We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yurt, yurt, yurt”

Lake of the Ozarks State Park
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Kaiser
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lake of the Ozarks State Park has a little bit of something for everyone. Crave water adventure? Lake of the Ozarks has a full complement of boating options. Want a quiet place to hike or mountain bike? The park’s thousands of wooded acres have lots of places to get away from it all, with 12 trails that wind through the park. Cabins and yurts make the park a welcome place for families looking to enjoy the lake but escape the hustle and bustle of some of the nearby towns. And Ozark Caverns – complete with its lantern-light cave tour – presents an unforgettable experience.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Yurt, yurt, yurt”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We rented a yurt for two nights. It was really great! It came with an air conditioner, heater, lights, refrigerator and microwave. I also like that it had a locking door. Outside was a charcoal grill and fire ring. I took the yurt with a lake view but due to trees really couldn't see the lake. That yurt is also the one that allows animals so there was a fair amount of dog hair inside. Since I couldn't see the water I think I would go with the other one next time. The playground was right across the street which was very convenient. The showers and restrooms were clean and close by as well.

There was a storm one night but we stayed dry and comfortable inside. The AC wasn't enough during the heat of the day but opening the vent on top helped a lot. It was also a good time to visit the beach and caves.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank NewName123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    37
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eldon, Missouri
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“fun place to be with no cost”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

nice big family beach on the lake. Nice shower houses and bathrooms. We've had many family picnics there. Nice playgrounds. Good store where you can rent boats.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lordsgift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Ok public beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

The beach was created by bringing in rocky sand. It hurts your feet to walk on it. The beach area is a good size and there are trees nearby to provide shade for those not playing in the water. It would be nice to have some picnic tables there as well. There is a bath house with showers and changing facilities.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cave was awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Took the cave tour at the state park with two young children, who were excited to carry their own light on the tour. The tour is one-half mile round trip but is easily walked. The cave contains rare cave formations that can only be seen in two or three other caves in the U.S. I would highly recommend the tour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Camping: A tick nightmare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

There are 4 loops in this campground. We originally booked a spot in loop one.. Based on the site/bathroom ratio. Photos of our site were deceiving and our TT barely fit. The rangers helped us figure out what sites would be open and we drove around to find a better spot. Loop 2 was a straight road with wooded sites, loop 3 was nicely wooded but we choose loop 4.. The largest of the group, but closest to the lake. Bathrooms were large and showers were clean, but the woman's bathroom needed a bit more care, as people were not very sanitary in the disposal of their supplies:( we set up camp in a non-reservable site that was open.

The campground was nice and the occupants friendly. We were a short walk to the marked off swimming area. Our visit was HOT and extremely humid, so a dip in the lake was necessary each day. The water was comfortable... However the lake is dirty (different from our clear water and sandy bottomed lakes here in Michigan) and I'm not sure I'll ever be able to wash the dirt out of our suits!

They offered pontoon boat (and fishing boat) rentals, so we booked it with a tube for a few hours. Their summer hours were puzzling as they were open daily from 9-4pm. Not early enough for fishing in the mornings before it gets crazy hot and not late enough to enjoy a cooler part of the evening.. Regardless, we were glad to have rented it for just two hours.

They have docks to fish off, and we caught a handful of small fish, but not enough to keep the kids entertained. The water is muddy so you cannot see anything while fishing.

Our biggest complaint was their serious TICK problem! Oh my! We have never encountered them before (Michigan has them... But no where near this). My husband and daughter went for a walk.. Just off the trail and only for a few minutes looking for a turtle they spotted. When they arrived back into camp... Ticks were all over them!! Everywhere and in every crevice! I pulled at least 8-10 out of their skin and found one large one buried in my daughter's back below her underwear waist! Now we were all completely freaked out and from that point forward we did not attempt to walk the trails in this beautiful wilderness. After a few days and finding them everywhere, even while sitting at our site.. We called our trip done and packed up looking for something out of the Missouri heat and tick-ville!

Over all, it's a good place to come to if you have water toys! Launch pad is right off loop 4. And, if you aren't afraid of ticks. The Missourians had no complaints and it seems to be part of everyday life there there. But, being that they were so prevalent and on the kids.. It was too much for our group and we needed to leave.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank akandes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake of the Ozarks State Park also viewed

Camdenton, Lake of the Ozarks
Camdenton, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Eldon, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Been to Lake of the Ozarks State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing