We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must see for baseball fans”

Negro Leagues Baseball Museum
Book In Advance
US$16.00*
and up
Ranked #8 of 152 things to do in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opened in 1991, this museum is a tribute to some of baseball's best unknown players.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must see for baseball fans”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Located in an interesting and historic part of KC and coexists next to the Jazz museum. While the museum itself is not large, the exhibits are excellent and provides a great overview of the Negro Leagues and the eventual integration with MLB. I had a great time learning about all the different teams and amazing ballplayers who toiled in relative obscurity to the major league players. It left me wondering how history would have been different had Tris Speaker and his ilk not been such influential, and racist obstructionists in the 1890's. If you have even the slightest interest in baseball history, this is a must-see.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mark z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    203
    34
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You learn something new everyday”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

It was great. I learned a lot of things about baseball I never knew. It was very interesting. It has an awesome gift shop as well despite not large selection of sizes in the T Shirts

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank babaygirl02136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Platte City, Missouri
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not as great as I expected”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

There is a lot of history in this place. Customer service not so great. The facility could be a bit cleaner. Parking is a bit of an issue.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Francesca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
88 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth The Visit”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I found my stop at the Negro Leagues Baseball Museum very informative. I knew the leagues existed, but learned a lot. I had heard a only a few players, but I was introduced to many stars. The have several short movies to explain what went on. The field of dreams is the center piece of the exhibit, I'm not a big history buff, but I enjoyed the visit. It is self paced. Worth visiting. It share the building at 18th & Vine with the Jazz Museum (separate admission, but they give you a discount if you buy both).

They have a no camera policy, so leave you camera in the car. Parking is on the street. I would allocate about an hour to see everything.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“definitly a good historical stop”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

i highly recommend this piece of history i knew alot about the negro leagues but to know some specifics of the team that was in the area was good to know as well worth every penny and if you have kids they need to know this history highly recommend this on your trip to kc!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Negro Leagues Baseball Museum also viewed

 

Been to Negro Leagues Baseball Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing