We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poorly cleaned and maintained.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Joplin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 Joplin
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Joplin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Marshalltown, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very poorly cleaned and maintained.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Room smelled musty and wasn't very clean-carpets, mirror, etc. Bed was very uncomfortable and squeaked. Very poor lighting in bathroom and shower curtain was poor. Outdoor pool was not open. This place needs some MAJOR re-vamping!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    53
    52
    26
    28
See reviews for
64
63
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Horrible horrible horrible. Dirty, smelly, unkempt. The first room we were given had soda bottles and garbage all over it and all the sheets were stripped off. The next room at least had sheets, but was far from an improvement. This place is a dump. Stains all over bedding and floors. It smells like cigarettes and vomit. Mold all over the bathroom and falling apart ceiling tiles.

Room Tip: Don't let the nice exterior fool you,, its a dump.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GRBGRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Joplin hotels

Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

This place is disgusting and should be shut down. The pillowcases were yellow, but were supposed to be white, and smelled so bad we did not use them. The whole place was moldy and disgusting. There was a soft spot in the floor, the shower curtain was stapled together, and not just a small rip.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s3t1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin, Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

First thing that throws you is off is the name change from Super 8 to Legacy. The room was dirty, the sheets had stains and public hair all over the tub, toilet and sink. If we were not so tired we would have moved. The cleaning staffed spied on the clients as they talked in private. I will never stay here again...run far away and fast

Room Tip: Bring a de-bugger or be ready to clean your own room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rise U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

On our trip to arizona, we stayed here for 1 nights fortunately. The hotel was caught up in the smell of cigarette smoke. The washroom was way beyond dirty in my opinion, it clearly had marks of someone using it. The rooms were not clean either, the air conditioner seemed white from the factory but some how it had turned it self in to yellow. The staff was horrible. They do not want any one complaining about anything or he would really get on your nerves. I never would recommend this hotel to anyone, not even dogs and cats. There are much better places in the area for a not a whole lot of price.

Room Tip: Check the rooms first, I am sure not all the rooms are worst but check yours first before buying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8jomo, General Manager at Super 8 Joplin, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Sir,

I am very displeased with the way your stay at our hotel turned out. I assure you that any and all things that you were displeased will be corrected and in the future if you happen to stay at our hotel again you will see that our rooms, staff, and service is up to your satisfaction. Also, I'd like to thank you for your review because it helps me make correct any and all mistakes as well as help our guests in the future.

Thank you,
Chirag Gandhi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mogadore, Ohio
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

This is an ok Super 8. Rooms were pretty quiet but the stairs were a little narrow for a larger bag. Was easy to get off 44 and get back on

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora Vista, NM
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

The place looked very nice from the outside, in the room however it was a different story. The floor was sticky and gross; it felt necessary to ware shoes to walk around the room. The shower looked like it was disengaging and was more patches then it was the original enclosure. The beds were like sleeping on planks of wood and the sheets looked dingy. Avoid this place!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfshowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Joplin hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Joplin
Days Inn Joplin
#7 of 23 in Joplin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Oasis
BEST WESTERN The Oasis
#12 of 23 in Joplin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Joplin
La Quinta Inn Joplin
#4 of 23 in Joplin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Joplin
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Joplin
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Joplin
Quality Inn Joplin
#11 of 23 in Joplin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Joplin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Joplin

Property: Super 8 Joplin
Address: 2830 E 36th St, Joplin, MO 64804-4417 (Formerly The Legacy Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Joplin
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Joplin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Joplin 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 Joplin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing