We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Joplin(Joplin)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$62
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn by Wyndham Joplin(Joplin)(Great Value!)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drury Inn & Suites Joplin(Joplin)
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Enlight Inn(Joplin)
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
94
94
97
47
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
94
94
97
47
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanvisiting family in the areaindoor pooljacuzzi tubplace to staywaffle housewe've stayedparking lotbiscuits and gravyambersheriteddycouponchannelsmuffinsinterstate
Filter
Updating list...
373 - 378 of 379 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2008

After checking in, we were going to our rooms and noticed that the hallways were not vacuumed and the smell in the hallways and the elevator were not pleasant. The pictures on the internet were great. This was the 4th of July weekend and I knew we could not get another room at another hotel. When we arrived in our room, there were stains on 2 out of the 3 chairs, that were disgusting.

We did not notice until Thursday the 29th that evening there was not a security knob on the door, it was broken. We notified the front desk in the morning and they said they would fix it, which they never did during the duration of our stay. We asked for roll-away bed, which they did put in our room, but we informed them in the morning that we did not need it, they could have it removed. I consistently reminded them at least twice daily, until I had to put it out in the hallway, per housekeeping’s request.

In the morning my husband was ironing our clothes and the iron spit out black spots on our clothes. When we were leaving for the day we asked the front desk to replace our iron and they said they would. When we returned later in that afternoon it was not done. I had to go down to the front office myself to replace the iron. After replacing the bad iron, with the newly replaced iron it was the same, still leaving spots on our clothes.

On Friday evening when we returned to the hotel we did not have any bath towels, I called them in the morning to let them know we did not have any towels. Approximately an hour later housekeeping brought us some towels. Also on Friday morning when we went down for breakfast they informed us that there was not any orange juice because the machine was broken. On our way out that evening we informed them that the air conditioning in our room was not working properly, it was fixed by the time we returned, but the ice machine on our floor was not working.

On Saturday when we returned for the evening, we did not have any hand or face towels. In the morning I asked housekeeping for some towels, when they arrived on our floor.



Sunday the air conditioning went out again and I had to get towels again. When we returned Sunday evening, the comforter was turned down, and there was a hole in the blanket, which was not to appealing.

Monday morning I called down to the front desk to see if there was coffee. They informed me that breakfast was over but they have coffee 24 hours a day. Mind you again we did not have towels. I went down for coffee and of course there was not any made. Instead of them making a fresh pot they told me there was not any regular coffee made at the time, just decaffeinated coffee . I told the lady at the front desk we did not have any face or hand towels again, she went to get me some. When she returned she handed me a dirty face towel, I let her know it was dirty, she apologized and said she would send housekeeping to our room. My husband called front desk and as soon as she answered she said I already told housekeeping you needed some towels. We waited 2 hours or so, then I went out in the hallway and asked housekeeping for some towels and she said I need your dirty ones, I told her we never received any. She stated, “Oh yeah the front desk told me you needed some, and then she handed them to me. I called down to the front desk to let them know there was still no ice in the machine, she informed that nobody let her know, but I could go down to the 2nd floor.

We have stayed in several hotels and this hotel is by far the worst. I suggest that maybe you send out a representative to pose as a guest for a few days, just to experience what your paying guest experience.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MLLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela C, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Joplin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

It sounds like you had quite the stay, indeed! We are terribly sorry that all of that happened and that you were left with such a bad impression of our hotel. You ought to be as pleased as anyone to hear that we are under new management. You can rest assured that our maintenance, housekeeping, and front desk staff are much better than what you experienced. We do hope you will be willing to give us another chance the next time you need to stay in the Joplin area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2007

Our hotel room was just ok ,it was clean and well equiped. Could use some updating. My biggest disapointment was we were given an outside room ( I prefer interior corridors). From their pictures they appear to have inside rooms. E ven though they have an inside pool it was too chilly to run from my room to the pool inside! If I would stay in the area again I probably would try another hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rustydog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela C, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Joplin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

We’re sorry they were not able to accommodate your preference for an interior access room. We do, however, want to make you aware that we have recently come under new management. We still offer both inside and outside access rooms, as well as a heated indoor pool, a hot tub, and an outdoor pool (only open seasonally). We would also like to extend an invitation to try staying with us again the next time you’re in the area. While all our rooms are still subject to availability, if you decide to stay with us again please be sure to let us know your preference for an inside access room, and we will do our best to meet that request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2007

We stayed here with our fastpitch softball team. When I walked into our room, the air conditioner cover was laying on the floor in pieces - I put it back together. The room was 1980's vintage with little to no updating. While it did atleast appear clean, it lacked routine maintenance (missing towel bar, etc.).

Many rooms have exterior entrances which wouldn't be so bad if the exterior was kept up - the building looks run down. It has a very unkept appearance - seems to be alot of folks loitering around too (permanent residence?). The front desk employee was extremely unfriendly - didn't manage to mutter even a hello when I approached the desk.

The breakfast area is tiny with about four tables - don't count on having a place to sit.

I'm not normally a picky person - I'm a softball dad that has stayed in some pretty bad motels. I won't be back to this one.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gss2fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela C, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Joplin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

We are so sorry to hear of your negative experience when you stayed here back in 2007. We have come under new management this past fall and have been making a number of positive changes. We have been paying more attention to building maintenance, have a more professional staff than what it sounds like was the case when you stayed.

We would like to extend an invitation for you to try staying with us again the next time you’re in the Joplin area! We don’t think you’ll regret it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2003

We stayed at the Baymont on June 14,2003 in Huntsville, AL. It was not a good experience. The sheets for the pull out couch were rolled up, dirty and put in a trunk that was used as a coffee table. The swimming pool was dirty. The noise was terrrible. A sprinkler head was hanging out of the ceiling and wires were hanging out from what was once a smoke alarm or light fixture. It just wasn't a good experience.

6  Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews