We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, but still not sure!”
Review of Hatcher's Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hatcher's Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Richmond
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great price, but still not sure!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Pros: despite the cons below, this place is fantastic value - the outside looks great - beautiful grounds and a great location (assuming you have a car). The rooms are huge, warm & quiet. Rooms are old and worn, but reasonable considering the price. CONS: Various things in the room were broken, such as towel rack, there was a used toothbrush in the bathroom (along with mould on the tiles, see photos) and I'm not convinced the sheets and bedspread were clean (looked like they were just re-made). The bed was very lumpy, very old and uncomfortable. The electric blanket clearly YEARS old (worn, yellowing) and was coming apart at the plug end (see attached pictures), and smelt like burning metal when it was switched on (DANGEROUS!). There were a few obvious poorly fixed "do it yourself" patch ups in the room. The couch was very old, uncomfortable (and probably broken, you sink down very far into it when you sit on it). There's a restaurant, but considering the low level of cleanliness and upkeep in the rooms, we weren't willing to risk it. It wasn't TERRIBLE, but there are probably better places around.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lillycorleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    108
    37
    25
    66
See reviews for
115
176
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gympie, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We would like to thank Colin & Jeanette for another great stay. We have stayed here a few times now and have been treated like we are part of their family.
We enjoyed a wonderful meal in the restaurant and retired to a georgeous room with a supurb view.
Thanks again and we will be back again.

Room Tip: Close your eyes and pick one - they are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishGlenn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I spent two nights at Hatchers Manor , booked via Sun Lover and we were highly impressed. The experience was everything it had promised to be - a lovely location, really superb food and attentive, caring staff. We were put in the Executive suite 2 which has Georgian period furniture suiting a Georgian house which had views over the farm and Richmond’s historic St Johns Church , Well-appointed bathroom and possibly the most comfortable King bed I have ever slept in!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Denial s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I really enjoyed my two nights stay in Hatchers Richmond Manor. The hotel is set in a lovely spot just outside Richmond just a short drive to Hobart. I enjoyed walking through the apricot orchards to the village. My room was really comfortable with a large four poster bed. The best thing was that the staff were very friendly and welcoming! I would stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We last visited the manor some time ago (18 months) so we were surprised that they remembered us and were welcomed like returning family! Still a lovely place with great staff and management and quaintly charming rooms. The views are still spectacular and the location is perfect for families who want a base to explore around the Hobart region.
Most of all the kids really enjoyed being able to run around and play with all the farm animals (the alpacas were their fave and the horses came a close second). The food was great homestyle cooking like I remembered and the service....outstanding!

Room Tip: There are quite a few large apartments to choose from for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I thought that it would be a good idea to stay there for 3 nights based on the advertising material shown on the internet. We noted that it has a 4 star rating which turned out to be a self-appointed rating by the management only. We are frequent travellers and have previously never felt the need to write a review until now.
On arrival we were unable to find anyone to check us in, the phone at the reception counter had a sign on it requiring us to call a number for assistance – unfortunately the phone did not work so we searched until we found someone who could help. We found many issues with our room as follows: A very dark lounge and bedroom with extremely poor lighting, the entry door had a large gap underneath (which is not good in a rural environment in terms of vermin, inadequate light in the bathroom which had no window or good ventilation, complimentary bath soap and shampoo which had been previously used by other guests, worn bath towels, a very hard couch to which I was unable to place my feet on the floor, cutlery and plates in the kitchenette looked like they had been rinsed and not washed, none of the furniture seemed to match, the bed was extremely hard and had very worn sheets and felt damp. Worst of all I found pubic hair in the bed. There were also other issues.

After the first hour we decided to leave and find alternative accommodation, we drove to Hobart. The person who was warm and friendly to us when we checked in became unpleasant when we informed her that we were leaving. Unfortunately we had pre-paid and forfeited the cost of one nights’ accommodation. We were more than happy to leave due to the standard of accommodation offered. The description offered in the marketing of these premises is vastly overstated.

PLEASE DO YOUR RESEARCH before booking otherwise you too will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Please do your research!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here on our last night in Tassie, what a mistake, The pictures on the net are not what you get ,I have stayed in better places in South America and they are in a third world country and 2 star . The beds were uncomfortable nobody on reception if you wanted more milk sugar tea or coffee you had to go walk abouts to find somebody , We had dinner at the restaurant their staff come out of the kitchen with dog food to feed the dogs which by the way have full run of the restaurant. I paid about $23 dollars for chicken parmie what a joke 1 boiled potato cut into 4, 1 spoonful of broccoli, 2 slices of carrot and the chicken I think came from the frozen section of coles or woollies . Our friends meals were just as bad never knew you could get medium rare steak that is raw but you can there . If I had known the owners did the cooking we would of gone to the pub. Also like hearing about how they buy things from the tip shop while we were eating .I did however feel for the chinese staff they weren't even given a chance to get out of their rain coat and farm gear before serving us . I really feel that the health dept should go in there under cover and see what happens . The waitress/owner looked like she had her slippers and dirty yard clothes on and her hair was everywhere, she was chewing gum while talking to us - the food and service was less than average. The rooms were large that was it, the beds were uncomfortable and the furniture looked like it was from the tip shop too. Do yourself a favour and go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Homer6519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
12.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart Airport
13.4 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#16 of 48 in Hobart
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mulberry Cottage Unique B&B Accommodation
0.7 mi away
Richmond Barracks
Richmond Barracks
#1 of 11 in Richmond
157 reviews
10.5 mi away
City View Motel
City View Motel
#1 of 1 in Montagu Bay
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatcher's Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatcher's Manor

Property: Hatcher's Manor
Address: 73 Prossers Rd, Richmond, Clarence, Tasmania 7025, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatcher's Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay in one of the many different room types at Hatchers Manor and it should say “Gas Log Fire Heating in some rooms” Also the pink colour of the words , can we change that to another colour. We have many different styles of accommodation suiting tourists, locals, honeymooners and families. All Rooms have: Private Bathrooms. TV & DVDs. King or Queen Size Beds. Self-Contained Kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hatcher's Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatcher`s Manor Hotel Richmond
Hatchers Hotel Richmond
Hatcher's Manor Richmond, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing