We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shepherd Mountain Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ironton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We took a trip to Elephant Rock State Park and Johnson's Shut In and chose to stay here... Parked right out side your room, and the rooms are very nice.. Clean and comfortable.. the bathroom and a nice jacuzi tub... they had a flat screen tv in the living room and also one in the bathroom... kitchen area was very nice as well... would recommend this hotel to anyone. nice and quiet area, and staff was very friendly...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were headed to Johnson's Shut Ins State Park and were too late to get into the campground for the night, so we decided to stop here. This is an old school motel, not new and fancy. It has been updated with new fixtures and a flat screen TV, it is very clean and comfortable, and the staff are incredibly nice and welcoming. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stop for the night.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I and our two kids recently took a mini vacation down to Elephant Rock State Park and Johnson Shut-in State Park. There's not many motels in the area so finally found Shepherd Mountain Inn. It's conveniently located between the state parks and canoening the Black River. It's not far from Elephant Rock and about 15 miles from Johnson Shut-ins. It's about 20 miles from Lesterville, which is where we went canoeing. We stayed in a family suite, which consists of basically two motel rooms connected by a door in the middle. One room is the typical motel room with two beds and a bathroom, and the other a bed, bathroom and kitchenette with a two burner stove, mini fridge, microwave and small sink. There are plates, cups, silverware and pots and pans to use, as well. It worked out well for us to throw our kids in their room with their TV and shut the door between the rooms to watch our own TV. The only bad thing is that there isn't anything to do in the evening in the area so we watched a lot of TV at night. Nice Mexican restaurant across the street, but didn't care for the barbecue restaurant that sits right next to the motel. Several grocery stores in the area and a Dollar General. There is also a McDonald's nearby. Would definitely stay at Shepherd Mountain Inn again. Very nice owner.

Room Tip: The family suite is definitely worth it if you are traveling with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Beth2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a modest motel, one story where you park right outside your room, the kind of motel that was common 50 years ago. The rooms are updated and very comfortable. They included everything we needed, even a large flat screen television with many choices of channels. What earned them 5 stars in my mind was the amazing service we received. While there, we had a family emergency, and they responded as though we were family. The help they gave us was phenomenal. Amazing customer service! We will definitely stay with them again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NearlyRetired68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our 2 night stay in the adjoining rooms with kitchenette was very pleasant. We had eight adults and four kids the first night and though the rooms were small, eveyone slept comfortably with the kids bunking on the floor in sleeping bags. Rooms were generously supplied with bedding, towels and kitchen supplies. Covered porch with picnic table out back made it easy for
everyone to relax, eat and visit. Wish all small towns had a place as nice as this one. Only issue was lack of restaurants open on Sunday evening of holiday weekend. The only restaurant open was a bbq place and we waited for food for nearly 2 hours after ordering and there was a 20 minute gap between some of out parties orders being received. They were totally unorganized and we had no choice since there was no other restaurants available. Food was subpar but tasted o.k. Restaurant was not owned by motel though located in front and should not reflect on the excellent quality of motel. Motel staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ABCMRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Thanks Kay. I had a great visit again. Beautiful room. Nice amenities. Very flexible and helpful. Clean. Good wi fi. Great shower. Nice kitchenette stuff in room. Fantastically comfortable bed. Easy reservation and payment. Close to baylee jo's BBQ, which smells delightful.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank 573Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Doesn't look like much going by but rooms are clean and modern even a nice lg flat screen would highly recommend
Also nice BBQ place next door they have family rooms with 2 bathrooms at very reasonable rates

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Storm789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironton
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Farmington
16.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Farmington
Hampton Inn Farmington
#1 of 6 in Farmington
441 reviews
15.3 mi away
Tradition Inn
Tradition Inn
#4 of 6 in Farmington
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Quality Inn Farmington
Quality Inn Farmington
#5 of 6 in Farmington
33 reviews
17.5 mi away
Crown Pointe Lodge and Golf Club
22.1 mi away
Super 8 Bonne Terre
Super 8 Bonne Terre
#1 of 2 in Bonne Terre
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shepherd Mountain Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shepherd Mountain Inn & Suites

Address: 1321 N Highway 21, Ironton, MO 63650-9129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Ironton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ironton
Price Range: £72 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shepherd Mountain Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Shepherd Mountain Inn nestled in the Beautiful Arcadia Valley of the St. Francois Mountains. Our facility features outstanding lodging with mountain views and the clearest streams in Missouri. We have various accommodations designed to meet the needs of our guests, including Jacuzzi Suites, Family Suites, Executive Business Suites, etc. On our grounds of Shepherd Mountain Inn are large grassy areas, picnic tables, places to grill, and a clear mountain stream that spans the back of the property. We are conveniently located within walking distance of multiple restaurants, groceries, and a department store. The beautiful Arcadia Valley Region features 3 of Missouri's best-known State Parks; including Elephant Rocks, Johnson's Shut-Ins, and Taum Sauk Mountain (Missouri's highest point). Shepherd Mountain Inn is centrally located among these parks as well Fort Davidson State Historic Site, Silver Mines and Millstream Gardens Whitewater Areas, Iron County Historical Society Museum, Iron County Courthouse, Missouri MinesState Historic Site, Marble Creek Park, Ozark Trails and more. We invite you to come and make Shepherd Mountain Inn your home away from home while you enjoy the beautiful Arcadia Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Shepherd Mountain Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing