We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Onion Cafe

Red Onion Cafe
Ranked #1 of 223 Restaurants in Joplin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sun City West, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent meal and excellent service! We saw this restaurant on Trip Advisor and decided to try it. We weren't disappointed!

Helpful?
1 Thank Koa_Holoholo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    106
    21
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
326 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Very good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

After a long day at Mercy Hospital and a recommendation from one of the nurses, we enjoyed a very nice meal at Red Onion. A friendly greeting from the host and even more friendly service from the waitress. We started off with the Smoked Chicken Dip..YUM!!! It is a must. It was a rainy day in Joplin, so we opted for the loaded baked potato soup with our dinner. It was very good. Entrée...Arkansas Smokehouse Chicken and Tuscany Steak. The food is very good...nice place to relax and enjoy your meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank makerofdreams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Urban Setting with Good Customer Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The folks that work at this restaurant go above and beyond to make sure you are comfortable, your order is right and that you are enjoying your experience.

I ordered a house side salad, described as mixed greens, was more like iceberg lettuce and tomatos. Sweet vinagrette dressing was syrupy, and over whelmingly sweet, and it was not to be confused with a Mesclun salad, however mine did include a side of garlic toast, and crutons, and actually there was some bacon in the salad which was an added surprise to the upside.

I also got a Chipotle Sauced Avocado burger. I thought the burger meat was cooked as ordered, and the avocados were abundant and fresh. The Chipotle sauce was pretty mild, and definitely not spicy. The Bun was good, and toasted, and still got a little soggy after a few minutes.

The beers are all bottled, but they do have a decent selection.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donominivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always good and a little different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The food is always good. More bistro, less fast food. Located downtown just off Main Street it's not as close as some other restaurants to hotel row.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bscottMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to dine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great place to dine with many different dishes to choose from. Excellent desserts! Excellent service! Love the peach tea!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wanda4womensministry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Red Onion Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing