffe,a cannister of sugar in room instead of those annoying little packets. decent complimentary continental breakfast (inc. fresh fruit, juice, yoghurt, cereal, toast etc) delivered to your room after you have chosen your preferred cereals. The receptionist was friendly and helpful advising us of where we could dine that evening. Overall this property is well maintained andf comfortable, the rooms aren't huge however are certainly adequate and very clean. Would be very happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: We booked a room called "The Cellar", parking right outside door, easy access, no problems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralphie012StHelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmondbarracks, Owner at Richmond Barracks, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you so much for your excellent review. So happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, also that you enjoyed your meal at Ashmore's on Bridge - really great to hear. Hope to see you both again the next time you are down this way. Bruno sends his love. All the best Liz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights in The Retreat at the end of our Tasmanian holiday. We wanted to visit the Tasman peninsula but also had a very early flight to catch on our last morning and the Richmond Barracks is perfectly situated to do both, with the airport being only 20 mins away. It was also well situated for exploring all Richmond has to offer. The accommodation itself was very comfortable and well equipped for self catering, as well as being clean and quiet. Liz, the manager, was very helpful and friendly. The garden and surroundings were also pleasant. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmondbarracks, Owner at Richmond Barracks, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, as it is our pleasure to make you very welcome - look forward to your next visit. All the best Liz and Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.6 mi away
Hatcher's Manor
Hatcher's Manor
#1 of 1 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mulberry Cottage Unique B&B Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cottage on Gunning
Cottage on Gunning
#6 of 11 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.9 mi away
Daisy Bank Cottages
Daisy Bank Cottages
#3 of 11 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.7 mi away
Taras Richmond Farmstay
Taras Richmond Farmstay
#2 of 11 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Barracks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Barracks

Property: Richmond Barracks
Address: 16 Franklin St, Richmond, Clarence, Tasmania 7025, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Barracks 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond Barracks is centrally located in a quiet, peaceful pocket of the beautiful Georgian town of Richmond. An easy walk to the famous Richmond Bridge and Richmond's main street, filled with excellent dining options, antique stores and Tasmanian craft shops. Relax and enjoy the spacious sun filled gardens that surround the beautiful cottages on our property. The Colonial officers who originally lived at the Barracks certainly did not enjoy the superb comforts you'll find here today. Built in 1830, using local convict bricks, this charming National Trust Registered property is a restful haven for the discerning traveller. Choose between any of these three purpose built accommodations: Lady Esther Cottage: two storey, self contained family accommodation, sleeps four comfortably. The Retreat: bedroom, lounge, kitchenette, bathroom, sleeps two/three comfortably. The Cellar: studio with kitchenette and bathroom sleeps two only. You'll be comfortable and warm with electric blankets and heaters in all bathrooms, and efficient reverse cycle air conditioning/heating in all cottages. Free WiFi is provided throughout the property. A hearty, continental breakfast is available at an additional charge. Off street parking is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Richmond Barracks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Barracks Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing