We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I (barely) survived it, but you may not...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Joplin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 Joplin
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Joplin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I (barely) survived it, but you may not...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

This hotel was horrendous. I am not extremely well traveled, but I suspect this will always rate near the top on my "worst experiences" list. The room smelled of heavy smoke (even though it was "non-smoking"), the dials on the air conditioner were broken, the window had eeire smears on it, the sheets had obvious blood stains (they were only dime sized, but still). And this one takes the cake: there were crusted boogers on the bathroom wall...in multiple spots. I survived, but you may not. This is a BYOBS (Bring Your Own Biohazard Suit) hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    53
    52
    26
    28
See reviews for
64
63
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

The good:
Great Location, It is on what I call Hotel row as many hotels are lined up next to each other.

Very Cheap, I got a great deal.

Quite, Being so close to the highway with construction going on you would think you would hear a lot of outside noise but nothing.

Clean bed and linens.

Microwave and frig. both in room. Room also had a safe in the corner to use. (it was missing the key but I didn't ask if it was at the front desk)

GREAT Customer service. For whatever reason my room was missing the remote control to the TV. I spoke with the gentleman at the desk (Jay) he told me he would find one and bring it too me or he would change rooms so I would have one. i started to walk the 40 or so feet between front desk and my room and he already had a working remote for me.

Bad: While I think the staff does a good job of light cleaning each day I do not think they are good into deep cleaning. From the best I can tell they changes the bedding and replaced the towels, they cleaned the bathroom and ran vacuum. The entertainment center needed dusted and the mirror above the desk needed cleaned. These might of been on a schedule to deep clean another day and they were really not bad however if you are a neat freak this could be a turn off for you.

The bathtub had a repair done too it and while the repair appeared to be to fix a leak and worked good for that it left 2 dark grey spot that someone looked like duct tape that were 2"X4" long each in a light tan tub.

The pool was not open, for my stay that was not a problem for one I booked online and it said nothing about a pool and secondly I would of probably not used the pool anyway. The reason I am saying something about it is that the sign out front advertises a pool so if someone were to be driving pass and stopped they would be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshalltown, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Room smelled musty and wasn't very clean-carpets, mirror, etc. Bed was very uncomfortable and squeaked. Very poor lighting in bathroom and shower curtain was poor. Outdoor pool was not open. This place needs some MAJOR re-vamping!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Joplin hotels

Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Horrible horrible horrible. Dirty, smelly, unkempt. The first room we were given had soda bottles and garbage all over it and all the sheets were stripped off. The next room at least had sheets, but was far from an improvement. This place is a dump. Stains all over bedding and floors. It smells like cigarettes and vomit. Mold all over the bathroom and falling apart ceiling tiles.

Room Tip: Don't let the nice exterior fool you,, its a dump.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GRBGRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

This place is disgusting and should be shut down. The pillowcases were yellow, but were supposed to be white, and smelled so bad we did not use them. The whole place was moldy and disgusting. There was a soft spot in the floor, the shower curtain was stapled together, and not just a small rip.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s3t1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin, Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

First thing that throws you is off is the name change from Super 8 to Legacy. The room was dirty, the sheets had stains and public hair all over the tub, toilet and sink. If we were not so tired we would have moved. The cleaning staffed spied on the clients as they talked in private. I will never stay here again...run far away and fast

Room Tip: Bring a de-bugger or be ready to clean your own room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rise U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

On our trip to arizona, we stayed here for 1 nights fortunately. The hotel was caught up in the smell of cigarette smoke. The washroom was way beyond dirty in my opinion, it clearly had marks of someone using it. The rooms were not clean either, the air conditioner seemed white from the factory but some how it had turned it self in to yellow. The staff was horrible. They do not want any one complaining about anything or he would really get on your nerves. I never would recommend this hotel to anyone, not even dogs and cats. There are much better places in the area for a not a whole lot of price.

Room Tip: Check the rooms first, I am sure not all the rooms are worst but check yours first before buying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8jomo, General Manager at Super 8 Joplin, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Sir,

I am very displeased with the way your stay at our hotel turned out. I assure you that any and all things that you were displeased will be corrected and in the future if you happen to stay at our hotel again you will see that our rooms, staff, and service is up to your satisfaction. Also, I'd like to thank you for your review because it helps me make correct any and all mistakes as well as help our guests in the future.

Thank you,
Chirag Gandhi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Joplin hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Joplin
Days Inn Joplin
#7 of 23 in Joplin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Oasis
BEST WESTERN The Oasis
#12 of 23 in Joplin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Joplin
La Quinta Inn Joplin
#3 of 23 in Joplin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Joplin
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Joplin
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Joplin
Quality Inn Joplin
#11 of 23 in Joplin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Joplin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Joplin

Property: Super 8 Joplin
Address: 2830 E 36th St, Joplin, MO 64804-4417 (Formerly The Legacy Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Joplin
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Joplin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Joplin 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 Joplin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing