We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow, wow, wow”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jamesport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arbor House Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Jamesport B&B and Inns
Renton, WA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Wow, wow, wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Gallatin, Mo was our destination and the stay at the Arbor House was a wonderful finish to our trip from the west coast. It is hard to add anything to the glowing reviews already written about this place. Gail escorted us to the Garden Room, showed us where everything was located, including the welcome basket in the refridgerator. You truly feel like you are staying in someone's home. Hospitality is key and the rooms are beautifully decorated. Our room was large and had anything you could possibly need.
There is no continental breakfast, but since we travel with a well appointed cooler, we were able to add to the lovely fruit and cinnamon rolls provided. Placemats on the table added another homey touch.
The room was sparkling clean, and Gail shared with us that she tells her housekeepers to make the room look as if no one had been there before. This goal is certainly accomplished.
Do not let the outside of this place deter your visit. The back faces the street corner and doesn't look especially appealing. Go around to the front and you are pleasantly surprised by the lovely patio. Also, be aware, this is an Amish community and the local grocery is closed on Sunday as is many other businesses. Plan ahead and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The rooms here are all different and Gail and Ron will get you in the room best suited to your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Head-mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    3
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cape girardeau
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We loved our night at arbor house. Clean comfortable lots of movies in our room and great welcome basket. The patio was great to hang out on and our daughter loved playing with the cats around. We also enjoyed the tour of jamesport. Great place to get away to. Friendly Amish community and we've been to others where the Amish were not so nice

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stlcardsno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We were attracted to the Arbor House by its ability to house our family of 5 - with 3 older kids. The Rustic Suite fit our needs very nicely with 2 bedrooms and a loft. This was a fun floor plan for our group! We were warmly greeted by the hosts and were given a wonderful basket of fresh fruit and muffins. This proved to be even more appreciated in the morning, because we didn't realize that no breakfast is served at this inn. Probably the best part of this experience for us were our host and hostess. Ron was very easy to talk to and his enthusiasm for Jamesport was quite contagious. Both Ron and Gail were very interested in us and gave freely of their time - they understand the true meaning of hospitality. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kellar22
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. Gail was very pleasant and helpful. The welcome basket was a delightful surprise, full of delicious food. If we are ever in this area again, we will definitely make the Arbor House Country Inn one of our destinations.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kellar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Platte City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

We came for one night and wanted to stay for a month. The Garden room was beautiful and the Inn keepers magnificent. Gail and Ron were warm and welcoming. We enjoyed Jamesport as I had in the past but my best friend had never been to the wonderful community. She enjoyed the antique shops and the candle shop with me. My favorite for years has been Anna's Bakery which we stopped at on Saturday. Looking forward to many more happy times at the Inn relaxing in the evening air. They invited us out as they were having an early birthday dinner for an Amish friend. I have always longed for the peacefulness of Jamesport. Sleeping at the Arbor House Inn with its clean lovely floral room surrounded by warm wood was amazingly wonderful. Angelia S.

Room Tip: The Garden room was beautiful. I will stay in that room again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANGELIA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potosi, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

As a freelance photographer I had been eyeing the Amish community around Jamesport for some time, and saw my chance for an "Amish in the Snow" theme (http://www.flickr.com/photos/ozarkinspirations/sets/72157632887462680/) when I heard of an approaching snowstorm in late January. Even though it was last minute, Ron got me set up, gave me a great deal, pointed out a number of places to check out as photo ops -- and was very accommodating when the snow forced me to stay over an additional day. The room was quite nice with several 'extras.' In short -- a good place with good folks!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ames ia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

This was my second time staying in the Arbor House with friends...and again, had a great time in Jamesport. My friends have stayed in the House and rooms at the Inn several times. The accomodations are beautiful, relaxing, convenient and spotless! We are always welcomed with a basket of fresh fruit, cheese and local cinnamin rolls. The house is large and very comfortable for 8 people to stay. The kitchen is large with everything you need to relax around the house, snack or make your own meals. Two full baths make it easy for eight people to share. The house has a large porch with chairs in addition to several outdoor tables in front of the Inn. The owners Ron and Gail are very nice and nearby if you need anything. Looking forward to going back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alwayshavetickets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamesport
19.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Chillicothe
19.1 mi away
Days Inn Chillicothe
Days Inn Chillicothe
#5 of 5 in Chillicothe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
19.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Chillicothe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Country Home Inn
Country Home Inn
#2 of 2 in Trenton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
10.7 mi away
Morrell Ranch
Morrell Ranch
#1 of 1 in Gallatin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
19.6 mi away
Super 8 Chillicothe
Super 8 Chillicothe
#3 of 5 in Chillicothe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbor House Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbor House Country Inn

Property: Arbor House Country Inn
Address: 103 S Olive St, Jamesport, MO 64648-8153
Region: United States > Missouri > Jamesport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Jamesport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arbor House Country Inn is located in the Amish town of Jamesport in the rolling hills of Northwestern Missouri. We provide relaxing and elegant rooms in a rustic setting. Our outdoor decks and shade trees provide excellent gathering areas when groups book the Inn. Each accommodation has its own character and is decorated with a theme. Microwaves and small refrigerators are located in each of the 4 smaller units. We have satellite television and flat screen T.V.S in each unit. THE COTTAGE: The 1500 sq. Ft. Cottage (built in 1915 and completely rennovated by Amish craftwmen in 1998) features a full kitchen with all dishes and eating utensils, cooking bowls, pots & pans, dishwasher, trash compactor, microwave, Stainless refrigerator and stove w/oven. The open style main room contains the kitchen, dining room, and living room, and original hardwood floors. There are 4 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, as well as an old-fashioned covered porch. The cottage sleeps 8 with 2 King sized beds and 4 Twin beds. INN ROOMS: The Hunter Room accommodates 2 people and has a King sized natural cedar log bed and couch. The Prairie Rose Room accommodates up to 4 people and has a Queen sized pineapple bed and day bed with trundle. It is decorated with a floral theme. The Rustic Suite accommodates up to 6 people, and has 3 bedrooms, one of which is a loft bedroom, and 1 bathroom. There are King sized, Queen sized and Full sized beds. The Garden Room accommodates 2 people and has a King sized bed, "car-siding" on part of the room, and has a full bathroom. This room is separated from the other 3, and is our newest room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing