We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a pleasant experience”

Richmond Boutique Cottages
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Richmond Boutique Cottages
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a pleasant experience”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed in The Rose Cottage and it wasn’t a pleasant experience. On the website it states that ‘all three cottages are conjoined’ and this is misleading. It’s one cottage split into 3. By booking Rose Cottage we expected just that, a cottage…with a kitchen. What we got was a tiny fridge in the tiny living room that contained a half used jar of jam and a dish with used butter!

In order to get to the loo you had to traipse through the second bedroom to get there. This could’ve been interesting (or awkward?) if the in-laws were up to no good but in all seriousness it’s not right that the only entrance to the only loo is via an occupied bedroom.

Given that it’s advertised as having 2 ‘beautiful four poster’ queen size beds, you would take that to mean it would comfortably fit 4 adults. It doesn’t. There’s only enough seating for 3 people although at a push, the 4th person could drop the lid on the loo and yell their part of the conversation from the bathroom.

The cottage was grubby; from the floors, to the vanity, to the cup with a lipstick stain, to the bedspread with a yukky stain. There was a film of dust over pretty much everything.

This accommodation has potential because it’s in a great location and it does have a wee bit of character but in this current state, I wouldn’t recommend it. Oh and I also have to agree with another reviewer…the dust collecting pug needs to go :-(

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzygirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    0
    6
    1
    9
See reviews for
4
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montelparo, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We booked this place because there was not much choice available at the time of our last minute booking. We probably would not have booked had we read the previous reviews on TA.
However, our comments are: it was not difficult to find the cottage (which by the way, as another reviewer has said, appears to be one cottage divided into three areas) as we arrived late afternoon. We rang the mobile number on the main door to find out how to get our key.
It was reasonably clean apart from a couple of small spider webs hanging from the ceiling. The bed and pillows were also reasonably comfortable, although the huge four poster bed takes up almost the entire bedroom with not much room to move around it. Watch your knees!
The bathroom was clean, had a hairdryer and the hot water shower was fine. We did not use the kitchen, only the small fridge (which we think froze our blueberries). Fortunately there were no sounds during the night, however, in the morning we could hear the guests next door whilst in our lounge room. There is a car bay at the rear of the cottage which we did not use as the access is a gravel lane way, not making it ideal for a rental car. All in all, our experience here was not too bad considering it was a last minute booking and rooms in Hobart city would have cost at least $500 a night (it was New Year's Eve).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussies11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rod s, Owner at Richmond Boutique Cottages, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Our apologies for the few spider webs. This is an on-going issue with old buildings with high ceilings. We regularly remove them and have had the whole building treated for insects.
As explained on our web site, the cottages are all self-contained but are conjoined so they can be opened up to provide for larger numbers if required.
We have taken on board the need to sound proof the doors linking the cottages and are in the process of correcting this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

This was the worst cottage we have ever stayed in. The room reeked of cigarette smoke & was dirty beyond belief, including pubic hairs on the toilet that sadly, were not mine. We had to drink our wine out of a wine glass which had no base. The glass front door, which faced the street, had no curtain. This place is clearly unloved with no soul. The owner even stated that he only bought the place so he could build a pharmacy on the land next door. It was the last available place in town, that's why we took it. Recommendation - if it is the last place available in town, sleep in your car.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoniqueLama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rod s, Owner at Richmond Boutique Cottages, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Smoking is banned in all the cottages so if someone has done so it is against our rules. We have automatic deodorants in the cottages, but these can be turned off if people are allergic . The toilets are strictly cleaned after each stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Gold Coast
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Unfortunately I feel it necessary to write this unfavourable review. Firstly, the owner was difficult to contact. However, when we finally did make contact and directed to our 'cottage', it was grossly disappointing! The room was dusty beyond belief including a bedspread which obviously hadn't been cleaned in a while and upon our arrival there was an electric blanket strewn on the floor. The coffee table in the main room held about a thousand brochures shoved onto the rack in a huge mess. There were spider webs in the kitchen and the fire/heater had been loosely covered to avoid a draught however this only allowed a continuous banging noise all night. We could also hear the people in the next room going to the toilet and talking throughout the stay! Not separate cottages but a house divided. On the only positive note, the location is perfect opposite the pub in the main street of Richmond which thankfully provided the good quality wine necessary to make it through a night of non stop sneezing!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rod s, Owner at Richmond Boutique Cottages, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Our apologies if the cottage was dusty and if an electric blanket was left on the floor. This is unacceptable , but surprising, as the cottages are thoroughly cleaned after each stay.
We are in the process of correcting the noise issue between the cottages.They will still be conjoined, but with a sound-proof barrier between the cottages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We were delighted with the position of the cottage, in the main street with access to shops and eateries etc. Unfortunately our enthusiasm waned while using the bathroom: there is a locked door adjoining the bathroom through which cooking smells and conversation flowed freely into our unit. We could hear every word they were saying! We placed the draught protector up against the door to prevent more cooking odours permeating our space but the huge gap below the door frame was possibly the problem. The rather large timber beds are squashed up against the walls, OK for kids but not so comfortable for adults. The lounge area was OK and we appreciated the cutlery, but that ugly gap where the original bar fridge must of been really detracted from the room. An electric 'fake' wood heater has been plonked in front of the original wood heater again indicating a lack of attention to detail. This could be quite special but really misses the mark. Freshen it up and get rid of the ugly bits and pieces (I love dogs but the Pug ornament was not lovely...) It was more tired than homely.

Room Tip: Don't think I'd be recommending this one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Latte62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Where to start.... First off they are not cottages as advertised, it is one cottage divided into three separate very small rooms. We arrived at our accommodation and found it difficult to contact the owner. We were directed to the pharmacy next door where we were told that they could not help us and call the number on the cottage door. We rang only to go to message bank. Finally we got a call back only to be told that he had no knowledge of our booking, even though we were holding a receipt and confirmation documentation. There were other occupants in the room we had booked. At the time it was peak season and other accommodation was difficult to come by. We were referred to another property outside of town and given an 'attic' room that was entirely unsatisfactory. At no time were we offered a refund, and since we had booked for 2 nights we had to find alternative accommodation on the second night. We had breakfast in town near the Richmond Boutique cottages where the owner told us that on more than one occasion people had come looking for keys and others had complained of being double booked. We had flown from Alice Springs to Hobart via Sydney and just wanted a shower and a place to put our gear. This is not too much to ask when you have paid in advance and had your booking confirmed. At no time did the owner of the Richmond Boutique Cottages accept any responsibility or apologize or follow up. Avoid like the plague!

Room Tip: No rooms are worth it....small and cramped, not a cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrettD200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rod s, Owner at Richmond Boutique Cottages, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Our web site clearly states that the cottages, although self-contained , are conjoined. The sound issue is being corrected . I apologise for being hard to contact. I was away at the time and in an area with no mobile phone coverage for part of the day. The reason for the double booking was that my channelmanager apparently had not recorded the direct booking you had made and therefore thought they were free to book someone else in. I apologised at the time, but do so again. I took steps at the time to try to ensure that this never happens again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Mulberry Cottage Unique B&B Accommodation
0.2 mi away
Bridge Cottage
Bridge Cottage
#10 of 11 in Richmond
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Richmond Barracks
Richmond Barracks
#1 of 11 in Richmond
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Richmond Coachmans Rest
Richmond Coachmans Rest
#7 of 11 in Richmond
13 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hatcher's Manor
Hatcher's Manor
#1 of 1 in Richmond
403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Brier Cottage
Red Brier Cottage
#8 of 11 in Richmond
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Boutique Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Boutique Cottages

Property: Richmond Boutique Cottages
Address: 27 Bridge St, Richmond, Clarence, Tasmania 7025, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Richmond Boutique Cottages Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing