We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Red Onion Cafe

Red Onion Cafe
Ranked #1 of 231 Restaurants in Joplin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I visited the Red Onion with my mother for lunch last month. The food was great, I finished all of mine. I ordered the Tuscany Chicken, and the sauce was awesome! The desserts are delicious, but are frozen and then thawed, being shipped in from St. Louis. It'd be great if they had some "made in house" desserts. However, I would definitely eat here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank nanavb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    117
    22
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Woods, California
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“"Quality comfort food in Downtown Joplin"”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We went here with a family member partly on the highly rated recommendations from TripAdvisor - it is located in downtown Joplin - plenty of parking nearby - area is not the greatest but don't let that scare you away - when you enter, the restaurant does have a very nice, warm atmosphere -
The home of comfort food - the highlights for us were the Veggie Burger and the Chicken Tuscany Pasta meal, while the Downtown Grilled chicken dinner was just OK -
We thought our server, Raquelle, was excellent -

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank valueman84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City West, Arizona, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent meal and excellent service! We saw this restaurant on Trip Advisor and decided to try it. We weren't disappointed!

Helpful?
1 Thank Koa_Holoholo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

After a long day at Mercy Hospital and a recommendation from one of the nurses, we enjoyed a very nice meal at Red Onion. A friendly greeting from the host and even more friendly service from the waitress. We started off with the Smoked Chicken Dip..YUM!!! It is a must. It was a rainy day in Joplin, so we opted for the loaded baked potato soup with our dinner. It was very good. Entrée...Arkansas Smokehouse Chicken and Tuscany Steak. The food is very good...nice place to relax and enjoy your meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank makerofdreams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Urban Setting with Good Customer Service”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The folks that work at this restaurant go above and beyond to make sure you are comfortable, your order is right and that you are enjoying your experience.

I ordered a house side salad, described as mixed greens, was more like iceberg lettuce and tomatos. Sweet vinagrette dressing was syrupy, and over whelmingly sweet, and it was not to be confused with a Mesclun salad, however mine did include a side of garlic toast, and crutons, and actually there was some bacon in the salad which was an added surprise to the upside.

I also got a Chipotle Sauced Avocado burger. I thought the burger meat was cooked as ordered, and the avocados were abundant and fresh. The Chipotle sauce was pretty mild, and definitely not spicy. The Bun was good, and toasted, and still got a little soggy after a few minutes.

The beers are all bottled, but they do have a decent selection.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donominivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Onion Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Red Onion Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing