We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful 15 year anniversary Surprise”

The Parlor Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ironton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Parlor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Ironton B&B and Inns
Williamsburg, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful 15 year anniversary Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

I planned a surprise weekend trip for my wife to celebrate our 15 year anniversary. She loves ghosts and haunted places so the Parlor was perfect. Everything from the pretty antiques, the bed, the tub, the homemade breakfast and the service was the best. She will always remember this weekend. The horse drawn carriage ride was such a big surprise for her. They made it very special. We have told all our friends and we will be back. Thank you so much for a great weekend.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bgilfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silvis, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

My husband and I stayed at The Parlor Inn on August 14th & 15th on our way to Hot Springs, AR. We were warmly greeted by Jeanette and her husband (the mayor) upon our arrival. I cannot even begin to describe the wonderful service and hospitality we were shown while staying there. They went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed during our stay. Anything we needed to know about the area we just had to ask and they were more than happy to tell us all about it. Jeanette has a great love for the house which showed while telling us the history of the house and through the restoration her and her husband have done. They have done a wonderful job on the house and is one of the most beautiful B&B's we have stayed at. Our room was also great, we had a nice king size bed, an area for sitting and a big bathtub with jets, which was the perfect place to relax after our 3 mile hike. Now moving on to the food, you will definitley not go hungry while staying there. Both Jeanette and her husband our awesome cooks and I cannot say enough about how delicious breakfast was. The first morning, her husband fixed huge omelets, which were the best I have ever had and was followed by cubes of french toast in a small dish, drizzled with syrup and topped with whipped cream. The next morning Jeanette fixed us french toast with a wonderful sauce that was her grandmother's recipe. We also had a three layer carrot cake waiting for us when we got there, which was also her grandmother's recipe. If she ever did a cookbook of her grandmother's recipes, I would buy it in a heartbeat! I think her husband should do one also. I am so glad we stayed there and was a perfect place to relax but still have things to do, this area is perfect for a getaway when you do not want to rush around. We cannot wait to go back and we will definitely be back! One more thing, I highly recommend eating at their restaurant Grant's Inn. This is some of the best food we have ever eaten and the service was wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kbruske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2008

We had a great time. The food and surrounds were fantastic. Great histoical building.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jiminyjillikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape girardeau, missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2008

Beatuiful home and very pleasant owners. The breakfast was fantastic and they truly go the extra mile to make the stay as pleasant as possible. They include many extras for your enjoyment. I highly recommend this place and especially the Franklin Room.

  • Liked — The pleasantries included.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilotmackey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collinsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2006

We have just returned from a weekend at the Parlor Bed and Breakfast. The B&B is really beautiful and the hosts, Janette and Bobby are the best. We stayed in the Waterfall room and it was so comfortable. It has a small fridge with bottle water and sodas to help yourself to.
My Husband and I went out hiking during the day and came back to a warm and cozy Victorian home with the fire place burning. There were two kinds of cake in the dining room to help yourself to anytime day or night. I think the chocolate cherry cake with cream cheese icing was the best I have ever eaten. Saturday evening we ate cake in the parlor room sitting around the fire. Janette kept us company and is the nicest person, it felt like we were staying with an old friend.
Bobby made us a wonderful breakfast the next morning. We had a veggie and cheese omlette, hashbrowns, bacon, homemade bread still warm with homemade jams, coffee, teas, fresh squeezed orange juice. After all of that, Bobby brought out small cubes of french toast with maple syrup in a desert cup covered with whip cream. Trust me, you do not go away hungry!
If you are ever in the Ironton area, I highly recommend staying at The Parlor B&B.
Debbie from Collinsville, IL.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank db6869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2005

We also stayed in the cottage across the street. The hosts were absolutely great and very attentive to your every need. Full of information about the entire area. We opted for the carriage ride to and from dinner at Grant's Inn which was also very good and reasonable. The carriage ride topped of a graet dinner, and gives you even more information aboutr the area. Breakfast was great. The hosts were full of surprises, and the ammenities seemed to never stop. If you're anywhere near the area, it's well worth the stay. Cozy, small town atmosphere just adds to the experience. We're already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawnster172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2004

We stayed at the detached home across the street from the Bed and Breakfast. The owners bought it so families and those with pets could enjoy it's usage. It is a 2 bedroom brick home complete with console tv, screened in back porch, coffee maker. They will let you use a roll a way bed if there is a need. The whole house is to yourself. They have provided everything you can think of. They have even provided games to play. We took our dog with us and another family member slept in the second bedroom. Very comfortable. Just like being at home. This home has character too! Fluted glass windows, etc... add to it's charm. It is very close to the Arcadian Cafe, which I recommend you check out and Johnson Shutins. It runs about $100/night, but is well worth it. If you would like to have breakfast at the B&B, you can do so for a small fee. Just let them know the day before. Enjoy! Highly recommended!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironton
1.3 mi away
Shepherd Mountain Inn & Suites
16.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Farmington
15.7 mi away
Tradition Inn
Tradition Inn
#5 of 6 in Farmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Fort Davidson Hotel
Fort Davidson Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pilot Knob
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
14.1 mi away
Old Caledonian Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parlor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parlor Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Parlor Bed and Breakfast
Address: 203 S Knob St, Ironton, MO 63650-1503
Region: United States > Missouri > Ironton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ironton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing