We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rating of 37/109 hotels is a gift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Rating of 37/109 hotels is a gift”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

OK, it's a conference hotel. Lots of rooms and the bed was comfortable. Great location. Decent rates for a conference. Friendly staff, definitely a plus. Good restaurants no more than a 10-minute walk.

But if you don't need to stay here, there must be better choices. My room was in the tower across the street connected by a skyway, the Muhlenbach (sp?) tower. It's the first time I ever remember in a Marriott Hotel being under the desk hunting for an electrical outlet. My choice was to unplug the coffee maker or the lamp. I chose the latter. The room didn't have other outlets, at least that I could find.

Also, my second floor room looked out on air conditioning equipment in a courtyard that the sun had difficulty in finding.

Being rated 37/109 either is a gift or it means that the other hotels are even worse.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank CHM008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    393
    231
    101
    53
See reviews for
123
154
39
623
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
princeton nj
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I have never in my life requested a hotel room to be changed but after being kept awake all night by the elevator (my room was next to the shaft) I had to switch. I'm from NYC so I'm used to noise but honestly this was like trying to sleep next to an airport runway it was that loud. I'm now four rooms away and I can still hear it, but at least the walls aren't vibrating like they were in the old room.

Other than the elevator issue, the hotel seems fine.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizCNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed here while attending a conference. Beautiful hotel. Beds are very comfortable. Water pressure not real great on the 13th floor. We had asked for more towels that never arrived. But I do know the hotel was exceptionally busy. I would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktateMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We stayed here for the NASCAR race weekend in October, 2012. Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating to our needs. Shower pressure was very poor on the twelveth floor. DO NOT get a room by the elevator as it is VERY LOUD due to the hotel being older. Small square Pillo bed pillows are very uncomfortable so bring your own pillow.
Hotel is close to Power and Light district for entertainment and meals, Costantinos deli is a great find! Across street from Civic Center so handy for events held there

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room on a higher floor- Nice view of city and airport especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaA267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I attended a conference at this hotel recently. The hotel rooms were ready when we arrived 1 hour before check in. Our rooms were clean and although this hotel is a bit spread out with two towers, it was still okay since it was easy access to our conference. The hotel has a better than most sized gym with plenty of cardio, weights, and pilates/yoga room. The hotel has a pool as well although I did not use it. The staff was nice. Be sure you are aware of the daily internet charges. Unfortunately even Marriott rewards members except for Gold or Elite do not get these included in their stay. The overall cost of the room was low. Kansas City is a nice city with nice people and great historical views.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the front of the main tower overlooking the fountains. However, even if you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anybeach35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia S, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. The fitness center has been recently renovated and offers some of the best panoramic views the city has to offer. Hope to see you soon.

Carol Pecoraro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my family because of a concert at the Sprint Center. The Sprint Center is about 5 blocks away and within easy walking distance. The hotel was extremely clean, especially the hallways and rooms. We did not use the pool, fitness center, or dine at the restaurant in the hotel. I would stay here again if we are are in Kansas City again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USAtravelersx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia S, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind comments about the staff. Sunshine on a rainy day is always a welcome surprise.

Carol Pecoraro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Although this place is a bit pricey, especially when you add the parking fees, it was very first class all the way. We were there for a weekend. Even though it was raining outside all the time, they made it feel sunny with their pleasant attitudes, excellent service and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Upper levels give great views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#14 of 109 in Kansas City
1,071 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#45 of 109 in Kansas City
523 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#11 of 109 in Kansas City
2,159 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Property: Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Address: 200 W 12th St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1638
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 983
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kansas City Marriott Downtown puts travelers in the heart of a lively downtown. Guests are just steps from the Power & Light District, with shopping, great restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. Kansas City Chief’s football, museums, jazz clubs and shopping at Crown Center and the Plaza, are minutes away. This premier hotel has two distinct towers: the Marriott Tower and the Muehlebach Tower which offer 983 luxury guest rooms and nearly 100,000 sq ft of diverse function space. The Kansas City Marriott Downtown is the KC's most popular venue for civic and social galas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing