We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Travel Must Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Ranked #21 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Business Travel Must Stay”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

If you are traveling to KC for any reason and want to be close to the "Power and Light" district, you're easily within a block's walking distance from that, the Midland venue, and a easy quick access to the main interstate. The hotel itself is beautiful, the lobby/lounge/bar area is really nice. Much better than other Marriott properties I've seen. The service is top notch, anything you need anyone there is willing to jump to your aid. Any time I'm staying in the downtown area, I'm staying at the KC Marriott.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the 12th street side you have a much nicer view of the courtyard and downto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for the great review! We are so close to many local attractions such as the Midland Theatre, Power and Light and the Sprint Center. I am pleased that you like our location to these venues and that you found it to be very easy access to the interstates. Our staff is always wanting to be top notch and I am glad that they assisted you with any of your requests. Thank you for being loyal to the Marriott and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    401
    236
    104
    54
See reviews for
125
157
45
639
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Went to KC for a conference. Hotel had many of the participants. The room was so comfortable. The service was great. My one complaint was the elevators which were challenged by the many people trying to go up and down all at the same time. Overall a great place to stay while attending a conference in KC.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweitzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed our service and the hotel when you were here for a conference. We are currently upgrading our elevators to be more quick and efficient. With this project there is one elevator out of service, which at times can be inconvenient when we are at full occupancy. I truly apologize for the delay that you experienced with trying to get to and from your guest room floor. I appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Strike 1 crummy cable, strike 2 crummy A/C, strike 3 $22 parking. Save yourself >$100 and stay at airport Marriott instead. Otherwise clean and nice property is ruined by many serious flaws. Could not sleep a wink due to sink down mattress, thick hard pillows and barely working air conditioning. No history chan, a&e, Nat Geo, spike, syfy, u get idea, might as well have rabbit ears on side of tv. It's 2014 Marriott wake up, for $250 a night you can spring for HD cable. No Marriott elite recog at check in, had to ask if there was a lounge, then my key wouldn't let me in. Mgr. is unfortunately asleep at the wheel here, could be a 5 star property... :-(

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregwF1710RE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. I would like to express my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. I can assure you that what you described is not the norm and I am so sorry that we did not meet or exceed your expectations at our property. I would like to speak to you further about your stay with us. At your convenience please contact me at 816-421-6800.

Beth Muehlhauser
Director of Loss Prevention & VIP Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Marriott hotel was perfect. The rooms were clean, the staff was quick and efficient and very courteous. It's a walk away from the convention center. The bar in the lobby has great drinks and even better food. The beds and pillows are comfortable. It's probably a mile away from the power and light district. I definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Kansas City!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoesaremycalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We appreciate your comments and that you thought the Kansas City Marriott Downtown was perfect for you. I am pleased that you liked your room accommodations and the location of the hotel. It is so close to the Convention Center and a couple of blocks from the Power & Light District. Bar Central is a great socializing area and I am glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the food and the drinks. Thank you for recommending our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaver, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Downtown Marriott, Kansas City, MO hosted a national conclave of my college fraternity (DU) recently. Every aspect was world class and high end. I've rarely been so pampered and accommodated by every staff and manager I encountered. I'm not just sugar coating it to be nice. I am not a difficult hotel patron, but I can be discerning about comfort and amenities. The lobbies were beautiful and elegently decorated. We brought close to 500 guests and required a variety of meeting rooms from large banquet to intimate corporate gatherings. I didn't observe one glitch. Two banquet room luncheons rivaled any sophisticated dinner presentations. It's hard to say that the formal dinner was any better by comparison, but just the same it was over the top from the menu to the service to tableware to linens to the Hollywood style production values for the program presentation and speakers. Honestly, it blew my sox off. Highest marks all around.

Room Tip: There's a main tower with the most elegant lobbies and amenities and also an annex tower across...
See more room tips
Green Features: Did not observe environmentally-friendly practices, though I expect they exist. I was too busy enjoying the plush surroundings.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timo31_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for allowing the Kansas City Marriott Downtown to host your conference. Your group was great to work with and we thoroughly enjoyed being a Brilliant host to all of your attendees. I am so delighted that you enjoyed the property for your meetings and your meal functions. It made me smile when you wrote "Knocked my sox off in Kansas City". I will share your very nice comments about your formal dinner will all of our staff. Thank you again for your feedback and when your conference comes back to Kansas City we look forward to being your host hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I was in KCMO for a conference and this hotel was chosen for me. It was very comfortable, right across the street from the conference centre and quite lovely. The buffet was very good, had excellent choices for all of us with special dietary requirements including celiac disease, beef and pork avoidance, and vegan/vegetarian. The staff were so friendly and the facilities very clean. The gym on the 22nd floor has a great view of the fountain and park plus the nearby buildings. Great place to stay and I'd definitely come again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the fountain. It's lovely. The other side of the hotel is facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaribbeanDreaming07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your very nice comments regarding your recent visit to our property. I am so glad your conference chose the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. Our Chefs and our servers are on top of our guests dietary needs and I am glad that you thought the choices you had were excellent. Our Fitness Center does have great views of the city and the Convention Center across from the hotel. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on July 25, 2014. We were in town for a Royals game and also wanted to check out the College Basketball Experience at the Sprint Center (which is a short walk from the hotel). We arrived in KC around 3pm (check in time) and only one of our two rooms was ready. It ended up not being a big deal as we were heading out anyway, but just be aware. The associate did say that she would call housekeeping and put a rush on it. The hallways are dark and dated, but the rooms were bright and spacious. I did not have issues with the wi-fi as some others stated but I was pleasantly surprised that they had a free option at a full service Marriott. The self parking was convenient in a garage under the hotel (for $16/night), but we had issues using our key to get out and since it is not manned and I did not want to pay twice, I had to park, go back upstairs, wait in line and ask for another key. Our friends used the pool and said it was average other than it was on a high floor which the kids thought was cool. We had a nice view from our room. My main gripe would be the elevators. They were EXTREMELY slow so were also very crowded and VERY hot. They could definitely use a fine tuning. Otherwise a decent stay at a decent hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TampaDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with trying to leave our parking garage and with our guest elevators. We are currently upgrading our elevators to be more quick and efficient. This project is ongoing and does take a lot of time, but we are looking forward to the new system. We try to have several room types available at 3 pm for our guests check in, but there are times that we get in a pinch and one of the room types might not be available. I am pleased that the agent mentioned that she could put a rush on your room. The parking information is very important and I will make sure we are communicating this effectively to our guests. Again my apologies for your inconvenience. I hope that you had a great weekend at the Royals game and the College Basketball Experience. If your travels bring you back to Kansas City we hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#13 of 108 in Kansas City
1,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#44 of 108 in Kansas City
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Kansas City Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Property: Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Address: 200 W 12th St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1638
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 983
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kansas City Marriott Downtown puts travelers in the heart of a lively downtown. Guests are just steps from the Power & Light District, with shopping, great restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. Kansas City Chief’s football, museums, jazz clubs and shopping at Crown Center and the Plaza, are minutes away. This premier hotel has two distinct towers: the Marriott Tower and the Muehlebach Tower which offer 983 luxury guest rooms and nearly 100,000 sq ft of diverse function space. The Kansas City Marriott Downtown is the KC's most popular venue for civic and social galas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing