We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Country Adventure”
Review of Hatcher's Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hatcher's Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The grand accommodation and relaxed country atmosphere at Hatcher's Manor made it a great pleasure to stay with my whole family with rooms for everybody. Jeanette and Colin were lovely hosts who make you feel comfortable with freedom to explore their farm.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2011

Had a great time. The service was excellent. Such nice people.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaeljjeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Colin and Jeanette Hatcher are wonderful hosts who could not do enough for us, the service was great and they did everything out of love for their beautiful and unique manor built with their own hands.

Our room was very comfortable, and although not modern, this did not detract from the warmth and homely feeling we experienced.

The rural setting was refreshing and the beautiful orchard was breath-taking - we would love to return both when the trees are in full blossom, and when it is harvest time :)

The setting was our favourite part of the stay, the only improvements could have been if there were more in-room items such as tissues, and an extra tea-towel. We and our children felt valued by the friendly approachable manner of the owners, and hearing their story of how "Hatchers Manor" came to be, and seeing it with our own eyes was delightful.

It was wonderful to know that our children were welcome to explore and enjoy the surroundings at their own will and we hope to return again in the future.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
Thank A and J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We really enjoyed our small break at hatchers and enjoyed great hospitality from the hosts. Lovely home cooked meals each night and plenty for the kids to do!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alig1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We chose Hatcher's manor for a 2 night getaway. What a great choice. The manor is nestled amongst a working farm and has all the serenity of the country that you would expect. The staff were friendly, food was delicious, room was clean and tidy, there was no noise from others guests. We had a great time and wish we could have stayed a bit longer. We'll definitely want to come back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Executuve 2 room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigphatsound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

My boyfriend and I recently travelled around Tasmania and stayed at a number of Bed and Breakfasts across the state. We chose to stay at Hatcher's Manor based upon a good rate we found on Wotif at the last minute. While we were able to laugh about it at the time, we were both left disappointed and I honestly wish we had paid more and stayed in Richmond.

When we arrived there was nobody to greet us and the main house was dusty and dark. We instantly felt uncomfortable. After we rang a lady (perhaps the owner) on the phone as per instructions at the front desk, we were shown up to our room. We stayed in the Tower Room which we chose because it was advertised as a romantic room with a spa.

While the views were impressive, the room was shabby and dated. The 'romantic' spa was down a narrow set of stairs and certainly did not conjure any idea of romance. To our further amazement we found that the kettle, toaster, tea and coffee were set up on the bathroom bench, only a meter from the toilet.

Perhaps we could have laughed off the dated room, and faux 'gothic' decor, but there just weren't any redeeming qualities. There was a jug of old milk left in the fridge from the previous occupants, the toilet paper was the cheap sort you would find in a public toilet, the soap/conditioner etc were all just standard cheap bottles which were left from pervious stays, and the TV only received two channels. The only time we saw anyone was when we checked in and there was no sense of effort to make us feel welcome. This would all have been fine if it had been advertised as a budget, farm stay, but it wasn't.

The reality of Hatcher's Manor is not what its website suggests. To describe it as 'luxury' accommodation is certainly stretching the truth and we felt as though we were intruding in a stranger's house. If you are looking for the quality, cosy, heritage stay that you associate with gorgeous towns like Richmond, avoid Hatcher's.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JessDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I've been with my girlfriend on this property for three days and the one and only adjective to describe this place is 'awesome'! I am from Germany, she is from France and we both got used to live on the countryside. We really enjoyed the pleasant environment, the style of the buildings (which reminded us both at european houses) and not at least the familiar atmosphere, which got very supported by the thankfull owners!

We really enjoyed everything and just want to recommend this marvelous place!

Thank you very much Colin and Jeanette!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Netherstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
12.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
12.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
9.5 mi away
Orana House Heritage Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#16 of 47 in Hobart
1,057 reviews
9.4 mi away
Beltana Hotel-Motel
Beltana Hotel-Motel
#2 of 2 in Lindisfarne
51 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mulberry Cottage Unique B&B Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatcher's Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatcher's Manor

Address: 73 Prossers Rd, Richmond, Clarence, Tasmania 7025, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: £50 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatcher's Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay in one of the many different room types at Hatchers Manor and it should say “Gas Log Fire Heating in some rooms” Also the pink colour of the words , can we change that to another colour. We have many different styles of accommodation suiting tourists, locals, honeymooners and families. All Rooms have: Private Bathrooms. TV & DVDs. King or Queen Size Beds. Self-Contained Kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hatcher's Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatcher`s Manor Hotel Richmond
Hatchers Hotel Richmond
Hatcher's Manor Richmond, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing