We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial Eloquence”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Richmond Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Richmond Arms
Ranked #5 of 5 Richmond B&B and Inns
Tasmania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Colonial Eloquence”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Beautiful Sandstone Building with Iron Lace featuring on the facade. Comprehensive menu with daily specials. Dining Room and Bar meals at reasonable prices and large serving size. Also an outside beer garden and smoking area. Colonial stocks and a bathtub seat for photo opportunities this is one of our regular dining out places as we are always assured of a great meal and the desserts are fantastic too, loads of choice.

Room Tip: I understand that there are rooms for accommodation, but we haven't stayed in them as we live in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenystasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    32
    19
    15
    15
See reviews for
25
45
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Happened to pop into Richmond on our last day in Tasmania. It is such a historic area.

Dropped into the Richmond Arms for a couple of quiet drinks on a Sunday afternoon

Very enjoyable. Friendly and quick service. Lots of locals enjoying themselves

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynneM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We had stayed at the Stables on a previous trip & new what to expect. We were quite happy with what we got as we had stayed in less than average accommodation in Devonport. However after strolling around the beautiful township we saw plenty of other accommodation that we would look into on another trip. The food in the pub was pretty good and it seemed all the locals ate there too. That's always a good sign.

Room Tip: The back stable has less traffic from the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in unit 3 of 'The Stables' this was the final night of our first tour of Tasmania (9 days). Prior to your accommodation, everywhere we stayed in Tasmania we could not fault and the rates were very reasonable; However we were extremely disappointed and disgusted with this accommodation and it has unfortunately left us with a bad impression of Tasmania.
The carpet was filthy, the unit was hot as it was a loft and they do not provide airconditioning and as there weren't any fly screens the room was full of mosquito's. The furniture was old and tatty.There were only 2 stations on the TV.The towels were worn through and the breakfast handed to us with glad wrap stuck over the top of the jug of milk and bread. When we made the booking we were told it was a Queen bed. Unfortunately it was a double with flat lumpy pillows, hence we did not sleep a wink. This all would not have been so bad if we had paid $60-$70 for the unit (that is more than it is worth) and what was provided is what you would expect for that fee, but for the exorbitant fee of $132.00 it was appalling.

Room Tip: Don't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed in the stone stables out the back of the pub - Excellent - comfortable and history.
Food and service were great, the feeling of history is everywhere.
Very good wineries close by, as is the gaol, so it's not hard to fill in a day with a lot of enjoyment.

Room Tip: Take the ground floor stables
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Accommodation is in a converted stable block at the rear of the pub/hotel. It's fairly basic and there is just cereal & toast for breakfast, but it's quiet, clean and comfortable and by Tas standards, reasonably priced. Richmond is a place to visit on a tour of Tax and is only a short drive to the airport. Good stop for a last night, though food in the hotel was poor and one of the nearby restaurants would be a better bet.

Room Tip: Room 3 was good, two bedrooms, shower room and a little siting room with tv. It's at the back s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.9 mi away
Hatcher's Manor
Hatcher's Manor
#1 of 1 in Richmond
394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mulberry Cottage Unique B&B Accommodation
1.7 mi away
Taras Richmond Farmstay
Taras Richmond Farmstay
#2 of 11 in Richmond
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Richmond Coachmans Rest
Richmond Coachmans Rest
#7 of 11 in Richmond
12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Richmond Barracks
Richmond Barracks
#1 of 11 in Richmond
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laurel Cottages
Laurel Cottages
#5 of 11 in Richmond
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmond Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond Arms

Property: The Richmond Arms
Address: 42 Bridge St, Richmond, Clarence, Tasmania 7025, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Also Known As:
The Richmond Arms Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing