We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always High Quality Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Ranked #21 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Hershey, PA
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Always High Quality Stay”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I have stayed at this hotel MANY times over the years, and it is consistently well maintained, cleaning staff are GREAT, and the conference facilities are of very high quality. There are two sides to the hotel. The main side is where the conference rooms, restaurant and bar are. The acquired (muelbach) side is the expansion of a classic hotel, but is quieter.

Room Tip: no really bad room, Two sides, and main side (not muelbach) has more amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HersheyFamilyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty M, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We always look forward to serving your travel needs at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown! Look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    402
    236
    104
    54
See reviews for
125
157
45
640
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The hotel location is great for activities in the Power and Light District. This stay, we were in the tower across the street. The room was very comfortable, clean and most importantly quiet. The room service was prompt and tasty.

On a negative note: There was a bit of confusion on our bill regarding the dates of our stay (the bill started one day before we actually arrived and had us checking out one day earlier). I double-checked to make sure I reserved the correct dates and it was correct. While the hotel corrected their records of our stay, our room keys had to be re-set, which just happened to be after we had finished with a charity bike ride (a little tired, hauling our bike gear and just wanted to go to our room -not really wanting to have someone let us in our room to get our ID, to come back downstairs and remedy the key issue. Hopefully, the hotel will improve upon the attention to detail as we will most likely return next year for the Tour de BBQ ride.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knightrider2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty M, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am happy to hear you found your guestroom and our great location to your liking! We hope you will accept our sincere apologies for this mixup of your arrival and departure dates. We hope you will give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves when you are in Kansas City for the next Tour de BBQ ride!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Good view of the downtown area and within walking distance to power and light district! We can in on a Saturday night and were able to park the car at valet (around $25 per day) unlimited in and out. Make sure to get a room in the main hotel if you are handicapped because the walk to the other tower is a little ways with all luggage.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty M, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thanks for staying with us at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you return again soon! Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RI
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I decided to try the Marriott for this trip to Kansas City because it was close to the convention center and I am a Marriott rewards member. I am sadly unimpressed. The rooms were average, showing age. None of the electronics have worked properly, buttons in the phone do not work, the TV remote is so bad you have to stand at the TV to do anything and the WiFi (the "high speed" $9.95 version) is a joke. More than two minutes for each page to load and then most fail because their server is busy. Completely unacceptable for a business traveler.

On a positive note, some of the staff outside of the front desk "at your service" operators were extremely helpful and pleasant, including the engineering staff that apologized for all of the issues.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smanzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty M, Rooms Division Director at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're very sorry you experienced an undesirable stay. The issues you mentiioned are not typical of our hotel and we are incredibly sorry for your inconvenience. We do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. Please contact me directly for further assistance with any of these matters. Rooms Division Director, 816-855-4407.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cpabob
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I was very happy with everything. The staff was gracious, responsive and knowledgeable. The hotel is centrally located and offers great views. The place was clean and the food was above average. Ask for a room that faces the front of the hotel so you can watch the fountains across the street, a mini version of the Bellagio fountains in Vegas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the front of the hotel so you can watch the fountains across the street, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty M, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Your comments about your stay at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown made me smile. We know it's the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location). Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I stayed in MARRIOTT for about a week.my impressions was mixed.the personnel was very kind and willing to serve you at any time.My room was big had a small office inside and the bathroom was ok.the view from my room at 14th floor was great !!! Cleaning was daily .the price was overrated but lets not forget that you are in a walking distance from anything.finally I enjoy my stay there but I thing the administration can do something etter with the price list.

Room Tip: higher floors have great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazilas c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty M, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown! So glad you were able to experience our authentic Marriott hospitality. We were pleased you enjoyed your guest room and our great location! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emporia, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed here for the location which was good for the fiesta across the street, however it is not worth the price we paid. We stayed in the adjoining building across the walkway which is a a little bit of a trip so getting checked in an getting to the room took a while. The rooms are small and nothing special, however they where clean. I probably won't stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty M, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thanks for staying with us at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown and taking the time to give us your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the fiesta during your stay! We are currently working on a renovation schedule to begin updating the look of our guest rooms in the future. We do hope you will give us another chance in the future, experience our new look and let us turn your experience into a positive one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#13 of 108 in Kansas City
1,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#44 of 108 in Kansas City
534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Kansas City Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Property: Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Address: 200 W 12th St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1638
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 983
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kansas City Marriott Downtown puts travelers in the heart of a lively downtown. Guests are just steps from the Power & Light District, with shopping, great restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. Kansas City Chief’s football, museums, jazz clubs and shopping at Crown Center and the Plaza, are minutes away. This premier hotel has two distinct towers: the Marriott Tower and the Muehlebach Tower which offer 983 luxury guest rooms and nearly 100,000 sq ft of diverse function space. The Kansas City Marriott Downtown is the KC's most popular venue for civic and social galas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing