We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Ambiance”

Pierpont's at Union Station
Reserve with OpenTable
Pierpont's at Union Station is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 1,415 Restaurants in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main Street
Description: At Pierpont's, we've given new meaning to the phrase, "The Best Steak in Kansas City." Now we've done for seafood, what we did for steak . . . Absolutely the best seafood in Kansas City -- Guaranteed! The Pierpont's invites you to experience Pierpont's at Union Station. Dubbed "the culinary jewel" of Kansas City's historically renovated Union Station, Pierpont's is rapidly gaining the reputation of serving Kansas City's finest steak and seafood selections. As a sister restaurant to Kansas City's legendary Hereford House, Pierpont's maintains the family tradition of serving prime steak, perfectly aged and prepared. With fresh seafood arriving daily, an award winning wine list, and the unique creations of some of the areas finest chefs, Pierpont's has been named "Best Place to Entertain an out-of-town Guest" and "Best Place to take a Group" from the local press.
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Level Contributor
109 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Terrific Ambiance”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This charming place is located at Kansas City's old Union Station. The bar is a sight to behold. Top shelf takes on a new meaning in this bar where a classic library ladder in rollers gives the bartender access to shelves of liquor that go up to the ceiling. The menu is worth a read as it has quotes of wisdom from famous people throughout history. I highly recommend it.

Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    144
    53
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Expensive disappointment”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We chose this restaurant because it was supposed to be quiet and elegant. We had to walk through a large noisy bar area to get to our table. When I asked if we could have a table away from the bar we were brought to a table away from the actual bar but between the bar area and the very noisy kitchen. We heard clanging dishes throughout the whole meal. Because of the noise level, everyone had to shout which made it even louder. It was the total opposite of what we expected from the reviews. My steak was okay but a little tough for a top quality steakhouse and very salty.

If you go, don't ask to change your table and don't expect a quiet dinner.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dkjs449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LStanislav, Guest Relations Manager at Pierpont's at Union Station, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience, we learn so much from our customers. We are sorry Pierpont's was too noisy for you. Being in an historic building with 30 foot ceilings, we have natural accustical challenges....and try to move parties to more intimate corners when possible. We don't promote ourselves as a quiet elegant restaurant, and are sorry you felt let down by a description you read elsewhere. If you come back to KC, please let us know in advance and we would be happy to treat you to the most quiet experience available.
Sincerely,

Lorri Stanislav
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner 5 STARS”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The service here was timed at perfection. As soon as you place your order, the waitress had everything brought out timed perfectly so when you are done with course 1 here comes course 2 and so forth. You definitely feel as though you have a server to yourself. The food was very good. This was definitely one of the best. The $39.95 4-course meal is a great deal and well worth it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovel atmosphere for business dinner”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were greeted and promptly seated with early evening reservations at Pierpont's. This was a first time visit for all of our party of 4 who were in town for a convention. The lovely atmosphere of restored Union Station if very impressive! Bright, clean, gorgeous surroundings are equally matched with great service and very good food. It is a bit pricey just as you would expect a restaurant of this caliber to be. Very nice place to take business associates.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KPMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I'll be back!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My niece wanted to go to a good steakhouse on her first visit here as an adult; having checked up on a few of the classics I've heard of my whole life, we decided to take her here instead. My wife and I are both glad we did! Excellent food, attentive wait staff, lovely ambiance...my only regret was not having room left to try what looked like some excellent desserts! My niece is already talking about a return trip, both to Kansas City and to Pierpont's; my wife and I have already decided we'll be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pierpont's at Union Station also viewed

 
Kansas City, MO
 

Been to Pierpont's at Union Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing