We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, fantastic hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jamesport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arbor House Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Jamesport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We were attracted to the Arbor House by its ability to house our family of 5 - with 3 older kids. The Rustic Suite fit our needs very nicely with 2 bedrooms and a loft. This was a fun floor plan for our group! We were warmly greeted by the hosts and were given a wonderful basket of fresh fruit and muffins. This proved to be even more appreciated in the morning, because we didn't realize that no breakfast is served at this inn. Probably the best part of this experience for us were our host and hostess. Ron was very easy to talk to and his enthusiasm for Jamesport was quite contagious. Both Ron and Gail were very interested in us and gave freely of their time - they understand the true meaning of hospitality. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. Gail was very pleasant and helpful. The welcome basket was a delightful surprise, full of delicious food. If we are ever in this area again, we will definitely make the Arbor House Country Inn one of our destinations.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kellar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We came for one night and wanted to stay for a month. The Garden room was beautiful and the Inn keepers magnificent. Gail and Ron were warm and welcoming. We enjoyed Jamesport as I had in the past but my best friend had never been to the wonderful community. She enjoyed the antique shops and the candle shop with me. My favorite for years has been Anna's Bakery which we stopped at on Saturday. Looking forward to many more happy times at the Inn relaxing in the evening air. They invited us out as they were having an early birthday dinner for an Amish friend. I have always longed for the peacefulness of Jamesport. Sleeping at the Arbor House Inn with its clean lovely floral room surrounded by warm wood was amazingly wonderful. Angelia S.

Room Tip: The Garden room was beautiful. I will stay in that room again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ANGELIA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

As a freelance photographer I had been eyeing the Amish community around Jamesport for some time, and saw my chance for an "Amish in the Snow" theme (http://www.flickr.com/photos/ozarkinspirations/sets/72157632887462680/) when I heard of an approaching snowstorm in late January. Even though it was last minute, Ron got me set up, gave me a great deal, pointed out a number of places to check out as photo ops -- and was very accommodating when the snow forced me to stay over an additional day. The room was quite nice with several 'extras.' In short -- a good place with good folks!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This was my second time staying in the Arbor House with friends...and again, had a great time in Jamesport. My friends have stayed in the House and rooms at the Inn several times. The accomodations are beautiful, relaxing, convenient and spotless! We are always welcomed with a basket of fresh fruit, cheese and local cinnamin rolls. The house is large and very comfortable for 8 people to stay. The kitchen is large with everything you need to relax around the house, snack or make your own meals. Two full baths make it easy for eight people to share. The house has a large porch with chairs in addition to several outdoor tables in front of the Inn. The owners Ron and Gail are very nice and nearby if you need anything. Looking forward to going back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alwayshavetickets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This was our first time in Jamesport. We were not to sure what to expect because we didn't read the review before going, now I wish I had because my worries would have subsided. When we came into town we went straight to the hotel to unpack before venturing off. It was cold and cloudy and the outside of this Inn didn't look too cozy, but I decided to wait until we got inside.

The inside of this room is amazing! The owner was VERY nice and made sure we knew how to get a hold of her, how to work the TV, lights and showed us our very delicious local food Welcome Basket.

I am very impressed with the QUALITY, SERVICE, CLEANLINESS at this place. I do not have one complaint about the INN itself!

We were disappointed that the town itself was a little dead, understandable because it is off season, but we didn't get to experience all that much. We were disappointed that we couldn't get a tour of anything because the owners husband and friend were away at the time.

Tour put aside we are very happy with our experience and hope to come back to the HUNTER ROOM, in hopes of a tour included!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

The Arbor House Country Inn is a shining jewel in rural Northwest Missouri. We recently stayed in the Arbor House cottage for three nights for our son's wedding. Let me start by saying that the Arbor House is by far the best place to stay in Jamesport. While there aren't alot of choices in this small town, the Arbor House could easily hold its own against locations with many more lodging options. I feel comfortable in making this statement because, even though I haven't stayed at any other place in Jamesport, my wife and I did inspect another downtown Jamesport hotel's rooms and amenities, in person, while we were making the decision about where to stay during the wedding weekend, and the Arbor House was the hands down winner.

The owners, Ron and Gail, are genuinely friendly people and very concerned about the comfort of their guests. Check in with Ron was fast and easy and he took the time to make sure that we knew where everything was located in the cottage. Gail stopped by on our first morning there to check to see if everything suited our needs. The Arbor House actually surpassed our needs and expectations. The welcome basket that was prepared for us was a rare treat. It contained fruit, cheese, (some produced locally), crackers, popcorn, candy and more. All arranged in an attractive basket, waiting for us on the center island in the kitchen.

The cottage itself was built in 1905, (I believe), and it has been lovingly restored and upgraded. The kitchen features modern appliances including a refrigerator/freezer with ice maker, stove, dish washer, and trash compactor. All dishes and utensils are included. A pantry area just off of the kitchen is stocked with cleaning supplies, paper towels, bath tissue, etc.

There are hardwood floors throughout the cottage with throw rugs to add a touch of warmth. The center of the cottage houses the kitchen, dining area and family room. The family room features a large screen TV with satellite receiver and a wood burning stove. The bedrooms are arranged on either side of the center section of the home.

The four bedrooms and two baths were more than adequate for our needs. The master bedroom features an en suite bath while the other bedrooms share a bath located just off of the kitchen. All of the bedrooms and bathrooms were extremely clean.

No complaints at all concerning the comfort of the beds. They were very comfortable and relaxing, espacially after long days of pre-wedding and wedding activities. A nice touch is the hand made quilts that adorn the beds.

The Arbor House location is just east of downtown Jamesport, within easy walking distance to the stores and other businesses.

The Arbor House Country Inn also features individual, hotel style rooms located in a separate building. While we didn't stay in one of these rooms, some of the wedding guests and our son and daughter-in-law did. They were all extremely pleased with the accomodations.

Bottom line. If you want to experience the absolute best that Jamesport has to offer in lodging, check yourself into the Arbor House Country Inn. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank airball79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail L, Owner at Arbor House Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Arbor House Country Inn. We enjoyed having you and your family as guests this last weekend. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ron and Gail Ledesma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamesport
19.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Chillicothe
22.9 mi away
Super 8 Bethany MO
Super 8 Bethany MO
#1 of 3 in Bethany
461 reviews
19.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Chillicothe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Country Home Inn
Country Home Inn
#2 of 2 in Trenton
30 reviews
10.7 mi away
Morrell Ranch
Morrell Ranch
#1 of 1 in Gallatin
11 reviews
23.0 mi away
Family Budget Inn
Family Budget Inn
#2 of 3 in Bethany
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbor House Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbor House Country Inn

Address: 103 S Olive St, Jamesport, MO 64648-8153
Region: United States > Missouri > Jamesport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Jamesport
Price Range: £87 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arbor House Country Inn is located in the Amish town of Jamesport in the rolling hills of Northwestern Missouri. We provide relaxing and elegant rooms in a rustic setting. Our outdoor decks and shade trees provide excellent gathering areas when groups book the Inn. Each accommodation has its own character and is decorated with a theme. Microwaves and small refrigerators are located in each of the 4 smaller units. We have satellite television and flat screen T.V.S in each unit. THE COTTAGE: The 1500 sq. Ft. Cottage (built in 1915 and completely rennovated by Amish craftwmen in 1998) features a full kitchen with all dishes and eating utensils, cooking bowls, pots & pans, dishwasher, trash compactor, microwave, Stainless refrigerator and stove w/oven. The open style main room contains the kitchen, dining room, and living room, and original hardwood floors. There are 4 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, as well as an old-fashioned covered porch. The cottage sleeps 8 with 2 King sized beds and 4 Twin beds. INN ROOMS: The Hunter Room accommodates 2 people and has a King sized natural cedar log bed and couch. The Prairie Rose Room accommodates up to 4 people and has a Queen sized pineapple bed and day bed with trundle. It is decorated with a floral theme. The Rustic Suite accommodates up to 6 people, and has 3 bedrooms, one of which is a loft bedroom, and 1 bathroom. There are King sized, Queen sized and Full sized beds. The Garden Room accommodates 2 people and has a King sized bed, "car-siding" on part of the room, and has a full bathroom. This room is separated from the other 3, and is our newest room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing