We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way past it's time”
Review of Country Club Plaza

Country Club Plaza
Book In Advance
More Info
US$60.00*
and up
Kansas City Segway Tour: Country Club Plaza Area
More Info
US$33.00*
and up
Kansas City Hop on-Hop off Day Pass
More Info
US$70.00*
and up
Kansas City Museums Parks And History Segway Tour
Ranked #7 of 155 things to do in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This ritzy marketplace features an outdoor plaza adorned with romantic European fountains and sculptures, plus designer shops and great restaurants.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Way past it's time”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A nice place for a stroll to see some interesting architecture. Years ago it was mainly locally owned businesses and possessed a charm that is now missing. Now it is a genuine slice of corporate America and doesn't really have any stores you can't find in every other mall in America.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NataHarli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,035
    437
    117
    23
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Indeed Kansas City's Crown Jewel”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Usually I write these reviews while traveling with my husband. But this is Home for me. We live nearby. I moved my business to offices on the Plaza a couple of years ago just because it was so beautiful. I love watching the trees bloom in the spring. I love the late afternoon music on the streetcorners in the summer. The warm days in the fall are great for shopping and having drinks at sunset on the restaurant patios. And the winter -- well, where else can you find sidewalks totally cleared of snow within hours of the snowfall's end? Parking is generally not a problem. There are food options everywhere! Noontime respites in nearby stores remind you why you are working so hard!


Any complaints? Not really. I do wish there were more locally-owned shops to temper all the national brands. A few exist here, but not many.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Spousetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Kansas City Country Club Plaza”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great place to go to just get away. Lots of restaurants,shopping, fountains and walkways by the river that flows through the Plaza area. I go here many Friday nights to get away.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melonie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not to be missed for visitors”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Designed to mirror our sister city in Spain, the plaza is a Mecca for shopping, dinning and people watching. No high rises here to spoil the view or atmosphere, but instead, lots of fountains, tiled mosaics, tree shaded sidewalks, and horse drawn carriages. The Country Club Plaza is simply the best of Kanas City. The Plaza is framed by 5 star hotels, expensive condos, a tennis club, a hospital, a soft flowing stream and a park. Once you arrive, plan to spend several hours. Best enjoyed in Spring or Christmas season, but great really anytime. I enjoyed the Plaza for prom dates when in high school, for my wedding, and now to dine with fellow retirees. The Plaza never ages. I selected April 2014 only because its the date of my most recent visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike8162014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Walk and shop in the City”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Country Club Plaza is very nice with a slight historic touch. Parking is plentiful and the shops have an assortment of items for all ages and budgets. Not to mention the dining is exceptional and for those who love movies, the theater is very nice. The Plaza is a have it all area in Kansas City for excellent shopping and dining in the City. Several hotels are located in and around the Plaza area and the airport shuttle stops at most of the hotels. Given that the airport is about 45 min north of the area, it’s nice to have the option of shuttle service. Whether you want to walk around or take a carriage ride the area is nice and serene. Enjoy the water fountains Kansas City is known for or a walk in the nearby park, its KC Missouri, the So-Me-State.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travel8DaysAWeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Country Club Plaza also viewed

 

Been to Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing