We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sergeants Quarters”
Review of Bridge Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bridge Cottage
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We spent our last two nights in Tasmania in the Sergeants Quarters of Bridge Cottage.

This is an excellent heritage accommodation with a lot to recommend. The booking was easily arranged on the phone as we sat in the car looking at the cottage. It has a bedroom, separate lounge with open fire, kitchen and TV room, plus bathroom and laundry facilities.

We found it quaint and comfortable and an easy walk into the village. It is situated right opposite the famous bridge also.

I have no problem recommending this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed in the Sergeants cottage although we had booked for the Armoury.
When we arrived and tried to get into the Armoury by using the code supplied to us we were told over the phone we are now in the cottage next door. Don't know what the reason was apart form the fact that someone else was already in the Armoury.
The place was nice enough and had everything required.
Still would have been nice to see someone in the flesh before staying there just to show you the ins and outs of the cabin. This ringing and talking on the phone is very impersonal I think.

Overall the place was ok, but it can tend to be a bit noisy due to being on the main street. Parking although not too cramped is not ideal, once two SUV's are in the car park. Reason we asked for the Armoury cottage was that someone had mentioned on Tripadvisor that you can park your car next to that cottage. So we could not keep an eye on the car overnight due to being changed into the Sergeants quarters and it is open to the street.

Room Tip: PROBABLY go for the Armoury Cottage onlybecause you are nearer to where you park your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikowgcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights in the Armoury. It was not comfortable. It is not clean, it is run-down and shabby. The cottage was decorated in the 1980's and that was also the last time it was cleaned. Dead flies on the furniture and the bed. Not a nice experience. Save your money and book into a back packer hostel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Accommodation is really rundown and quite shabby. It's very dusty, lots of cobwebs and a really stale urine smell permeates in the bathroom/toilet. Advertised as breakfast included which actually just consists of plain label cereal and long life milk...no bread, butter or condiments?? The hardest bed I've slept in since school camps... Floors are bare, not polished, if you walk on them barefoot you'll be black footed!! The whole cottage is dirty. It's really like sleeping in a shed with critters....try to stay elsewear until this accommodation has been cleaned properly and smartened up.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lola's C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here earlier in the year and have been wondering whether I should share my experience with others. After reading BriVic's review and others here is mine. The Cottages sounded charming on the website but as soon as I arrived I started to have second thoughts. The outside has a decided air of disrepair and neglect, the rusting outdoor tables and chairs are a testament to this as well as the very weedy gardens. The BBQ's were rusted and there was no gas in either gas bottle. The general air of disrepair and neglect continues immediately inside the door to the Cottage where there is a threadbare, stained rug. In the sitting area, there are holes in the sofa cushions with stuffing protruding from them, stains were visible on the seats. Very tired décor. Overall a very disappointing presentation, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravellerDave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I have thought long and hard about writing a review about Bridge Cottages and if my expectations were too high, so I have decided to stick to the facts of our stay.
We stayed for 2 nights (Sat/Sun) in the Sergeant's Quarters and our friends stayed in the Armoury Cottage in September. The rooms of the original cottage were small and quaint but that was to be expected of a cottage of the 1820's. The rooms were clean and outside was plenty of firewood The shower over the bath had plenty of hot water, the kitchen was a good working size and well appointed for cooking meals, toaster, microwave, etc.
But.....after finally getting the a picture on the tv screen it still had rolling waves of fuzz moving across the screen the whole time. Our friends had stayed in the same room a few weeks earlier and said that the tv didn't work at all then. The cleaning lady said a repair man had serviced it but maybe it's time to replaced the old box style with a new modern digital tv. Fortunately we were able to watch tv in the Armoury Cottage with our friends.
The breakfast provisions were very poor in the form of basic, weetbix and cornflakes, and long life milk. This is the first continental breakfast I've seen without any form of bread, butter and jams.
A previous review dated Dec.2011 commented on the provided fresh milk and eggs, please do not expect this. The best thing about it was we were able to catch up with friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BriVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We made a last minute booking and are we glad we did!
After a week in our campervan the open fire and comfy bed were a godsend.
The room had everything we needed including a washer and drier which was a very welcome surprise!
Wish we could've stayed longer! Gorgeous.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
Hatcher's Manor
Hatcher's Manor
#1 of 1 in Richmond
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Richmond Coachmans Rest
Richmond Coachmans Rest
#8 of 11 in Richmond
16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mulberry Cottage Unique B&B Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Brier Cottage
Red Brier Cottage
#7 of 11 in Richmond
20 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taras Richmond Farmstay
Taras Richmond Farmstay
#2 of 11 in Richmond
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Barracks
Richmond Barracks
#1 of 11 in Richmond
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge Cottage

Address: 47 Bridge St, Richmond, Clarence, Tasmania 7025, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Richmond
Price Range: £98 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridge Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BRIDGE COTTAGE - YOUR OWN PRIVATE COTTAGE, COMFY & COSY AND YOURS TO ENJOY BRIDGE COTTAGE comprises of 2 co-joined cottages THE ARMOURY COTTAGE and THE SERGEANTS COTTAGE which overlook The Historic Richmond Bridge. Located in the Village a short stroll to all Historic Sites, shops, cafes and restaurants. Each cottage has a ROMANTIC QUEEN BEDROOM SITTING ROOM WITH OPEN FIRE FULL KITCHEN 2ND LIVING ROOM LAUNDRY BATHROOM FREE OFF STREET PARKING RELAX by the open fire and ENJOY complementary port and chocolates after a day exploring our friendly village. Ideal base to tour Hobart and surrounds. 10 minute drive to Hobart Airport and a 20 minute drive to Hobart ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bridge Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Cottage Richmond, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing