We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is well worth seeing”

J.C. Nichols Memorial Fountain
Ranked #29 of 153 things to do in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dedicated to the memory of J.C. Nichols, the developer of Kansas City's Country Club Plaza, this is one of the most treasured water fountains in town.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“This is well worth seeing”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The J.C. Nichols Memorial Fountain is a MUST SEE when visiting the Plaza. It is very beautiful and a great place to take a memorable photo with a loved one.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    28
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Plaza Fountains”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This is my favorite fountain on the Country Club Plaza. The architecture is grand and the sound of the water can be exhilarating or soothing . .whatever you need at the moment!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank FlyNavyKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westwood
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I've loved this fountain since I was a child--a quintessential Kansas City landmark!”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Not only is there a beautiful park with walking paths around it, but this wonderful fountain is an amazing sculptural work as well. It rewards long looking, with its symbolic figures representing four major rivers of the world. I have sat in its spray and listened to the music of its water many times. My sister and I called it "the Horse Fountain" when we were small, and even today when I'm hurrying by in a car, I look at it and smile because of the flood of fond memories it brings.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Skiffymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce, Utah
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“big fountain”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

lots and lots of water. It is nice. note..don't get in the water!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank octport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
109 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“one of the best fountains in the world”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

You don't have to go to Chicago's Buckingham Fountain in Grant Park or some of the grander fountains in Europe. You have one of the best fountains and park settings you could ever hope for.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank becca b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed J.C. Nichols Memorial Fountain also viewed

 

Been to J.C. Nichols Memorial Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing