We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not even close to being clean” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Joplin
Certificate of Excellence
New England, North Dakota
Level Contributor
210 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Not even close to being clean”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

The service was ok. The room shape was cool but so dirty, grimy, & stinky that you couldn't enjoy the uniqueness of the room. Filthy walls, carpet, ceiling, shower fixtues, & burns in the carpet. The bed was about the only clean thing in the room & it was comfortable. The location was good. They had a decent breakfast.

Room Tip: No elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bdela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    46
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
27
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nagano, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

While I stayed there, flags in front of the hotel were at half-mast. It was the next month after that deadly tornado destroyed the city.
I went to Joplin for joining disaster volunteer activity and attended to clean up debris for two weeks. It was difficult for me to find economy hotel, but Sleep Inn was final one, I could fortunately cut down the expenses during my stay. It seem the farthest distance that I could go to and from volunteer site before and after working by bicycle.

The receptionists were so friendly, kind and helpful as to offer me to keep the bicycle in a strage inner hotel. Every time I went through in front of reception, they gave me smiles.

The room seemed like American size, single occupied double bed was enough large and comfortable for me. Amenity goods were various.

The location is nearby an interchange of Interstate 44, I felt energy of U.S. physical distribution. The hotel is nearby truck stops, for people who like watching various colored trailers, it will be great location, great many trucks come and go all through the day. Watching Google satellite maps, it could be easily found that many trucks form in orderly lines in the truck stops, even oil spots on the parking lots are clear.
One day a friend of mine who saw me to the hotel said about the atmosphere around there as very American.

I went out to restaurant "Iron Skillet" next to the hotel, enjoyed fresh salad bar my fill every evening. After came back from volunteer site before taking shower, it became my custom to drink a large glass of tomato juice for cooling down of up-hill biking.
The restaurant is situated in "Petro Stopping Centers", I could obtain everything at the same time of meal. Though the location of the hotel is very suburb but I had absolutely no inconvenience.

Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank toshi-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
339 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Basic for CLC . No frig or micro, but attached to Joplin 44 Petro.

Petro restaurant typical below average food.

Rained all weekend so we didnt get out to see anything. Were glad to leave. Would opt for Candlewood next time probably, but this worked for short stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

An older hotel, but fairly clean. Even though I stayed in a non-smoking area, walking down the hallway to my room I could smell the stench of nasty cigarette smoke, however I didn't smell it in the room. Actually had a flat screen TV.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hussmanndrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

For the price, this motel was adequate for a night's stay as it was clean and comfortable, which are the two top things I look for. Little things in our room needed to be fixed, but again the price of the room was low. We were in a room at the back next to the Iron Skillet and I was afraid we would hear the trucks back there. We didn't nor did we hear highway traffic. We could, however, hear hallway noise and the people above us walking around. A room on the second floor would take care of the latter problem.

Room Tip: Stop in the early afternoon or evening at your motel in case you want to change rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAFLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
198 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

9 night stay, room 128, south wing-quiet-away from interstate
Immediately noted cracked shower floor by drain-told mgt- was told would check it out
no response & no offer to move me to another room. A Bad Start for a 9 nite stay.
At check-in clearly told clerk I would want FULL service every 3 days; their first try
resulted in no bath mat,no fresh towel, no replacement soap, shampoo or conditioner, and
no replacement watercup. Being wary of the poor, poor room service, I made it clear I wanted full service; to check on the service I marked the sheets and put all other
linens on the floor. On my return, in the evening, I had the same marked sheets and again not a full set of toiletries. I removed all linens to clerk who stated that service would be done in the AM; totally unacceptable' so got fresh linens and toiletries and made up
my own room. Additional critiscism is that the usual bland breakfast was especially
boring as the hot selection never varied day to day.
Pluses: two daily papers, USA Today & Wall Street Journal
Another example of the quickly deteriorating Choice Hotel properties

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level Contributor
150 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

We read past reviews and were worried about the noise, but with the normal room air/heat on, we heard nothing. The room was nice, and we enjoyed a good breakfast. Supper at The Iron Skillet right across the parking lot.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gogirlWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Joplin hotels
5.0 mi away
Days Inn Joplin
Days Inn Joplin
#7 of 23 in Joplin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Joplin
La Quinta Inn Joplin
#4 of 23 in Joplin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
4.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Joplin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Oasis
BEST WESTERN The Oasis
#11 of 23 in Joplin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
4.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Joplin
4.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Joplin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Property: Sleep Inn
Address: I-44 & State Route 43 South, Joplin, MO 64803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Joplin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Joplin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Joplin
Joplin Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing