We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Ranked #21 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Hartsdale, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Solid Business Hotel”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed there for 4 night business stay. Nothing too fancy but consistently good all around. Decent sized workout facility, better than most hotels. One minor gripe - they need to paint all their curbs in the underground garage - almost went over one that was painted the same dull gray as the ground and camouflaged itself well. If you don't know lot and aren't careful you could mess up your car.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty M, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am happy to hear you found the Kansas City Marriott Downtown to your liking, especially our fitness center! Your review will help us make the necessary improvements in our parking garage. We hope that the next time you are in the area, you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    391
    227
    99
    52
See reviews for
118
151
38
618
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We came here to celebrate a birthday and was very pleased with the hotel overall. The staff was very friendly and the rooms very clean with comfy beds. My only complaint is the loud group of people above us that security had to visit twice before they quieted down after midnite. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmanzke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty M, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our Midwest hospitality and your birthday celebration! We apologize that you were disturbed by the noise outside of your guest room. We try hard to make every attempt to minimize the disturbances to our guests. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I booked a room at the Marriott Downtown KC after reading reviews on tripadvisor. A few days later I connected with Pamela H., Concierge. Wow! Pamela corresponded promptly and offered many great suggestions. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the friendly and helpful staff. Our room was everything I requested and more. Pamela made a personal visit to our room later that afternoon to welcome us -- talk about making us feel special! The hotel was clean, quiet, and has a great little gym. We liked that the hotel was within walking distance of the Power & Light District and only a short drive from many other restaurants and attractions. I have not a negative word to report on our stay. Everything about the visit exceeded my expectations. I will definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie M, Director of Room Operations at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on our hotel and a member of our staff. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Valerie Minner, Director of Rooms Operations, Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile


While the location of this Marriott, being in the power and light district, is super convenient for concerts and nightlife, you have to weigh the downside as well. The downside being that this hotel, while being large, cannot accommodate mass groups. If there are conventions and concerts all going on at the same time be prepared to play the WAITing game.
Upon arrival, we sat in a car line to check in for over an hour!! No kidding! No exaggeration! Then, once we got into our room, there was a couple already in there! After the loooooong walk back to the lobby, we were provided with another room and a free breakfast coupon. Nice!!
Of course, there is the classic mistake almost all hotels make, this one is no exception. ONE serving of coffee in the room (and one decaf...whatever). If there is only one guest that happens to only drink one cup per morning, this is perfect. What % is that? .0023%?? Then, when you have two people, you have to call down for more, which then obligates the guest to tip the coffee-bringer. PUT AT LEAST FOUR IN EACH ROOM!! IF WE DONT DRINK IT, NO HARM DONE! Sheesh.

Went to use the breakfast coupon on checkout morning...guess what? There was a WAIT. We tried to give our coupon away as we didn't want to WAIT. No avail...everyone else already had one!

Went to valet to get our car (valet is the only option...we would gladly park ourselves). And you know what?? You guessed it...30 minute WAIT!

We are big spenders when we travel, but we won't be back here. Again, everyone was nice, they were just overworked, understaffed, ill-prepared for accommodating a concert nearby.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie M, Director of Room Operations at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on our hotel. I am sorry for the issues that you experienced while our guest, and I would like to invite you to contact me directly at 816-421-6800 if you would like to discuss it directly. Sincerely, Valerie Minner, Director of Rooms Operations, Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kansas City hotels

Millington, Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed here as part of conference.

The rooms were well maintained and the staff was friendly. The conference included all meals, and we were never disappointed at the quality and taste of the selections.

The hotel is close to a few attractions; however, I did not personally venture out to take advantage.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eclee97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty M, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome your group and appreciate your business. Thanks for choosing the Kansas City Marriott Downtown!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I wanted to like this hotel, I really did.
Sadly it just didn't quite make it.
Upon checking in, The desk staff seemed inconvenienced that I had arrived and broken up their down time. I had to pull each Marriott Reward benefit from the staff -none were initially offered, I had to ask for it all. The room was not bad -sizable and comfortable but in need of some deeper cleaning.
Interesting that this hotel would actively solicit Tripadvisor reviews via a sticker on the bathroom mirror, while that same mirror reflects a shower with mold on the tile grout.
I had two room service meals and both were a disappointment. The ribs were tough as nails!
I'll look elsewhere next trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s20mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I am so sorry that you did not have a good experience with us. We strive for 100% guest satisfaction. I will address your concerns with my team and use your feedback to make improvements in those areas. If you would like to discuss this matter in greater detail, please phone me directly at 816-855-4407. I hope that should you visit Kansas City again, you will give us the chance to show you how great we can be. Thank you, Valerie Minner, Rooms Division Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arkansastraveler74
Level Contributor
340 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is a great place to stay in Kansas City. The lobby and bar have recently been remodeled. The bar has really cool little private area with couches and private TV's that you and your group can enjoy. The TV's are REALLY small, but it is a great space anyway.

The rooms are your typically Marriott room. They are nice sized. The beds are comfortable and the towels are nice. Excellent views as well.

They have a nice parking garage that you can self park. We ate the breakfast buffet. There were lots of choices. I would say the food was average. There is a nice omelet bar and fresh fruit.

Overall it is a great place to stay. We will stay again! Everyone was so nice. Everywhere we turned around the staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arkansastraveler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty M, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We are very pleased you enjoyed our Midwest hospitality during your stay at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown! We value your business and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Kansas City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#14 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#47 of 109 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#11 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Property: Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Address: 200 W 12th St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1638
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 983
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kansas City Marriott Downtown puts travelers in the heart of a lively downtown. Guests are just steps from the Power & Light District, with shopping, great restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. Kansas City Chief’s football, museums, jazz clubs and shopping at Crown Center and the Plaza, are minutes away. This premier hotel has two distinct towers: the Marriott Tower and the Muehlebach Tower which offer 983 luxury guest rooms and nearly 100,000 sq ft of diverse function space. The Kansas City Marriott Downtown is the KC's most popular venue for civic and social galas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing