We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate but Rundown Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Hotel Jefferson City
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Jefferson City
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Adequate but Rundown Property”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

Candlewood Suites are oriented towards longer stays, with a kitchen & small grocery store area. This one is very clean but pretty run down: worn carpets, banged up furniture, lumpy bed & pillows. Very nice front desk staff. There are other similar but newer properties in Jeff City I would try first.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcoakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Jefferson City, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear mcoakland,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words for the front desk staff. It is also nice to know that you noticed the cleanliness of our hotel. My apologies for the inconvenience you experienced due to the condition of the property. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades. We all hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    29
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
32
12
12
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
EVANSVILLE
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

We came from out of town to attend the University of Missouri vs. University of Kentucky football game. The hotel was easy to get to from Columbia and an easy drive to downtown Jefferson City. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The lobby is very nicely furnished and decorated with a tv and magazines. The local newspaper is there as well as a chalkboard showing local events, weather, etc. There is a DVD library behind the counter with a huge selection of movies. The room was very nice, comfortable, clean and includes a stovetop and full-size refrigerator. There was a microwave popcorn bag in the microwave and a free water or soda waiting in the Cupboard. The fitness room was very nice as well. There were fall decorations outside and throughout. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: King size bed is very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybuglouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmjeffcity, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Jefferson City, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thank you very much for leaving this kind review.

I am sorry though that I did not respond sooner. We are making a concentrated effort respond using social media, quicker and more effectively.

Finally we love giving you the experience that you find memorable when you stay with us. We decorate for not only Fall but Christmas and Patriotic Holidays as well. We try hard to make this a home away from home for all of our guests and if we can do something for you in the future all you to do is ask.

Thank you for your business and making us your choice when you come to Jefferson City.

Sincerely,

Trey Propes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times while in JC. The rooms are always clean and nice. The staff is generally great. One time though when I checked in they said they had only a smoking room left. I said I would find another hotel to stay at and they said they'd have to charge me for one night if I didn't stay in the smoking room. I left and refused to pay - but this has been the only bad experience here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DQ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmjeffcity, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Jefferson City, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Thank you very much for the kind review.

I am glad your overall experiences with the hotel have been very positive and we really appreciate the fact that you have choice to stay anywhere in Jefferson City and you choose to stay with us, it means a great deal.

If in the future their is anything that I or the staff can do for you or you have any concerns please don't hesitate to give me a call. Our management and staff will always try to work with you to address your needs and concerns. Please feel free to call me with any feedback because that is how we improve as a staff and as a hotel.

Sincerely,

Trey Propes, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Me and my wife have recently relocated to Jefferson city. We have spent a good deal if time in this hotel and will spend a great deal more there. Why you may ask? Friendly staff is actually an understatement. Clean, they even talked my dog calm so they could enter to clean. Just overall a pleasant stay. even when working thirty miles over in Columbia i gladly drive back to Jefferson city to stay...yes the service and room are that good.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrhummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmjeffcity, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Jefferson City, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review and I have shared it with staff. Sometimes the staff does not hear about all of the good things people say and sharing something like this with them validates the extra effort that we ask of them. The highest compliment you can give us is a referral and your continued business and behalf of all of us with Candlewood Suites we thank you for the opportunity to serve.

Sincerely,

Trey Propes, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We had such a wonderful experience staying here. Our room was super clean and roomy. The staff was very friendly. There were lots of little amenities, including a handy little snack shop. They mean what they say when they call themselves pet friendly. We brought our fur babies with us and the hotel was more than accommodating; they even feature a special dog-walking area outside. The price was right too.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DreamingOfFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Jefferson City, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review.

The best compliment that we can receive from a guest is a referral and your kind words are the best referral we can hope for. I am happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and if you travel through this way again we would love having you as a return guest.

Finally, thank you for commenting on the cleanliness of your room. The experienced staff we have here really takes pride in their work and its great to see them recognized for their efforts.

Please come back and see us.

Sincerely,

Trey Propes, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
574 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Apparently there is a chronic problem with the exhaust vents in the bathroom at this hotel. The flap keeps banging the whole time in a windy day. I have made a comment about that to the reception and they told me the solution was to keep the exhaust fan running all the time. Apparently they do not care about the environment at all.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob_Creek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmjeffcity, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Jefferson City, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Sir,

I appreciate your comments concerning the hotel and deeply apologize that your stay was not a better one. I hope that you will give the staff and I a chance to make that up to you at some point in the future.

The bathroom damper on the fan is an issue that has come up before and as you pointed out on days of strong it will "tap" consistently unless turned on. That damper is necessary though with all new properties requiring the damper to meet fire code so that smoke does not travel from one room to another, within the vent system, in the event of a fire. A hassle but a life safety one that we try to work around. The fan's are silent, or nearly so, and that does remove the noise you were referring to.

As far as how we feel about the environment I hope you also saw that we use environmentally friendly water faucets, toilets and shower heads. We are equipped with and energy management system for our P-Tac units and actually promote recycling throughout the the hotel by staff and guests alike.

We, like anyone else, have guest issues and we have taught staff that having a guest issue is inevitable but how we deal with that issue is what needs to set us apart from the competition. That their job is to take the mistake made, and first and foremost make it up to the guest. Then learn from the mistake so we don't repeat it and have it affect anyone else. In this case we should have done better and will do better in the future.

Sincerely,

Trey Propes, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

My only complaint was the mattress. If you like them firm you will love there beds.
I knew up-front that there was no continental breakfast or pool. Those are usually deal breakers. We were traveling without children so it was exactly what we needed. We stayed in room 233. It was basically a 1 bedroom apartment.
Very clean, new, and plenty of room to stretch out relax in a very good part of town.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsdoze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmjeffcity, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Jefferson City, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
We appreciate your kind words and especially that you took the time to place them here. Kind revues and referrals are the most that we can ask from any guest. We look forward to serving you in the future and thank you for your business.

Sincerely,

Trey Propes, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jefferson City hotels
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capital Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capital Inn
#1 of 13 in Jefferson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
4.0 mi away
Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Jefferson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Jefferson City
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Jefferson City
Days Inn Jefferson City
#5 of 13 in Jefferson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
4.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Jefferson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Hotel Jefferson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Hotel Jefferson City

Property: Candlewood Suites Hotel Jefferson City
Address: 3514 Amazonas Drive, Jefferson City, MO 65109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Jefferson City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jefferson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Hotel Jefferson City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi-award winning Candlewood Suites is the premier hotel for the independent business travelier and extended stay guest alike. This 80 Suite hotel is the only Extended Stay Hotel serving the Jefferson City, Fulton, Holts Summit, California and Eldon Missouri areas. As a true Extended Stay hotel we have kitchens with full size refrigerators with ice makers, microwaves, cook tops, pots, pans, dishes and sinks with garbage disposals in EVERY ROOM. Consider us Home in one of our spacious "Studio Suites" and even more spacious, but limited availability "One Bedroom Suites" for longer visits. Candlewood Suites provides a free guest laundry facility, free high speed wired and wireless internet as well as unlimited access to a state of the art business center, a fitness center, the Gazebo with dual BBQ grills and the Candlewood Cupboard convenience store for meals and snacks. The Capital Mall is right around the corner for shopping, dining, and a good movie. Pets Are Welcome with a fee. Current shot documentation is required. A pet policy must be signed at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Hotel Jefferson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Jefferson City
Candlewood Jefferson City
Jefferson City Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing