We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hollyhock Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hollyhock Cottage
Ranked #4 of 5 Richmond B&B and Inns
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

Hollyhock Cottage is about 75 m from the main street of Richmond. We found it to be very well presented. The breakfast pack was ample for our needs. Very comfortable bed. In a very quiet location. Excellent value. I think the secret is already out.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wamboin, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

We had a delightful short stay at this cottage: it offers an excellent mix between a period cottage and good modern facilities (e.g. a washing machine). There is a charming garden, with covered seating, and the setting provided real peace and quiet. I would recommend it for adults rather than children, but after having stayed there on our first night in Tasmania, we were left regretting that we had not booked in for our final stay before returning to the mainland

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremyshearmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Hollyhock Cottage is very lovely and cute! It is very short, and my husband hit his head twice while walking into the cottage. However, I think the height of the cottage adds to its charm! There are a lot of heating options available so we had a warm, comfortable stay. There was a small kitchen, sitting area, bedroom and the bathroom had a nice spa bath! There was a nice fire place and a hude range of DVDs were provided. We also had a garden and a BBQ pit :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mentos88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

My sister and I wanted to put up our feet before heading home. We found Hollyhock Cottage as a last minute and stayed two days. 20 minutes to the airport and a lovely little town. A warm fire with a glass or two of complementray port, a great selection of DVDs. This was great to have a place to enjoy the bounty of produced that we had collected and whip up a ploughmans lunch when we arrived, a three course dinner that would rivel our dinner in the city last night. Tomorrow morning a nice sleepin in the queen bed and a big breakfast with the fresh eggs and access to the herbs in the garden that surrounds the cottage I can see herb eggs on sour dough with English spinach sourced from the Salamanca Markets. A great stay so far and I'm sure that it will not disappoint for the rest of our stay. This building is old and comfortable and that is its charm. Thank you for making us a home.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlakDotme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

My partner and I had two nights here and loved it .This cottage was lovely, a nice wood heater in the lounge to keep the winter chills away and plenty of dry wood. Lovely comfy bed and a good sized spa. The low ceiling in the kitchen meant my partner had to bed over to cook my lovely fresh eggs for breaky :) Thanks to Shirley for the welcome, that was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_Roh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed here for our wedding night and it was very comfortable with all the mod cons. There's a TV and DVD player with DVDs included, as well as books and CDs. There is also a large spa for relaxing. It is in a great location just off the main road of Richmond. Would love to go back

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, SA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

Great location - right in the middle of Richmond where everything is just a short walk away.
Great history - 1800's cottage with lots of old and ristoric stuff, but lots of modcons too.
Great facilities - spa, DVD, self contained kitchen, beautiful and private garden.
Spent just one night (wedding anniversary), and wish we'd stayed longer!
Dinner of local bread, cheese, meats and sweets in the quaint kitchen!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobYoungAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.9 mi away
Hatcher's Manor
Hatcher's Manor
#1 of 1 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mulberry Cottage Unique B&B Accommodation
0.2 mi away
Richmond Barracks
Richmond Barracks
#1 of 11 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Taras Richmond Farmstay
Taras Richmond Farmstay
#2 of 11 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cottage on Gunning
Cottage on Gunning
#6 of 11 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laurel Cottages
Laurel Cottages
#5 of 11 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollyhock Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollyhock Cottage

Property: Hollyhock Cottage
Address: 3a Percy St, Richmond, Clarence, Tasmania 7025, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Hollyhock Cottage Richmond, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing