We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we expected from Hilton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Joplin
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Joplin
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what we expected from Hilton”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

If you are looking for alternative accommodations for The Downstream, well this is definitely NOT it. My wife and I decided to spend our 20th anniversary in Joplin, MO and catch the Bill Engval show at the Downstream Casino, but we found out that they had no rooms available at the casino (booked up solid 6 months in advance). We searched the area on-line and we we're so pleased to find out that had a Hilton not far from the casino. Being this was our 20th wedding anniversary, we didn't mind spending a little more for one of the highest rated brands in the world.

The Property:
The outside of the hotel looked exactly like all the other hotels in the area, so there's really nothing to report there, seen one, seen them all.

The lobby:
There wasn't nothing more accommodating there than you would get get at Supper 8, Holiday Express, Baymount Inn, etc. other than the furniture was upscale, really nice fire place and sitting area. But no restaurant or bar.

The staff:
The worst ever. Completely rude, any information we "needed" such as where our room was, breakfast accommodations, etc. had to b pulled out of her as if she really just wanted to be doing something else or be somewhere else, anywhere but there. I believe her name was Ashley, but don't quote me on that. By the way, $9.00 for a breakfast that would normally be part of the accommodations if you stayed anywhere else.

Shuttle Service:
Our biggest mistake was not making sure there was a shuttle to the casino from the hotel. We had no intention of driving back after a fun filled night of comedy, fine dining and gambling. Well guess what, no shuttle. Expect to pay $70.00 round trip just to go 4 miles with the only cab service (no meter) if you plan on being responsible and letting someone else take the wheel.

The room:
Oh my god was it small, very small. The beds where extremely comfortable, great pillows (seems petty, but pillows are important to me) Small flat screen TV, limited channels. This is a no frills, standard run of the mill middle class at best hotel. Don't expect anything more than that.

We did find out later that there is a shuttle, but you have to stay at the La Quinta Inn next door.

P.S. The Downstream was really nice, great show, very nice casino. Eat at the Red Oak, the Prime Rib was insane, but it's not Vegas.

Room Tip: Save your money, stay at the La Quinta Inn next door, free breakfast, free shuttle service to the Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Joplin, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Mr. Tony,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We greatly appreciate your opinion and concerns. You have my apologies that the restaurant and bar were not available the night you stayed and also that we do not offer a shuttle service for our guests. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss these concerns with you directly. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly and ask to speak with me.

Christopher Beyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    83
    37
    10
    6
See reviews for
102
69
24
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
157 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I have stayed many nights at the Hilton Garden Inn Joplin every since it was built. Have always had excellent service from the Front Desk and the rooms have been comfortable and clean. One stay, when terrible weather was approaching, the front desk, without my asking, at 3 AM put together a large box to snack on as I raced north to avoid an ice storm. This is the only place I stay in Joplin unless sold out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank TomA15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Joplin, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear TomA15,

Thank you for sharing your comments with TripAdvisor. Although we appreciate everyone's reviews, it is very nice to see such glowing comments. Thank you again for your comments, please let me know if I may ever be of any service to you.

Sincerely,

Christopher Beyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

The staff was amazing. You have a very good breakfast chef, and the manager on duty the day of our arrival, Brooke, was most helpful. We had a terrific stay and would enjoy a return visit if we have a chance to go back to Joplin. Everyone made us feel at home -- except we were pampered guests at the Hilton!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank mjrieth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Joplin, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and nice review! We greatly appreciate your opinion and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Please let me know if I may ever be of service to you.

Sincerely,

Christopher Beyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

It's a little off the main strip in Joplin but well worth the extra 45 seconds it takes to get here. Rooms were perfect size, clean and quiet. The breakfast was well worth the $8 and kids eat free. If you find yourself in Joplin and need a family friendly place to stay this is your place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

My husband stayed overnight while traveling from texas to michigan in a semi and he neede large parking lots and a hot tub for soaking after 12 hours on the road. This hotel was perfect for him. He also enjoyed the complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Pleased with the hotel accomodations, cleanliness and breakfast options. Will be back next time in Joplin. Check in was a iittle slow and the clerk seemed to be fairly new. Check out was prompt. Kerug in room was a nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cat Spring, TX
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Excellent rooms, comfortable bed, courteous and helpful staff. All in all a great experience. We were traveling due to an illness and ultimate death in the family. The staff was helpful mindful of our circumstances. They offered to help in any way they could.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank CatSpringTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Joplin hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Joplin
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Joplin
Hampton Inn Joplin
#3 of 23 in Joplin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Joplin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Joplin
La Quinta Inn Joplin
#2 of 23 in Joplin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Joplin
Residence Inn Joplin
#6 of 23 in Joplin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Joplin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Joplin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Joplin

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Joplin
Address: 2644 E 32nd St, Joplin, MO 64804-4305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Joplin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Joplin
#2 Business Hotel in Joplin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Joplin 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Joplin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Joplin Hotel Joplin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing