We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice exterior, poor interior”
Review of Super 8 Joplin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Joplin
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Joplin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 July 2009

The place looked very nice from the outside, in the room however it was a different story. The floor was sticky and gross; it felt necessary to ware shoes to walk around the room. The shower looked like it was disengaging and was more patches then it was the original enclosure. The beds were like sleeping on planks of wood and the sheets looked dingy. Avoid this place!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfshowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2009

Horrible room, dirty towels in bathroom, dirty bathroom, urine on floor, carpet disgusting and the MOST RUDE STAFF ever encountered. Manager was an arrogant, self serving and rude individual

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingsometimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

We were driving to California and Joplin was our first stop. The Super 8 appeared nice on the outside. My sister checked in for us and we did not enter until after the room had been purchased. The exterior door to the hallway that stated a room key was required to enter was left open and would not shut. That was not such a big issue for us so we continued to our room. The room appeared clean in the dim light at 10:00 PM. The following morning we awoke and found that we had been bitten by bed bugs all night long. We immediately showered and bagged our clothes up and took them to the closest laundry mat at 7:30 in the morning. We reported the issue to the front desk clerk and she called the manager. He was rude and stated that there were no bugs in the room, however offered a 15% discount. I stated that this was not acceptable and he clearly had no intention of resolving the bug issue. I had to call the health department and leave a message. The health department responded at 8:15 AM and investigated the room. The bed was infested with bed bugs. There was trash under the recliner and pills found on the desk chair. Dry blood on the mattress along with some other dry fluids. I went back down to the desk and the manager wanted to know why we didn't report it sooner, and accused us of bringing the bugs into the hotel. The Health Department Investigator confirmed that this infestation had been there for days and that the bugs numb the spot before they bite so we would not have felt them during the night. The manager still did not apologize, stated that he is in business to make money and can't go around giving people money back all the time. But he was willing to give me my money back on this one occasion. This was the worst experienceand ruined my vacation. Because we spent time and money at the laundry mat, worried if we would take them home with us, stressed over needing to stay at another hotel and 7-9 days later bumps showed up that covered our bodies from the bites (which itch and there is no treatment for the itch). Of course the ill treatment just made the situation worse.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sg_252004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2008

On our way back from Tempe AZ we stayed at the Super 8 in Joplin Missouri. Check-in went well. Room appeared to be OK at first. Comfortable bed, good Wi-Fi connection, big TV and fridge. But, the in-room coffee maker made terrible coffee, shower curtin was ripped and shower rod appeared to be ready to fall off wall. Bathroom was under-lit. Room smell somewhat but it was a ground floor/basement room. Easy access to gas, food, and highway. OK place for a 1-night stay. Can't vouch for other rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BuffaloBill716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2007

June7,o7 Just returned from a few days in Branson,mo.....on the way we spent one nite in joplin, mo at the super 8....over and beyond any super 8 we've stayed at....very clean rooms,breakfast of toast, waffles, blueberry muffins juice and coffee.....this is located just off the turnpike with easy to get back on the next a.m. Plus they have FREE calls to any of the 48 states...we called home and didn't have to use cell phones out of area....DVD's to rent with a wide selection of movies....little fridge and microwaves in the rooms plus coffee pots and coffee...will be sure to stay there again....

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank oklacupla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2007

April 19, 2007

We arrived at the Super 8 about 4:00 in the afternoon. The Lady at the desk was polite and helpful.

My first clue as to the condition of the motel was the dark and dingy appearance of the small lobby. We were assigned our room which was down stairs in what appeared to be a half basement configuration. The hallway was dark with a soiled carpet.

Upon entering the room, we found the bed to be sagging in the middle, a dirty carpet, and a repulsive odor that could not be tolerated.

We checked out immediately. I hope other travelers have better luck with this property than I.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank retiree1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2007

This was a halfway point we decided to stop at going from Chicago, IL to San Antonio, TX. This is likely the best basic motel we have stayed at. It's a hotel-motel where you enter the room from the inside hallway, not outside balcony. The rooms were clean, all furniture was in good condition. The place had reliable wireless internet, too. Continental breakfast was decent and the place to sit down and eat was cramped, but come on guys... for $59/night you can't beat it. I give 5 stars simply because of the value.

  • Stayed: July 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank T_in_H-town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Joplin hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Joplin
Quality Inn Joplin
#11 of 24 in Joplin
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Joplin
Days Inn Joplin
#8 of 24 in Joplin
887 reviews
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Joplin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Joplin
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Oasis at Joplin
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Joplin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Joplin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Joplin

Address: 2830 E 36th St, Joplin, MO 64804-4417 (Formerly The Legacy Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Joplin
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Joplin
Price Range: £42 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Joplin 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Joplin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing