We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel for a conference.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Ranked #21 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed 29 May 2013

There were two sides to this hotel. The main hotel was very nice and recently updated. The second hotel was across the street with covered breeze way to cross over. The was very inconvenient when traveling with a group. Some people were on one side and some on the other. The rooms were very nice on the other side, but, the lobby was very outdated and not very inviting.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed in the main hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mvpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty M, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us and we want to thank you for your comments and hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,137)
There are newer reviews for Kansas City Marriott Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

835 - 841 of 1,137 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Pros: Great location, good size room, great room service, very nice gym/exercise room.
Cons: Rude bell boy, small pool size, breakfast not included, no ice maker machine, charges for parking.

We travel a lot for tennis tournaments for our daughter. It's almost a must to look for all included breakfast, ice maker machine, and a pool. We always bring our son along for this travel, so there are always the four of us. We chose to stay here despite all the cons because it was a Team Event and the rest of the team's staying here. The close proximity of the hotel to Plaza Tennis Center was a plus too.

Unfortunately, when we arrived the very first day, we were 'greeted' by a very rude bell boy. After a 3.5 hr long drive from Iowa (and running late for a scheduled team picture), the least we'd need is a bell boy who was hurrying us and very very rude and pushy. We mentioned this to the Reception, and she apologized (seems like that bell boy had caused the same problem before) and gave us a free night of parking.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DinyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty M, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for your frustration with your arrival. We take your response very seriously and have addressed the situation with the bell boy in an effort to minimize this happening in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I am sure a manager will reply that I should have contacted him/her during my stay. I did not because my complaints call for a major remodel and signficant capital expenses. The tv has fuzzy white lines like old black and whites from the 1960's. Aside from the bathroom, there are no available electrical outlets in the room (have they heard of cell phones and laptops?) The closet doors were inoperable. All of furniture is in horrible disrepair (how does a headboard get scratches?...I am sure I don't want to know). The iron leaked. Light bulbs were missing. The earliest you can get coffee is 6:00am. I could go on and on. The only birght spot was a very friendly staff.
Marriott needs to dwngrade this to a Fairfield Inn, at best.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jed202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty M, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Thank you, we do appreciate your feedback and have addressed the importance of ensuring the guest rooms are consistently maintained. Also, thank you for recognizing the efforts of our staff members.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The new lobby and bar area were a welcome sight. The rooms are still typical Marriott furnishings. They're starting to look dated, but they're very clean. I prefer the original building and not the new tower.

Room Tip: I prefer the original building and not the Mulbach (not sure of spelling). The new M tower can be a...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty M, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. We are glad you enjoyed our lobby and bar area and hope that you can stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I like Marriott's and use them often. On this particular visit we were placed in the auxiliary Marriott which is connected to the main hotel building by an elevated walkway. The room was clean and tidy but getting a bit dated. It was still nice. However, it is a little bit of an inconvenience to be put up in the auxiliary building because it was and extra distance to get to the hotel amenities. Things such like the restaurants and bar were a little bit of a hike. The smaller bar in our building was closed during our stay. The drinks will get ya also. We were drinking wine and found out after a couple of glasses that it was $15+ per glass. Since we weren't told beforehand it was a little unexpected surprise.

The hotel was still nice and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ppelkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty M, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Thanks for your comments about your recent stay here at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. We hope to see you return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This is the first time I've been to Kansas City and picked the hotel out of the huge list of available hotels in Kansas City. This hotel is in the center of KC very near the convention center and the Kaufman Center for the performing Arts. Our stay was quite pleasant. The room was very large and we had a view of the park across from the hotel. Unfortunately, there aren't any restaurants or shops near the hotel, so we drove everywhere, which wasn't a problem as KC is a very easy city to get around in. We had dinner one evening in the dining room and it was basically hotel food. Good but not spectacular. At night the hotel is lite up on the front side with patterns and color changes. Extremely pretty to watch. The only problem I encountered was when I asked the concierge a simple question, (where was a good restaurant for breakfast). He was not very knowledgeable and had to make a phone call asking someone else for options. The hotel was very clean and the employees friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up and with a view out the front of the hotel. Then you have a great view of th...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty M, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

We are very pleased you enjoyed our Midwest hospitality during your stay at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown and also that you enjoyed watching the lights on the front of our hotel! We thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Everything was great initially. Great location, clean rooms with a good view and a good bar with wonderful staff. The next morning it all went downhill. We paid extra for the breakfast buffet then were told that since it was Mother's Day, they only had three chefs and a large Mother's Day brunch to serve so they couldn't honor it. This was after waiting 45 minutes and them telling us they could make us something off the menu and then never doing that either. We decided to check out and go find breakfast. The valet service brought our car out just to find a huge scrape on the passenger side door. So all in all, the hotel was fine but don't pay extra for buffet and don't use valet!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristiMoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty M, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for your frustration with brunch on Mother's Day and with valet parking. We take your response very seriously and have addressed both situations in an effort to minimize this happening in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#12 of 109 in Kansas City
1,113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#44 of 109 in Kansas City
543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Kansas City Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Address: 200 W 12th St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1638
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: £155 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 983
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kansas City Marriott Downtown puts travelers in the heart of a lively downtown. Guests are just steps from the Power & Light District, with shopping, great restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. Kansas City Chief’s football, museums, jazz clubs and shopping at Crown Center and the Plaza, are minutes away. This premier hotel has two distinct towers: the Marriott Tower and the Muehlebach Tower which offer 983 luxury guest rooms and nearly 100,000 sq ft of diverse function space. The Kansas City Marriott Downtown is the KC's most popular venue for civic and social galas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing