We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice property and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice property and staff”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The hotel is very clean and well maintained. The staff were all very friendly and helpful with directions and whatever else we needed. The concierge lounge was always well-stocked, clean, and enjoyable. The restaurant downstairs was totally acceptable as far as hotel restaurants go.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia S, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear Tom G;

Thank you very much for staying with us on your recent Kansas City trip. Our staff strives to make every guest experience a great one. Our location in Downtown Kansas City in the Power and Light District does offer every guest an array of dining and entertainment options. We hope to see you next time your travels bring you this way.

Sincerely,

Cynthia Savage
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    395
    234
    103
    53
See reviews for
123
155
42
632
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Very, very nice hotel with very nice, helpful, courteous staff. Very near the convention center and downtown Wheeler Airport. Great views of the river and historic downtown Kansas City. My only complaint about Marriott in general is the extra charge for use of the business center. I am the fortunate possessor (this year, anyway) of a gold card, and Ray up in the concierge lounge let me in a little early so I could get some important work done on the fee-free computer. Unfortunately, I predict the loss of gold this year and a return to Marriott computer begging next year.

Room Tip: For a great view, try to get a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boatmisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed in this hotel for one night. If you are traveling to KC I highly recommend it. Parking is on site and is reasonable when compared to other cities. Great view from the 18th floor, and a full breakfast is $12.

Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank nbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southfield, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Our first time to Kansas City, and the hotel was one of only a couple hotels right downtown. It was clean, well maintained, near bus stops and walking distance to fun night life, all weekend long. The restaurant on site was good, the only thing disappointing was there was NO complimentary wi-fi internet in the rooms, you had to pay!

Room Tip: Nice view of the fountains across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DetroitAlicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, OH
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed here again for a convention. Very convienant and an overall nice hotel. Room service was a little limited on their offerings, but you will not go hungry. Staff works hard to at their jobs. Nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Durango4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed here with a few friends for one night. The rooms were nothing exceptional but they were somewhat updated and very clean. The beds were nice and had plenty of pillow choices. The A/C had a tough time keeping up. Noise was never a problem. We only had to wait for the elevators a few times. The entry/lobby was huge and seemed nice as well. Parking was easily accessible and $13/day for self-park.

Room Tip: Ask for view to the south
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcooper1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lookout Mountain, GA
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Friday night wasn't so bad but Saturday night was pretty much sleepless in Kansas City! I was here for a conference at the trade center which is just 1/2 a block away and very convenient. I called to complain about the hallway noise twice and the first time security came and I could hear the threat to throw the party animals out. When I called the second time security hadn't come by the time I left. The front desk told me that it had been a terrible night both in the hotel and at the front desk. I asked the security guard standing outside as I grabbed a cab at 4:15am and he told me this is in the red light district and well known to have partying problems on the weekends. There is not way to avoid this is your staying there for a conference so my suggestion is to leave before Sat. night!
Room service was timely, but there was only 3 scrimp added to the salad I paid an extra amount for shrimp to be added. One of the other conference attendees told me she was in the old section of the hotel and that it was a little creepy and in need of complete updating.
They do have convenient service for mailing back large boxes and that was pretty easy. So I'll at least give them a 2. By the way the taxi trip to the airport early Sunday morning was $45.00. This is to early for Super Shuttle which as only $18.00 one way from the airport.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speaker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#14 of 109 in Kansas City
1,082 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#46 of 109 in Kansas City
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Kansas City Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Property: Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Address: 200 W 12th St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1638
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 983
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kansas City Marriott Downtown puts travelers in the heart of a lively downtown. Guests are just steps from the Power & Light District, with shopping, great restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. Kansas City Chief’s football, museums, jazz clubs and shopping at Crown Center and the Plaza, are minutes away. This premier hotel has two distinct towers: the Marriott Tower and the Muehlebach Tower which offer 983 luxury guest rooms and nearly 100,000 sq ft of diverse function space. The Kansas City Marriott Downtown is the KC's most popular venue for civic and social galas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing