We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was rough.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Joplin Hotel
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Joplin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Room was rough.”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Make certain you have an eye on your valuables. The room was very shoddy and not safe. Do not stay at this hotel. Chair was ripped and unsanitary. The bathroom was not very clean. When we returned home, jewelry was missing from my suitcase.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcd60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy N, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Joplin Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.We value your opinion and business. I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We are in the process of having our guest room chairs and recliners reupholstered and we will soon have new bedding. We would love the opportunity to make this right. Please contact me directly the next time you have lodging needs in the Joplin area. Again thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    35
    19
    9
    9
See reviews for
35
16
10
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

We traveled to Joplin for a funeral, and chose the Candlewood Suites because it was highly rated on tripadvisor and I could use reward points to pay for the room.

The hotel is clean and comfortable. Our room was nicely furnished, and everything worked properly.

When we asked about a late checkout so we could change clothes after the funeral, the General Manager offered to let us use a room after the service. We ended up not needing to take her up on her offer, but we were very appreciative of her kindness and hospitality.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisK6884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Holes burnt in bedding (haha in a non-smoking room)
Drapes were ripped
Shower curtain had mold growing on it
Bathroom ceiling vent covered with dust

Check out the photos!

$100 would be better spent somewhere else!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARHotelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy N, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Joplin Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Traveler,
I'm so sorry to hear about your experience. I would love the opportunity to make your next stay a great one. Please contact the hotel directly to make your next reservation and ask to speak with me. Again, so sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Please allow me the opportunity to make it right. Thank you for your business.

Amy Newkirk
General Manager
Candlewood Suites
3512 S. Range Line Rd.
Joplin, MO 64804
417-623-9595
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was the best overnight stay of 4 hotels. Somewhat newer building with nicely appointed kitchenettes on laminate floor. Clean comfortable beds on carpet with nice bedding became a welcome nights rest. Large bathroom. House phone didn't work, so called front desk w our cell. Heard a beeping, like low batteries on something...Annoying till we fell asleep. Bottom floor convenient to parking.

Weird out of way location, but visible from road, just hard to find first time. Courtesy coffee in the 'store'. No breakfast, but Starbucks just a short walk away.

Room Tip: 1st floor convenient to car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Balann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed with the speed of check-in and the smile of the lady that checked us in. It was very late at night and she had a contagious smile. The hotel was beautifully furnished and our room was very nice and it had a tall shower head which is always a plus for my 6foot tall plus family. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazybu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is hard to get to because it is tucked behind other hotels and the freeway. The wall are thin and they put me in a non-smoking room on a smoking floor. While that wouldn't have been so bad there were big gaps in the door and the smoke came into my room. If that wasn't bad enough the A/C was out in our meeting room, AND, when I went back to my room there had exterminated the room below me and my room was noxious. Not the best experience and I won't go back. While the staff seemed a bit disinterested they were pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Joplin Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Cheryl W,

Thank you so much for taking time out to leave us a review. We set out to make every one of guests as comfortable as possible. However, I am sorry our hotel fell short of your expectations. My apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced due to the unusual smell. We appreciate your feedback and allowing us the opportunity to address these issues with the appropriate department.

Thank you again and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to better serve your needs in the near future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was our first stay in a Candlewood Suites hotel and it was very nice. The building was attractive and on the newer side. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. Laminate wood floors and oversize "leather" recliner chair gave our unit an upscale feel. There is a "full" kitchen with enough kitchenware for two. The bathroom in our studio queen suite was a bit tight but clean and bright. Excellent bed! The rooms are designed for longer stays, i.e. extended stay, but we were just passing through for one night. Wish we could've stayed longer! One note: there is no free continental breakfast at this hotel but there are a few options within walking distance (Denny's and Bob Evans) are less than a quarter mile away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Joplin hotels
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Joplin
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Joplin
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Oasis at Joplin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Joplin
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Joplin
La Quinta Inn Joplin
#2 of 23 in Joplin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Joplin
Days Inn Joplin
#7 of 23 in Joplin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Joplin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Joplin Hotel

Property: Candlewood Suites Joplin Hotel
Address: 3512 S Range Line Rd, Joplin, MO 64804-4431
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Joplin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Joplin
#9 Business Hotel in Joplin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Joplin Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Candlewood Suites Joplin Hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. It's the ultimate extended stay suite hotel for the business traveler. During your stay join the #1 frequent guest stay program in the industry, Priority Club Rewards. The pride of the Midwest for extended stay is the Candlewood Suites Hotel Joplin, Missouri. Conveniently located to CFI, FAG, General Mills, Eagle Picher, Northpark Mall, Precious Moments, St. John's and Freeman hospitals. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with High Speed Internet Access - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and DVD. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard where you can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. Pets Are Welcome with a non-refundable fee of $75 for 1 to 6 days, $150 for 7 plus days. Pet policy must be signed at check-in. Call hotel for copy of pet policy. Room cleaning is provided once every 7 days. The maximum # of people allowed (including children) in a room is 2 in a room with 1 bed and 4 in a room with 2 beds. The front desk is open 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Joplin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Joplin
Candlewood Suites Joplin
Joplin Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing