We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, free continental breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Richmond Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Richmond Arms
Ranked #5 of 5 Richmond B&B and Inns
Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice room, free continental breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed at the Richmond Arms hotel in January 2014. We stayed in the stables, a stone building converted to four units. Travelling with 2 adults and 2 children (aged 11 and 14) can be difficult sometimes to find accommodation but our unit suited our purposes. Our unit was on the ground floor and contained a living room, two bedrooms and bathroom. Although we stayed there in summer, the weather was quite cold for that time of year (15 degrees C). We did notice that there wasn't any air conditioning in the rooms which could be a bit of a problem, particularly in the main bedroom of our unit which had no windows to open. I can't recall but I don't think there was even a fan in the unit. We did have heaters in each room and that was fine for the temperature at the time. The hotel is very central (well, most places are central in Richmond!) within easy walking distance of the various antique stores, shops and other attractions. The hotel was the only one on our holiday to offer a free continental breakfast, which was delivered to our room the night before. It consisted of milk, cereal, bread for toast, jams and butter. The only down side was that there appeared to be no wifi.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4Macks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    32
    19
    15
    15
See reviews for
25
45
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We went to the Richmond Arms for an evening 'pub' meal. I had Fisherman's basket and my wife had Beer Battered Flathead (both with salad). When they arrived, seemingly minutes after the plates were huge.
The food was really nice and we struggled through to the finish because of the quantity.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wawnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I have read one of the reviews on here, stating the breakfast is from the night before. I know that the breakfast is not put there from the night before, it is put in the rooms (only which the people are staying in) the same afternoon before the guests arrive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hayley1489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Had lunch here and everyone enjoyed their meals (nachos, 1/2 roast, mediterranean salad and chips and chicken schnitzel). Big portions, quick service and great value for money. The salad was particularly good and a great option for a vegetarian. The staff were friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brontosaurus_neck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We didn't stay there but had dinner in the restaurant on a Saturday night. Went as a family of four, had pre booked. 6pm we were first there, meal came within 10 minutes and everyone's meal was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Beautiful Sandstone Building with Iron Lace featuring on the facade. Comprehensive menu with daily specials. Dining Room and Bar meals at reasonable prices and large serving size. Also an outside beer garden and smoking area. Colonial stocks and a bathtub seat for photo opportunities this is one of our regular dining out places as we are always assured of a great meal and the desserts are fantastic too, loads of choice.

Room Tip: I understand that there are rooms for accommodation, but we haven't stayed in them as we live in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenystasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Happened to pop into Richmond on our last day in Tasmania. It is such a historic area.

Dropped into the Richmond Arms for a couple of quiet drinks on a Sunday afternoon

Very enjoyable. Friendly and quick service. Lots of locals enjoying themselves

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynneM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.9 mi away
Hatcher's Manor
Hatcher's Manor
#1 of 1 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mulberry Cottage Unique B&B Accommodation
0.2 mi away
Richmond Barracks
Richmond Barracks
#1 of 11 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Taras Richmond Farmstay
Taras Richmond Farmstay
#2 of 11 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Brier Cottage
Red Brier Cottage
#8 of 11 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laurel Cottages
Laurel Cottages
#5 of 11 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmond Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond Arms

Property: The Richmond Arms
Address: 42 Bridge St, Richmond, Clarence, Tasmania 7025, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Also Known As:
The Richmond Arms Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing